We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly beautiful south island stay for a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Karaka cottage from the Waimea Inlet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Karaka cottage from the Waimea Inlet
Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Karaka cottage from the Waimea Inlet
Bedroom
Bathroom
Outdoor bath
Outdoor bath
Sunny deck overlooking the estuary
private garden by the estuary shore
View from the East deck
View
early morning tide
Autumn colours
Morning mist
birds at dawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bronte, Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
EmilySDea...
1 review
“Perfectly beautiful south island stay for a family”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Mapua and Karaka courage are just darling and perfectly located. It is an easy drive to Abel Tasman for hiking, to Nelson for the beach or just staying put in this wonderful, scenic town. The cottage is clean and perfectly stocked with anything you will need. WiFi worked, laundry facilities available and the outdoor tub overlooking the eager and the mountains was a nightly luxury . I would book here again without question!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainR...
1 review
“Everything has been thought of- quality and style!”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at the cottages with our 3 young children and Nana, and we just loved it. This is exactly how I would want my own wee bach- one day!- to be.
The setting was beautiful overlooking the inlet, and the cottages were equipped with everything you would need for comfort and convenience. The decor is lovely and the beds very comfortable. And Elspeth was extremely helpful and accommodating, which made the stay with 3 kids in not such great weather actually pretty fun and easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus T
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There is no better place to stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Elspeth's bachs are completely private with a great views in all directions.
The bachs are nicely decorated and fully equipped.
It was certainly the nicest place we stayed during our three weeks in New Zealand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the views, the decoration of the interior
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theburnsi...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We Should Keep This a Secret!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just a short little weekend visit, but what a heavenly place...totally secluded. Bring in all you need, as you will not want to leave. Relaxing, perfect for us for a catch up with our adult son and partner...they took the little studio cottage that was also available...Comfortable, smart, bright and light. A home away from home.
However our house isn't perched at the edge of tidal estuary. Enjoy this truly special cottage and position. We adored it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford Uk
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing