We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gite du Midi”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gite du Midi

House and gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and gite
The gite The Gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
House and gite
The gite
The Gite
Family bedroom with beautiful mountain views
The bunk beds in the family bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Living room with private terrace looking out on stunning mountain views
Living room leading to fully equipped kitchen and downstairs shower room and wc
Living Room
Shower room and toilet
The swimming pool
House, gite and above ground swimming pool
Autumn colours in the forest next to the house
Walking in the mountains
Walking to the famous Pic du Midi
Mountain views from our field
Looking down on the house from the forest walk
The Campan Valley with views of La Mongie
The valley
The river Adour which runs below the fields behind our house.  A good place for trout fishing
The Transhumance.  Cattle and sheep passing our gate on the way up to the mountain pastures in June
stunning photos taken by one of our gite guests
The Tour de France passes our drive most years en route up or down Tourmalet
Where's our dinner!
Fabulous photo taken by Bas, one of our gite guests
The deer often come into our garden
Tim following La Geant, the statue which goes up to Tourmalet in June.  Great day out for cyclists
The Tour de France passing through Sainte Marie de Campan as it climbs up to the Col du Tourmalet
Some neighbours
Snow shoe walking at Payolle
The beautiful Pic du midi
A lovely view from behind our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sainte-Marie-de-Campan, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
133rogerw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gite du Midi”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

With out a doubt one of the most enjoyable holidays we have ever had. The location is superb and is perfect for exploring the many splendid walks and attractions that are to be found in the area. The accommodation is clean, well equipped and feels like a proper home from home. Jane and Tim (the owners) were very helpful and friendly and made us both feel very welcome. I would recommend that if you plan a holiday in this part of France, look no further than the Gite du Midi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Glad you enjoyed your holiday we enjoyed having you here, hope to see you again, many thanks Tim and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic mountain retreat”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in the first week of July 2015 and had a fantastic time. The owners Jane and Tim live in the adjoining house and are so welcoming, friendly and helpful you couldn't ask for more. On arrival there was a welcome pack from the owners which even included a bottle of wine.

The gite itself is well furnished and very comfortable and the added bonus of the Jacuzzi and the swimming pool was superb.

The gite is situated in a stunning mountain region with great views and lots to see and do locally if you want to venture out. Alternatively just enjoying the peace and quiet of the gite and the garden is really relaxing.

We would thoroughly recommend the gite to others

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v1v2015
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking mountain scenery”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you enjoy walking, cycling or skiing then we can't recommend Gite de Midi highly enough. We arrived after dark and when we looked out of the bedroom window the following morning the mountain views took our breath away.
The Gite was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Milk in the fridge and a basket of local goodies including a bottle of wine was a nice welcoming touch.
The English owners who live in th adjoining property were very welcoming, friendly and helpful - having a good local knowledge of places to visit or go to eat out.
They were happy for us to use both the swimming pool and jacuzzi which were immaculately maintained.
We enjoyed ur stay so much that we will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Stunning mountain scenery
Liked least: Trip to Lourdes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHET V
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Nous vous remercions pour vos gentils commentaires. Nous sommes très contents vous avez passé un bon séjour chez Gîte du Midi. Nous espérons vous revoir encore une fois.

À bientôt.

Jane et Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing