We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apollo bay hosts heater bedroom apartment accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Wonderful stay at Great Ocean Walk retreat - beautiful farms and landscape; clean and spacious rooms; contemporay accommodation; friendly host "Angie and Bruce"; and convenient location near to all attractions.

And don't forget to watch the Shepherd demonstration in the morning...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here as two couples as we were after a base from which to do the Great Ocean Walk. We chose this property as it was ideally situated mid way along the walk and for this purpose we couldn't have done better. We stayed in the Riverview apartment which was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. There is a large room combining lounge, dining and kitchen which is well furnished and perfect for lazy evenings and self catering if that is your wish. There are two large bedrooms with king beds and their own bathrooms as well as an upstairs loft with two single beds. Just outside there is a laundry which is shared with the other apartments as well as your own outdoor dining area. Despite the unseasonably cold weather during our stay the place was very cosy being very well insulated and the gas heater keeping as very toasty at night. The views from both inside and out are gorgeous taking in the surrounding farm land. Although the property is just metres from the Great Ocean Road itself it is lovely and quiet with vitually no traffic noise at all.
We were met on arrival by Bruce who is most friendly and and very helpful with anything that you might need. He also dropped by during our stay just to make sure that we were happy and had no complaints which we didn't.
Location wise there is a gorgeous beach only a short walk away and Lavers Hill is about 14km's up the road for a very good pub meal (don't be put off by the look of the place) as well as basic supplies. The nearest supermarkets are at Appollo Bay which is about 30 mins away and is has numerous other shops and services as well as a surprisingly large number of places to eat.
Just be aware that this property is on a lonely but beautiful stretch of the Great Ocean Rd and because of the terrain there is no mobile reception at the accommidation itself nor is there any internet connection. You can head up the hill a bit for phone reception and if you really can't live without the internet for a week every eating place in Apollo Bay seems to have free wifi.
We came here in order to do the Great Ocean Walk which we did over five days and highly recommend it. The property is perfect for that purpose but it's also a great base from which to explore the many attractions that this wonderful area has to offer or jus as a retreat from which to hide away from the rest of the world for a few days and chill out.
Oh, and by the way Bruce, if you should read this we accidentally packed one of your face washers and brought it back to Sydney with us.......it should be arriving back there in the post anyday now!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tetley9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent a whole week at the Great Ocean Walk Retreat and loved every minute! It was the perfect base for doing the whole walk as it is right in the middle. With Castle Cove a short stroll away, it is the perfect end point for one day of walking, and start for the next. The apartments are beautiful with everything you might need. Comfortable beds, hot showers, sensational kitchen and the washing machine was a godsend! The whole place was toasty warm despite inclement weather and the polished concrete was wonderful under aching feet! It was the ideal place to relax and unwind after each day of walking. Our host Bruce was so helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. We plan to return with a large group and rent out all 3 apartments and my husband is now keen for a romantic getaway.....what better place! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Talk to the manager when you book, the apartment configurations are flexible so they can accommodate anything from a bedsit for one to a group of 17!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Great Ocean Walk Retreat offers the best of everything. Fantastic well appointed luxury accommodation positioned to take in all that the Otways bushland has to offer, idyllic country vistas with the spectacular rugged coastline enticing you to get out and enjoy.

We stayed three fantastic nights on our second visit. It was perfect for us. After a day of walking the Great Ocean Walk we had the most comfortable place to return to where we could sit out and take in the peacefulness of the countryside with a nice chilled wine.

For those of you who want a spacious quiet and relaxing place to chill out in style, then this is the place for you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We have stayed on both apartments. They are all excellent and well appointed with wonderful views. The configurations of the apartments offer some flexibility. The Riverview has the two bedrooms with an option of a third if you have a few people in your party.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNandPSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed two wonderful nights in the Riverview Apartment and will definitely be back. The apartment is very well designed and appointed, extremely comfortable and the location is a perfect base from which to experience again the amazing beauty of the Otways. The beaches are spectacular, Castle Cove is a short walk and Johanna, surely one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, is only a short drive or bike ride, if you like a decent hill or two. Our lives and the lives of our children were enriched by several holidays in Glenaire more than twenty years ago. The Great Ocean Walk Retreat has added an exciting new dimension to holidaying in the area. What made it extra special was to spend some time with the wonderful hosts Angie and Bruce.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews