We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun... Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun...
Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Artwork alongside the double doors - one of the owner's own mosaics.
The owners coastal themed silk paintings and appliqued cushions add Cornish flavour
Comfort in style. High quality Jonh Lewis cotton sheets and duvet covers. Melin Tregwynt blanket.
Relax, put your feet up, and watch TV.  WiFi available.
Settle back into the hand-made cushions...
...and read a book or two.
New, well equipped modern kitchen with granite work surfaces, electric oven, induction hob.
Shaker style shelf storage
Cornish studio pottery mugs.  We source things locally wherever possible.
Essential supplies readily to hand
Dualit toaster and fast boil kettle. Unique, hand made, original fused glass splashback.
Shaker style dining.
Home made bread and Cornish Yarg cheese go VERY well with a glass of wine
Bathroom, with more original artwork, has a toilet, sink and shower. Quality toiletries provided.
Pebble mosaic provides a coastal twist.
Take it easy in the Cornish sun...
...and enjoy a cool drink in the garden.
The spectacular West Penwith Coast near Land's End, only 10 minutes drive away.
Porth Nanven - Cot Valley, one of West Penwith's hidden gems.  A haven for Choughs and seals.
Sennen Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Just, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen M
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Barn conversion was fantastic and the hosts Rick and Chris couldn't do enough for us giving us walking maps and telling us places to go even asking what sort of pillows we would like. A fresh home baked loaf of bread and local cheese awaited us on arrival.We loved the area and the barn.would highly recommend it to any couples going that way

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Chris and I are delighted that you had a good time here and made the most of what both the area and the barn had to offer. It was a pleasure to have you to stay, we enjoyed your company. Thank you for "test driving" the walking maps, I'm pleased you found them useful. I'm working on the next set as we speak! Good luck on the rest of your UK tour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleD71...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional barn conversion and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed for two nights in March 16 in this lovely little barn conversion, situated about a 5 minute drive from St Just. The barn is in a great location should you wish to visit Land's End, the Minack Theatre, St Ives and Penzance.

The conversion is of a very high standard and the furnishings and equipment are quality items. The bed is incredibly comfy with a lovely warm duvet and additional blankets should they be needed. The kitchen is small but has been so well thought out that it is easy to prepare a meal should you wish to cook. The bathroom is lovely with a walk-in shower which could do with a little more pressure but is perfectly fine and there are lovely soft towels and toiletries provided.

The owners, Chris and Rick, and very welcoming and friendly, and provided a fresh loaf of homemade bread (delicious!), a wedge of Cornish Yarg cheese, some milk and butter. They are lovely people and will happily talk about the area and their lives should you wish to have a chat.

This is a delightful barn which can be used to explore Cornwall or just sit and chill in the patio/garden area with a cold beer or glass of wine, and enjoy the fresh air and isolation of the countryside.

We will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We've tried to equip the barn with furnishings and features which would be on our 'wish list' so we are glad you enjoyed it. You are right about the bed. Many guests have commented on how good a nights sleep they have had, although plentiful amounts of clear Cornish air and the peace and quiet of the Cot Valley may also have something to do with it.
On the shower front, the water pressure is a little lower than mains pressure as it is a private water supply from a spring. It is filtered, treated, sterilised and pressurised before coming into the house/barn system. It would have been nice to have fitted a 'power shower' but unfortunately these are not compatible with our system.
Glad you liked the bread and cheese. Yarg cheese is one of my favourites, especially when taken with bread which is just baked.
We enjoyed your company too and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayelette
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I am looking to move to Cornwall and my focus for the week was to clarify where I wanted to live. I fell in love with St Just on a previous visit, so wanted to spend more time here. This was my first visit to Crugkern Barn and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The Barn is fantastic. High spec fixtures, fittings and equipment. Bed and bedding super cosy. Really clean. Best equipped self catering holiday home I have ever stayed in. Would actually love to live in the Barn permanently ☺ real home away from home. Free WiFi was a boon for me as spent my evenings looking for properties and jobs. The icing on the cake was Chris and Rick. They were there when I needed them and the font of all knowledge. I may not have found my new home on this occasion, but I certainly found two new friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words. Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time here in West Penwith and that the barn lived up to expectations, but sad that you didn't manage to find your new Cornish home this time round. It took us several visits before we found our house so, with the 'selling season' approaching, I'm sure something will take your fancy in the near future. We'll keep our eyes open for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent relaxing stay in this beautifully finished barn”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed in Crugkern Barn for 3 nights over New Year's Eve, we could not have picked a more relaxing place, close to the beach by car and right on a public footpath we could go for a long walk or drive to a Sennen Cove easily. The barn was finished beautifully and Rick and Chris could not have been nicer hosts. I could not recommend Crugkern highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Fortune favours the brave. Cornwall may be glorious in summer, but the drama of those big West Penwith skies and impressive Atlantic waves makes winter just as enjoyable, especially if you have somewhere cosy and comfortable to come back to. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndP
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most relaxing break ever!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked Crugkern Barn for our very last minute quick get away break because of the great reviews of the accommodation and the location. We were expecting a nice property, but this was just amazing. It is a barn so you may think it would be small, but because it has been so well designed by owners Chris and Rick, it feels so spacious. We got there well into the evening on the Thursday and were warmly welcomed and shown around. There are some gorgeous features within the barn, such as the wonderful hand made glass used for a splash back on the cooker. Additionally there are so many lovely, homely touches that Chris and Rick have put in such as slippers and throws. And the lovely home made bread was delicious with the local cheese. On our first night we had the best nights sleep we have had in months (if not longer). And then we continued to have great sleeps! There is so much to do and see, so instead of continuing to sleep we actually made it out to quite a few places and went on some stunning walks. If we were staying longer we would have spoken to Chris and Rick about where else to go, as they know the area very well. Would highly recommend this lovely place for a break away, whether you want to relax, explore or both.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
So glad you had a good 'long weekend'. Chris and I are delighted that previous guests' reviews were useful and the barn lived up to expectations. The comfy bed, together with the fact that it is so quiet here is a winning combination on the sleep front. Next time you come we will sit down with the map and introduce you to some more of the special places which West Penwith has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing