We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good authentic Thai dinner ”

Erawan Thai Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Wynberg
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner, the chefs special crispy fish was great, the crispy duck is also a regular dish and is a must have ... good dim sum, all the food is a bit overpriced ... but usual Cape Town story. and disappointing that the fire place not working in winter, - but all in all great thai food . The erawan in Bryanston Jhb definately has a more contemporary and modern feel to it... this one feels a little " traditional " and some what dated, but it's mostly about the food which was really good .

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank LezellP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Not a Chinese trying to do Japanese but a REAL Thai running a real Thai restaurant. It means authentic food. Which t was and really enjoyed all the different dishes including the wontons, crispy duck dim sum and others. Only dish that for me was not really authentic was the chicken satay which had a wispy washy peanut sauce and not th bite and nut chunks I remember. Perhaps better for local palates. I just mixed mine with the excellent chili sauce provided!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank andrewe232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We have been supporting Erawan Wynberg for several years. And we have eaten at other Thai restaurants in Thailand, numerous other countries including South Africa. We visited Erawan recently and our meal was superb. We ordered our favorite Crispy duck with and pancakes for 2 "starter". It was arguably one of the best Crispy duck/pancake meals that we have eaten anywhere in the known world. Congratulations. Please keep this up and we will probably keep coming back. BUT Owners and Management you need to have a good, hard look at your establishment and seriously jack-up your game if Erawan is to return to its former "gold status" that it previously had. It has slipped in standards since our previous visit. Read some other reviews! One of the very best Thai restaurants in SA people used to say. BUT standards are slipping. Please read on. While the duck was magnificent and the deep fried banana etc was OK our next table diners sent two dishes back to the kitchen. We don't know the details, however, we could overhear some negative comments. Then let's talk about the wine ... we ordered white wine which was delivered warm. To their credit the waitron told us this up front before it became a problem. We requested another in the hope that we could get some chilled wine. But the same happened. It was warm. Again to the credit the waitron explained that the wine was not cold. They further explained that the refrigerator was not working. A reasonable excuse - we all experience equipment failure. We accepted the warm wine and washed it down with ice. It was fine. Owners and Management we know your restaurant and many other Thai service providers. The standards of Erawan Wynberg are slipping ... This is NOT criticism but helpful feedback. (It's got nothing to do with "Face").

What has happened to Erawan? In true Thai style when one entered Erawan one used to be greeted in true Sawadsee fashion. Now it's gruff. The phone calls to Erawan are difficult. What has happened to the former Thai elegance and kind greetings of Thai culture? It was not there during our most recent visit. Let us explain ...

When we walked in for dinner we entered the restaurant from the street in the usual manner. While there was nobody at reception this was OK to us. Someone shouted from the back of the restaurant "have you got a reservation"? No gentle Thai Sawadsee greeting that we had become accustomed to and which is one of the beautiful Thai cultural facets which everyone likes.

If this is the new Erawan style then it is quite sad. Owners you will probably continue to be successful because there are not many excellent Thai options in RSA, and CPT. And there are lots of well-heeled people who don't know better.

The non-greeting upon arrival, the warm wine and then one last final point which will follow ... these all mingled in our minds with the positive feelings we experienced when eating the wonderful crispy duck.

Th final service matter was when we paid. We gave a decent service fee tip. There was no gracious "thanks" which we got accustomed to in Thailand. If this is an authentic Thai restaurant then where were the Thai people? There were many "foreigners" on the staff. The lovely ambiance and beautiful Thai artifacts and statues adorning the restaurant do not make a restaurant Thai alone. Serious training and reflection is called for.

We left feeling somewhat sad at what we experienced dwelling on the fact the the former Erawan has slipped in standards and really needs to up its game and standards. Plus it was expensive. But the potitive memory of the Crispy duck will remain probably forever.

We may go back one day.

Thank you for reading this review. Read others to get the picture

Date of visit: April 2018
6  Thank saswcpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Fabulous relaxed dining.
Recommend spinach har gau, prawn toast, great Tom Yum and crispy duck pancake . Roasted chili prawns with cashew nut stir fry amazing too.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Kitchengirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

I see that from an earlier review, it is just over four years since we were last at Erawan, but neverless we made a last minute decision to pay a visit. (Some websites show the phone no. as 797-4000, but it is in fact 797-5000, a detail which management can address).

We were received graciously, but immediately noted that tables were no longer attended to by Thai ladies. My opener, hot and sour soup had a rather chunky look and as short on flavour, with somewhat tough beef (my wife was very happy with her tempura prawns). Our main courses, the green curry and the beef stir-fry, again, were both low on flavour and again had chunky vegetables. Neither were unpalatable, but both were not what we expected.

When we arrived home I had a look at TripAdvisor to see if the restaurant had perhaps changed hands. I was astounded to see the owner's (or manager's) comments of three weeks ago and May 2017 showing disdain for and/or hostility towards reviewers. I join reviewer Irina T from Pattaya, Thailand in asking management not to take criticism personally and to react to comments made by patrons.

For the record, this is my 200th TripAdvisor review and I have eaten Thai food more often at Erawan than in Bangkok, Johannesburg or elsewhere in Cape Town.

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank Woodside8437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Erawan Thai Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Wynberg, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Erawan Thai Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing