We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
78
31
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
31
11
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

A little out of the way but affords great pleasure once found,the reception and rooms are fine and the views over the countryside from the front of the property are terrific.
The restaurant is very special and of great interest ,showing the really strong construction method in the old traditional style.The food and service were of the highest order

Room Tip: rooms to the front for the views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank confit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stopped at the hotel to break our return journey from the south of France and were delighted with the place. Fantastic location overlooking the valley, calm and relaxing, a lovely pool and spacious rooms. Everything was well thought of and reposing, no superfluous clutter in the hotel, rooms or surroundings, very soothing to the eye. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on site and can only recommend this place for anyone travelling through, or planning to spend some days away from the hectic and stress of everyday life.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank 281ankeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Domaine St Roch is situated in a village about 50 km north of Le Puy en Venay (famous for its lentils!). The village is nothing special except for the 121th century church attached to the hotel but the area offers a great deal to the visitor within a short radius: Le Puy itself and the extinct volvanoes for which the Auvergne is famous.

The hotel offers comfortable, simply furnished rooms. There is a spa (which I did not manage the time to use but it looks nice). Also a swimming pool which is like swimming in a lake because it uses a natural purification process without chlorine. The dining area, separate from the hotel is very nice. Some of the dishes were interesting (especially the deserts), others less so. Limited wine list.

This is a very pleasant place to spend time exploring the Auvergne. It could be top class with a little thought and not much expense. For example, it was abnormally hot and there was too little shade at the pool and on the breakfast terrace. The owners are aware of this.

The "rapport qualité/prix" was excellent. We only paid 75 euros a night plus the cost of breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Great venue, nice view and good food...
The perfect match for a rest while driving to southern France. Away from main roads, close to Puy en Velay. Loved the short stay and the room right above the small church and the tiny village.
Recommended

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We came for our trip in July 2015. The place was breathtaking as per the view. The room was beautiful and the bathroom clean. The restaurant was beautiful also. We soon however realized that there was no air conditioning working. The wifi was not working either. The owner told us that she did not understand anything about wifi. Work was being done in several rooms and the hotel appeared empty. We asked for a different room with air conditioning and were told that there were none available. After insisting, they offered us a room, this time with huge windows, and the air conditioning was a bit better but not cool enough so we woke up a bit tired. The wifi was working as we were surprisingly next to the router. The swimming pool was nice but not finished. The water was green with algae as there were no chlorine or salt to sanitize it. We were told that there was a spa. It was open one day. Although the accommodations were grand, the sauna and steam bath were not hot enough as they only opened them when you went in. The next day we asked to go in the spa but it was closed they said they would open it but they didn't. Seemed like the accommodations were not working... Lastly we asked for coffee, and it was not very good....

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews