We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful bungalow amongst the tea plantation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Pool with a view
Pergola, front entrance
Suriya room 4 poster bed
Suriya room ensuite
Strathisla Sunset
Local waterhole
Knuckles range
Historic Kandy town
Pinnewala elephant orphanage
Giant sleeping Buddha, Polonnaruwa
Langur mother and baby
Elephant riding in Kandelama Lake
Castlereagh Lake
Local temple
Local 'weigh in' of tea
Dambulla Rock Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Jackie P
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful bungalow amongst the tea plantation”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were supposed to stay for 3 nights but ended up extending our stay to 4 amazing nights at Strathisla guesthouse. The accomodation was clean and very comfortable. It was like a little paradise high on the mountain amongst a tes planation with the most perfect view of the peaks across the valley.

The food at Strathlisa is also worth a mention, the dinner is a feast of freshly prepared Sri Lankan cuisine and easily some of the best food we've had in Sri Lanka and the breakfast options are delicious too! We didnt feel the need to go out for dinner at all during our stay here.

One of the property managers, Kumar lead us on a beautiful walk through the local village. He is very knowledgeable on the local plants and routes, and his stories, friendliness, and insight on local culture made the walk perfect.

Overall this is a very special place in a very special spot run by a lovely and warm family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Many thanks for the kind words Jackie and Fabien; I know Jkumar and Priya enjoyed having you stay with us.
Needless to say, you are welcome back anytime.
Best regards and happy travels throughout 2016
Peter and Mozelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritadel...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful & unforgettable”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent two unforgettable days and nights in Strathisla guest house, what a blissful place, a beautiful old house with so much charm, beautiful bedrooms with high shilling and wooden floor, tall trees all around, a lovely vintage pool with wring fresh water...I've done the most amazing yoga session in front of a spectacular view over the trees and the tea plantations..and the food...ohh God the food was the best food ever!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Dear Amritadelights
From all of us at Strathisla bungalow many thanks for your lovely words; it makes us very happy indeed to have such a satisfied guest!
Wishing you the happiest of travels in future.
Best regards,
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefan s
1 review
“Quiet, calm, good food and beautiful”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for two days in middle of march 2016. We liked it a lot. Friendly and helpful staff.
Nice surroundings and we went on a walk around the area which was really interesting. Worth doing whilst being there. It is located a bit away from both Matale and Kandy so its worth having a driver and car.
There is a swimmingpool which was appreciated by our children.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Hi Stefan
Many thanks for the kind words and safe travels to you and all your family
Best regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia L
1 review
“Fantastic oasis with great hosts”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed 2 nights in the tea estate and only wished we would have stayed longer. It is a little remote but worth the trip with splendid views, genuine character and very friendly, service minded hosts. It was a very personal experience and the food was some of the best on our trip, hearty home cooking - we recommend going vegetarian.

Highly recommended for an escape to the country away from hustle and bustle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L
Hyeres, France
1 review
“Exactly as hoped for.”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Strathisla Guest House is the perfect place to stay whether you're looking for tranquillity or a central base. A beautiful house full of old world charm, superb views of the surrounding countryside, inviting swimming pool, great food and extremely friendly hosts. We'd certainly chose to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The situation.
Liked least: The time taken to get to Kandy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Hi Martin
Many thanks for your kinds words.
It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to the day when you can return to Strathilsa Bungalow. (hopefully the road will be completed by then :-)
Best regards
Jkumar, Priya and Peter
(
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing