We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
40
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
15
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is of course why you visit, and that is reviewed separately. As a hotel, there are things that could be improved. The rooms and facilities are pretty basic, but that's fine because the price is reasonable (especially when a top chef cooks your eggs for breakfast). Three things stood out though. First, there isn't a single piece of information in the room. Second, it turned out you can't pay your bill and check out before 10 a.m. (which meant we couldn't get our hire car back in time). And third, we couldn't get a drink in the afternoon when we were relaxing in the lounge area. It's a lovely place; it could be better though. The restaurant, on the other hand, is faultless.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

We had a nice visit at Els Casals - first we visited the family house and yard, and then we had a very good Catalonian 7/8 dish course at the restaurant. It's high quality and good service. They also make some very good dishes for children. I can highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

After flying into Barcelona, we arrived at Els Casals--set in a lovely pastoral landscape--at dusk, and were met by the enthusiastic owner and chef, Oriol Rovira, and David, his assistant, who grabbed our bags and showed us to our room--spare, white, blond furniture, a large photomural headboard, balcony with view, and asked when we'd eat. Half an hour later we went down to the sala and a welcoming fire. David brought drinks and proposed a menu (we were the only guests that Wednesday and Thursday): there was wild asparagus, some Normandy oysters, a basket of freshly gathered morels (which he produced) had arrived two hours before, and our table was
laid nearby.

Oriol provided eight courses, explaining each. The wine was perfect, the bread remarkable. Nearly all was locally produced, much from his own gardens and herds. The next night we had six courses, consisting of his creative variations on typical Catalonian cuisine. Putting it simply, these were the finest meals of our Spanish trip, among the best we've ever eaten (we're major foodies), and even surpassed our dinner at El Celler de Can Roca--recently named by prestigious _Restaurant_ magazine as the best restaurant in the world.

Breakfasts were equally remarkable and bountiful: five types of home-cured sausages, Oriol's hams, one boiled with herbs, the other cured for two years--far better than any of the world-famous acorn-fed Iberian hams we were to taste later at one of Barcelona's top restaurants.

To sum up: this was an experience of a lifetime. For hospitality, thanks to Oriol and David and Anna; for brilliant meals; for an introduction to wonderful Catalonia that we won't forget.

Room Tip: We loved #5.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vcdarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Following a recommendations from the guys at www.aborigensbarcelona.com we decided to spend a night at Els Casals including having the dinner at the 1* associated restaurant.
I think the best you can say is that the quality/price ratio is just excellent. Simple but well looked after, this traditional Catalan residence has been converted in a small rural accommodation mainly to cater the people that will have dinner at the restaurant.
Just 75min north of Barcelona,you can experience the country side life style in this state that has been owned by the same family for the last 700 years.
On top of the accommodation we managed to have a tour to the installations of the activities that take place around the accommodation and the restaurant and it was the best complement to the visit.
The motto of the family is Closing Circles and I can agree they really know how to do it very well!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Tucked away from the towns this Macia has some 9 or 10 bedrooms, very well appointed with excellent sleep quality. it's known for its Michelin star restaurant but whether you eat there or just in the hotel you're guaranteed to eat well, with plenty of local dishes on offer.
It has a very nice pool area, even if ithe pool was a little chilly - natural heating means its warmes at the end of a summers day.
There were families of different nationalities. It seem the owners are fluent in several languages.
The only comments I'd make to improve this would be for the bathrooms to be upgraded with thermostatically controlled shower units. It's a bit trial and error with the taps. The pool beds could really benefit from mattress covers. It's a nice area but wooden sun beds are very hard.
Finally it would be great to have some paving between the house and the pool area for baby buggies. The gravel causes them to he stuck very quickly.

Room Tip: There's no elevator to the 2nd floor for carrying bags up and down. If you're not a fan of stairs the ground and first floors will be best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews