We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rustic Barn

Rustic Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rustic Barn
Winter Scene View from Kitchen Window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Rustic Barn
Winter Scene
View from Kitchen Window
Master Bedroom - Sleep under the stars
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Small Bedroom
Upstairs Bathroom
Entrance Hall
Kitchen
Kitchen/Dining table
Living Room
Downstairs Bathroom
Rustic Barn
Can't guarentee the Pheasant!!
Still can't guarentee the Pheasant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dale W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed here this weekend for a break, playing golf and doing some walking with friends and I must say it is a fantastic Cottage perfectly located to access all of the places we wanted to visit.

I would recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks for the great review Dale. Hope the golf went well!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannahlou...
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy cottage in a great location ”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful cottage in a great location, set in a lovely little village near Bakewell in the heart of the Peak District. Lovely and clean, very peaceful. Pets are welcome which is an added bonus. Didn't want to leave, will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muchtrave...
Nottingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic Barn - Slice of Heaven - So peaceful.”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderfully decorated and furnished barn. So quite in an idyllic setting. Stayed with four family members and little dog. Such a relaxing setting. Spectacular walks. Don't miss the village tea garden and a meal at the village pub. We will all be returning very soon. A perfect break for us all. Bakewell 2 minutes drive and we were here for the monthly Farmers market. Perfect in every-way.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg C
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, fantastic location”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Rustic Barn, in Over Haddon, is set in a great location in the heart of the Peak District. There are lovely walks directly from the cottage, that we did on a couple of days despite the rain! It is also very close to Bakewell, which is also easy enough to walk to.

We are a family of 5, with 2 adults and 3 children (8, 12, 14). The cottage has two double rooms and a single room, so we split the kids between one of the double rooms and the single room, which worked out well. The main double room is spacious and has plenty of hanging/cupboard space for clothes. The second double room is a little tight on space. The single room has a nice large single bed, although it would be nice if the desk was a chest of drawers as my daughter had to put her clothes in piles on the floor.

The upstairs bathroom is spacious having a has sink, toilet and large bath. It would have been nice to have a shower in this room, as with 5 people getting ready in the morning the single shower downstairs was a hot spot!!

The downstairs bathroom has a sink, toilet and shower. The shower space is spacious and the shower powerful, very nice.

The kitchen/dinner area is a little cramped, in fact we only ever ate together at the same time on a couple of occasions as there is not enough sitting at the dinner table for 5. We did drag the rocking chair in from the lounge on those occasions in order to sit 5 around the table. I think a little re-jigging of the table and the addition of a further chair would improve this.

The oven does not have any markings on the temperature control, so it's a lottery as to what temperature you are cooking food at. I think they have probably worn off over time. We cooked pizza once, but didn't risk cooking anything else without knowing the temperature.

The lounge is cosy and we spent a couple of evenings watching DVDs after a days walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ability to bring our dog
Liked least: Bit too cosy for a family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children aged 8, 12, 14)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thanks for the great review. We take on board your comments about chairs in the kitchen and are taking a new one up this weekend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHi11s
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage, lovely location, excellent value”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thanks to the owners for accomodating a very last minute booking and an even nicer surprise to be greeted by such a well appointed cottage. Homely and comfortable in a great location, this suited us perfectly, just a pity our visit was so brief. Still a perfect excuse for a longer visit next time ! No hesitation in highly recommending the Rustic Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely dark comfortable bedrooms
Liked least: Could use a stool in the master bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing