We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
Pool sunset Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Garden
Pool sunset
Living room
Living room
View from Living room
Bedroom 1
View from bedroom 1
Kitchen
Terrace (shady)
Terrace (shady)
Pool
Pool
Local beach (50m)
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Main beach
Main beach
Ponta Preta Beach (1000m)
Sea Pig
View from villa
View from villa
Fig tree
Planes after the rain
Cliff to left of villa
Second bedroom
Mezzanine & office
Mezzanine & office
Mezzanine beds
Mezzanine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Vila do Maio, Maio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Marit H
Vadso, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely Apartment on a lovely island!

We stayed in this great Apartment during our easter holiday in March 2016.
Good space, great view, nice pool and a hidden secret Beach just Down hill from the pool. Close to walk to mini-supermarket, restaurants etc.

We were a Group of friends staying at the Apartment, but it is suitable for families as well.

We really loved Our stay here.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterre t
2 reviews
“Really awesome !!”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We where in this beautifull house for a couple off days in February. Our family lives on the island and we liked to sleep in the house. Nice garden with a great view. We sleeped with 2 adults and 1 child in the house and there was allot of space. A big living room with a music system, kitchen and three bedrooms. in the garden there a 2 sunbeds where you can relax and this we liked the most. There was a calm atmosphere what we really liked !!

The location of the house is good. you can walk from the house to the supermarkt and the beach. Maio is really calm and relaxed. it's a strange but nice experience to go to this island. It's so differrent but really nice.

i cannot explain in words how nice the house was but there was a really good atmosphere. Next time we go to Maio we would like to rent the house again. The owner Phillip is really nice and good accessible by email.

I can recommend everyone to go to Maio and this beautifull house !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hammock including view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VMLOxford
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super villa ideally situated near coast and local restaurants”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Super villa with wonderful views over sea. Villa has all basic equipment for self-catering and local shops very close. The property is well maintained and very clean. Infinity pool which is just behind property is also clean and very well maintained and has fantastic view over sea and bay. Easy walking distance of local restaurants which provide a mouthwatering array of fish and some meat dishes. The Maio people are friendly and helpful. The local contact for the villa also has all the information you require for local activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisB-TR...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My wife and I spent 10 wonderful days in this villa.
It's within a small development of villas on a cliff overlooking the sea with a shared infinity pool.
Philip has kept it in great shape and has most of the essentials for a great relaxing holiday given the difficulties of sourcing anything other than food and drink on the island. It will shortly have a new shower fitment that we took out for him. It does however desperately need a BBQ for the barmy nights.
The main selling point of Maio is its isolation and that's the reason we went there. Imagine 5KM of totally unspoiled beach with not a soul to be found. Imagine sleeping out in the sand-dunes under the totally unpolluted sky full of stars, the sand is so warm that you only really need a groundsheet to keep the sand off you. Then there are the humpbacked whales that come so close to shore that you don't need a boat to view them. I think that'll give you the picture and if that's what you're looking for then I can't recommend this more highly.
It is a real pain to get to though mainly down to the chaotic schedules of TACV the local airline and their planes that seem to fly when the pilots decide to turn up. Even taking that into account you have to constantly check online for "schedule" changes. It's still worth the effort though for all the island's and the villa's benefits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Travel to it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slitchfie...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully appointed, well equipped and well designed.”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The apartment couldn't be faulted. The owner has obviously responded to feedback from previous clients as everything I could have wanted was available. The garden was pretty and well maintained, All the applicances worked. The villa itself was well designed, airy and spacious. The complex is well maintained and such a great position for views and walking into town and going to the beach. For my teenager it was paradise, endless sunny days of fishing, swimming in the infinity pool, riding the surf on the beach and making local friends. Our neighbours in the complex were friendly and the staff at the complex very helpful. A great holiday. We didn't want to leave and will be going back. I am recommending it to everyone I know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;