We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for hiking the Knuckles”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Pool with a view
Pergola, front entrance
Suriya room 4 poster bed
Suriya room ensuite
Strathisla Sunset
Local waterhole
Knuckles range
Historic Kandy town
Pinnewala elephant orphanage
Giant sleeping Buddha, Polonnaruwa
Langur mother and baby
Elephant riding in Kandelama Lake
Castlereagh Lake
Local temple
Local 'weigh in' of tea
Dambulla Rock Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Arie1980
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for hiking the Knuckles”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spend two days at Strathisla. They arranged for us to go hiking in the Knuckles Range which covered everything from the driver, guide and park fees to a wonderful post-hike lunch at an amazing old tea and coffee plantation bungalow at the foot of the Knuckles. Everything was so well organised and the owner, Peter, was very helpful and knowledgeable about travelling in Sri Lanka. We initially thought that two days here would be enough but we wished we could have stayed longer as it is a great base for exploring Kandy, going on local walks through the tea estates and local villages and swimming in nearby natural springs. Above all, it is an enchanting property! Highly recommended. Cannot wait to return!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun A
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

It is really a heaven on earth. The hospitality was excellent. We were a extended family group of 15 including 3 kids. We enjoyed our stay like any thing. We all played in the swimming pool. Had very nice tasty food. I would recommend this place for those people who live n the concrete jungle. Its the nature at its best. Only negative if I have to say is it is a bit far from the city, that's the reason its not spoiled yet.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bec f
Habarana, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“highlight of my trip”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

food awesome
atmosphere serene
family amazing...
my room was so beautiful, it overlooked the garden and was soooooo quiet.
as i was the only guest, jko took me on his motorbike to the top of a mountain and i even experienced poya day in matale town. i was accepted into this loving family for 3 days and was even taught how to make string hoppers. prya i bought a set so i can make them back in australia. top pick

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warmth of the family
Liked least: leaving
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W
Dhaka
1 review
“Most amazing place!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Just want to say that this is the most amazing place we have stayed in Sri Lanka - perfect to relax - fantastic colonial build house with a stunning view, great pool, most amazing food and also a good place if you want to explore the central district, The family which is running the place is just great, Prya is an fantastic cook and Ikumar will take you for a walk and explain every plant you ask for!
I highly recommend this place and would always love to stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickHibbe...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at many great places in Sri Lanka and this place had the best of everything - stunning location, great views, beautiful old house and grounds with the right level of facilities. The owner and managers were friendly and informative, and the cooking was some of the best we had.

Love to come and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: Bit remote from sights
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing