We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tradittional style Perigord Tower Tower bedroom with great sunset views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Tradittional style Perigord Tower
Tower bedroom with great sunset views
Fully appointed & stylish shower room.
The Tower living room going through to the kitchen
Steamers overlooking the meadow & lake. Shaded under trees, perfect for the evening drink.
The Lodge bedroom
The Lodge en-suite, stylish & roomy.
The Lodge en-suite, stylish & roomy.
The Lodge open plan living area
The Lodge open plan living area
A welcome basket of local produce awaits all of our guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidJani...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace on Earth”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at La Maison aux Arbres for 8 nights in late august and we were most definitely bowled over. Welcomed by Denise and Tim, who were such pleasant and unintrusive hosts, we settled instantly on the patio with a welcome glass of wine and some helpful hints and tips on the local area. From there on in we hardly saw our neighbouring couple who left us to enjoy their beautiful accommodation. Simple yet modern and very clean. We really were in the middle of nowhere yet felt so safe. The local town of St Mathieu is 3 km away and boasts an InterMarché, Boulangerie, Tabac, Bistro, Restaurant and even a small lakeside beach. Everything you need if you want to stay local. We personally did a lot of driving to some beautiful surrounding towns and cities and we always looked forward to heading back to the "Tower". Tim popped out every night to bring in his chickens in and made sure we were happy and even gave advice on where to go both locally and a little further out. We found inspiration in the photos on the wall of the Gîte, of local tourist spots and ventured to all of them during the course of our stay.
A real must stay place for anyone looking for a peaceful break away in the "Lake District of France" or even those who just want something clean, friendly and very reasonably priced.
We can't thank Denise and Tim enough for a truly wonderful and welcoming stay. We will most definitely be returning in the future and recommend to anyone to put La Maison aux Arbres at the top of their Gîtes to stay in list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thankyou both for such a wonderful review, and we genuinely hope that you return for another stay.
p.s Still putting the chickens away each night!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorvath2...
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The gite is exceptionally clean and beautifully presented, we felt very welcome and didn't want for anything. We would definitely make a second visit. The location is incredibly peaceful and tranquil and within easy drive of the larger towns of Haute-Vienne, Dordoigne and Charente.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and high standard of the gite
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Sarah and Geoff were a pleasure to have met and would welcome them back willingly. They're stay went all too quickly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon T
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Thanks for a great stay - we know the area and needed accomdation for a week whilst we worked on our house - fully recommend this place its location and the standard of the gite - see you again in the future !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedroom storage space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Thanks for you much appreciated view Jon - and even more so for the great standard of the gite on you departure.

Would be delightful were you to become one of our returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a wonderful place to visit. I stayed for 4 days and the accommodation is truly excellent, of a standard that you do not usually associate with Jeets in this price range in the area. Tim and Denise were very welcoming and made you truly feel at home. Their knowledge of the local area and beyond is really useful and makes you get the best out of your trip.

The highlight for me being a keen angler was their 'secret lake’.... two days carp fishing, 13 fish in total the biggest being just under 40lb.

Already planning my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing