We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
104
23
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
23
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue codotago rail trailsteakcountry pubhaggisnew ownershotel for dinnera great place to stayfish and chipsexcellent foodonly negativebusy nightcooked to perfectionsunny dayspent nightsfeel so welcomecountry hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

i drive the Ida Valley road monthly and have always passed Blacks Hotel, i thought it was just a standard country pub with a whole bunch of farmers who would give you the cold shoulder if you should walk in........ i was very wrong.

this Hotel and Bistro is a hidden gem within the south island,

i was greeted by the owner who was the most down to earth restaurant owner i had ever met, the food was fantastic and when he showed be through the premises i was gob smacked at the level of detail and also his customer services.

if you ever drive the ida valley make sure you stop in!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewcaithness91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, Owner at Blacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Check out our Facebook lots of winter treats for our locals to enjoy. Come and join in with our MEDIEVAL BANQUET.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

After hours of driving through the vast and beautiful Otago, we came across this little hotel, and stopped for lunch. What a treat the meal was —lamb cutlets (of course), a truly fresh salad and home-made lemon meringue tartlets for dessert. The lady chef set a standard that some of her competitors in Queenstown couldn’t match!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank YankeeTraveler843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the town of Ophir while on the rail trail and had to prebook our evening meal. Out of two we chose Blacks Hotel. And how unexpectedly surprised were we with this choice. Very welcoming hosts and lovely decor. All six meals arrived and each was of fine dining standard - but generous. Venison with ‘jaffa’ dressing!! Who would have thought -Yum yum.
Don’t miss Ophir if on the trail - and next time round would also stay at this Hotel.
So friendly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay at Blacks in Ophir. We were in the black jock room - looks like it was designed for wheelchair access - so shower in the room :-( but otherwise room was comfortable and hospitality excellent and dinner was great.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nz_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, Owner at Blacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Spent 2 nights to attend a wedding recently in the area. Fell in love with Otago. Wonderful and fun hosts, thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the rooms were very cool. Love the outdoor seating. Unfortunately we did not get to have a meal here. Next time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kw2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews