We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best experience i have ever had”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View from brdroom
View from Balconey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kotgarh, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daydream5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best experience i have ever had”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is the best place to stay if you go to narkanda. Mr Vinay is a great host. You should also ask him about his other properties. We stayed there for 2 days and i have never stayed in such a home-stay which gives so much details to comfort. It had every thing which you can imagine from electric heated blanket to home cooked food. Every minute details has been taken care of in the home stay. We had one of our best stays and a lovely time at this place. I would highly recommend this place and would thank Mr Vinay for the lovely time we had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thank you sir for your beautiful review about Grandma Stokes bnb it was really nice to have you with us we look forward to seeing you again regards Vinay 9816420213
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ppanthera
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was my second visit to Grandma Stokes within 4 months, and the beautiful memories from my first visit to the place continued...exceptional wonderful stay at this place, and Vinay is a superb host to make ones stay wonderful...keep up the good work Vinay..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you Gagan ji for your nice words about Grandma Stokes BnB it was nice to have Garima and Aryan with us will be waiting for all off you in winter's when it snows
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaukik P
1 review
“Excellent holiday experience with wonder host”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We traveled with extended family (2 small kids) and stayed there for 3 nights. It was wonderful experience overall and the host Mr. Vinay and his staff took care of us to their best. The home cooked food was very delicious and healthy.

The place is untouched and unexplored beauty in Himachal. The location of this property is such that you can visualize the entire 180 degree view of mountain range including Satluj river. The approach road to this property is best for morning walk. There is not much to do in and around the place but that should be the plan actually for visiting such peaceful and scenic place.

The icing on the cake was the apple harvesting season when we visited. Mr. Vinay usually gives a tour to his guests to his apple farms and sorting facility. We had some of the best juicy Himachal apples during our visit.

Overall it was very relaxing and rejuvenating experience at Kotgarh and Grandma Stokes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, apples.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you Alaukik ji for your beautiful words about Grandma Stokes BnB it was wonderful hosting you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anand4323
Gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful home managed by the most beautiful people”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed at Holiday Rentals all over the world except in our country, India that is. It was a mix of excitement and trepidation that we embarked upon this one trip.
It is tucked in the midst of Cherry and Apple Orchards, off the beaten path and thankfully so.
The Property :
Newly made, still getting ready on the outside but completely finished on the inside. Interiors, top class. Bed, Linen, toilets, indoor areas , at par with the best anywhere.
There is a huge terrace looking over some beautiful valley view, the highlight of this home.
The food :
Lip smacking, diverse, expansive, gourmet, all rolled into one. You could ask for anything of your choice and the chances are that they will be able to not only fulfil it but better your expectations.
The Service :
Full marks to Chameli and her team, they are such a fine set of attendants , never tiring, always smiling, eager to please, they almost anticipate your needs and are there with whatever just when you are thinking about asking for it.
Finally, the best part of this home ( it's unjust to call it anything but a home, that's how much we
felt at home.
Vinay ji is one of the finest hosts I have ever met, he is so full of charm, grace and his hospitality is something we are not likely to forget ever, we seem to have found a friend for life in him.
He sits with you, plans your days, to the extent that he is happy accompanying you to your mini-excursions, taking you out to vantage spots, packing picnic lunches and all.
Fond memories of Pradeep ji and his graceful and elegant wife, such lovely hosts. There faces sort of light whenever you ask for anything of them.
This place is real find, a gem of a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Liked least: Weather at this time of the year is a little too warm.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you Anand ji for your beautiful review about Grandma Stokes BnB it was very nice to have you and your family Veenu ,Rohan and Esha with us we never felt one bit we were hosting guests it felt as if I had met a old friend of mine after a long time looking forward to your next visit in the near future regards Vinay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kun P
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A home away from home is what we can call this place ...

Wonderful place with very clean and beautiful interior.Very good service and some excellent dining too.... I would strongly recommend this place to all those people who wants to stay away from hustle and bustle of big cities.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you Kun for your beautiful review about Grandma Stokes BnB and your love for nature and animals it was very nice to have you all with us looking forward to see you in winter's during snow fall regards Vinay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing