We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating the restaurant - with our warmest thanks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rating the restaurant - with our warmest thanks!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

It was late. We had a wonderful day in Cape Tribulation and came to Lync Haven just after the kitchen was closed. We didn't reckon that in this part of the world a restaurant might close at 7:30pm! This only happened to us once before, in a remote Irish village. Anyway, six hungry souls came to their doorstep, and the two lovely ladies in charge opened their hearts and re-opened their kitchen for us, with tasty chicken fricasse and good beef burger, nice salad and drinks and good cheer. This is the kind of experience which makes travel such a great human joy. We can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadavsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    78
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
108
127
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I'm sorry but do you know how difficult it is to find a decent meatless burger on this side of Australia? Pretty challenging if you ask me- but Lync-Haven delivered! After tromping around Daintree all day, we worked up pretty good appetites. I spoted what looked like a cafe and it turned out to be the one at Lync-Haven.

Veggie Burger was awesome! The stafff was friendly. It seemed like a very intimate/family run business so that was refreshing as well. We even were able to enjoy a tropical shower as we dined on the outside patio. Very Charming!

I'd definitely want to stop here when I visit Australia again. It even looked cute and earthy enough to stay at!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

From a teen girl's point of view, lync-haven was an awesome place to stay. We were camping in a campervan and everything was just great! There was a camp kitchen right in the middle of the camping grounds,and everyone was so happy. The place definitely has a great atmosphere. The restaurant is clean, and has very tasty food. There are also many things to do, such as watch the resorts croc being fed, feed adorable wallabies yourself, or take walk through the rainforest. Lync-haven is definitely great for families, and i would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhughes291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Clean compact accommodation in the rainforest - being able to cook in the camp kitchen and eat at the table at the back of the unit looking out at the rainforest was a bonus to those on a budget ( although the restaurant certainly looked inviting). No table inside as had to accommodate 5 and with extra bed was a bit cosy. Interesting short walks around the property spotting musky rat kangaroos at dusk. Kids enjoyed seeing the croc being fed and feeding and patting the very placid kangaroos.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiemum1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed before and enjoyed again. Scott and Jodie are great hosts. Beautiful surroundings in the rainforest. After the cyclone, they are putting lots of effort into upgrading the campsite and it will be great when it is done. Well done on the wildlife rescue work you do - even if your animals are not free, they are in a wonderful environment and are well cared for.
Simple, comfortable rooms, without the fuss of some of the resorts, makes it an easy place to come and go. Lovely, well priced, home-style cooking means that having a night off from cooking is not a drama, and although we were not able to use the camp kitchen this time around I look forward to staying again and being able to use the facilities when completed. No phone, no internet, no TV - bliss to get away from the technology for just a little while :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mousey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
10.0 km away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
545 reviews
13.7 km away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#8 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
352 reviews
15.9 km away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
1.1 km away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
3.1 km away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience

Property: Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Address: Lot 44, Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Diwan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Diwan
Price range (per night): $145 - $184
Hotel Class:4 star — Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat is situated on 20 acres of pristine rainforest. With a natural board walk meandering along a peaceful waterway with fish, turtles and eels to find.Our cabin rooms are bright, fresh, fully air-conditioned and screened. We supply coffee, tea and milk in your room so you can make a cuppa then sit back and enjoy the rainforest outlook from your room and also pat the resident wallabies and kangaroos. You can also see our collection of endemic animals including snakes, crocodiles, lizards and birds.Our popular restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you'll find our prices affordable.We are a family owned and run business with staff that will always make you feel welcome.You will find us just 16kms north of the Daintree Ferry on the left hand side with beautiful tall palm trees in our front yard.We would love for you to experience the rainforest from Lync Haven Rainforest Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience Daintree Region/Cape Tribulation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing