We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic hokiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Old house with pool and view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old house with pool and view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Old house with pool and view
hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lucolena, Greve in Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Andy R
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hokiday”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a great time. Mario and Cinzia were very helpful and always around to offer advice if needed. The house was great, very peaceful, beautiful location. Would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrivinBry...
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inspirational visit to the Italian countryside”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It’s hard to describe our experience in the unbelievably beautiful Italian countryside, or the wonderful home in which we stayed but I’ll give it a try:

As you travel into Greve, passing through the Chianti region, you realize that there are places on Earth that overdeveloped modern life hasn’t ruined. Between the rolling hills, the timeless vineyards, olive tree orchards and beautiful stone homes, you feel transported to a new world, the old world. The roads are twisty and narrow in places, and the last quarter mile up to the house is on a real “dirty” road that almost requires a 4-wheel drive vehicle but is passable without. Then you come up through the trees to Mario and Cinzea’s home. On the side of the mountain, it overlooks an unbelievably beautiful valley with an almost 360 degree panoramic view that’s worth coming to Italy to see. We were greeted by two amazing Maremma Sheepdogs and rabbits and of course, our lovely hosts.

Mario and Cinzea’s home is an experience: it is a classic country house and parts of it are very old, hundreds of years, but it lacks nothing for modern living. The kitchen could prepare and serve meals for a large family, the living area has a stone fireplace, a comfortable couch and a long farmhouse-style table. The bedrooms, there are four, can sleep at least 8, more if they’re children. They are quaint and cozy, and certainly big enough with comfortable bathrooms. Everything was clean, well-kept and hospitable. They have other amenities as well, a sauna, a jacuzzi, a pool and outdoor hot tub; unfortunately we didn’t have time to take advantage of these and it was too cool outside for swimming.

Most importantly, I must describe our hosts: we spoke mostly with Mario whose English is so much better than our meager grasp of Italian. Mario guided our stay, giving us places to see, an understanding of the local history and the local lifestyle, and generally helped us to get the most out of our time there – and he did this all while being scarcely around us at all. In fact, we enjoyed Mario and Cinzia’s company but they were sure to give us our time alone in their lovely house and surrounding grounds, appearing magically when we needed them and then disappearing. Our hosts imparted a love of the country and the local way of life that will stay with us forever, as will the memories of the places we saw, the people we met, the meals we enjoyed, and of course, the wine.

I don’t think I will forget playing music outside under the pergola next to the fire in the Italian countryside for the rest of my life. Or being guarded by two large, protective sheepdogs, beautiful and friendly. Sitting under the stars as a rabbit hops by, trying to remember the lyrics from Verdi’s “Va, pensiero”, sharing wonderful days and nights with my wife and friends in this delightful place, the antithesis of our modern lives. We all hope to return someday, as a dream vacation turned into a lasting memory.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Wonderful home with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a great rental house. Very well furnished kitchen. Good beds with nice bathrooms in each bedroom. Fireplace in living room. Outstanding outside area that is covered, with another fireplace, seating for a dozen, outdoor table and chairs. The hosts, Cinzia and Mario, made certain we were happy and helped us with anything we required. Great place to relax or to tour Tuscany.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parmmcat
Yonkers, New York
1 review
“Perfect Tuscan get away.”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful and charming country home, on a wonderful property with beautiful views. The pool is also wonderful and very well maintained! The house exceeded our expectations. The owners, Mario and Cinzia are great hosts and happy to help with anything you need. We also enjoyed their animals. Highly recommend!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dream1459...
1 review
“It doesn't get better then this!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As seasoned travelers many of us have stayed in apartments and houses all over Europe. This is the best. Your hosts Cinzia and Mario could not be more gracious. You only see them for an initial tour or if you ring a bell, otherwise the place is all yours. This farmhouse is remarkable. Every amenity you may want is there. Having a few big cooks along, we were delighted with how great the kitchen was stocked. We had numerous meals under the covered patio at the large farmhouse table.
There is a great coffee bar with different types of machines depending on your preference. Glassware from grappa to red wine goblets are waiting to be filled. The views down over the valley down to the amazing swimming pool are breathtaking. You are in another world, all with many sites within a short and beautiful ride away. There is a cute little market in the square in Lucolena with any small items you may need including wine and spirits, although you do not have to look past the dining/living space at the house to find a great offering of prosecco, red, and white wine all for 8 Euro or less. Very convenient in deed :-)
The bedrooms are spacious and well appointed. Three of the four bedrooms has a full bath with shower and bidet. The beds are queen size with excellent bedding. Windows overlook the property.
Guest even have an opportunity to play with the dogs, pet the bunnies, and try not to trip over the chickens. This is the epitome of a Toscana farmhouse experience. It is quiet, welcoming, and your hosts are the best! Don’t let the on-line pictures fool you, it is so much better!
We are already planning our return. It was hard to leave as it feels like home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing