We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
17
47
27
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
47
27
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews remote location attached restaurant outdoor area lovely pool the air conditioning remoteness agnes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I like the Walkabout Hotel, it's a pretty decent place to stay but hesitated around giving it 4 stars due to the fact that the TV was busted and the room smelt of mold. Remember this is in a rather remote part of the country. Enjoyed my stay there again this time, love the Gove Peninsula and the opportunity to be with Yolngu people in their country. I've always found the staff here really friendly and also appreciate the continental breakfast. Would definitely give 4 stars if either the TV didn't work or the room smelt moldy but not with both of those together at the same time. ;) Look forward to my next visit.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidfnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Had 2 nights up in Gods country
The hotel has the same owners as the tavern next door
Provides good meals and is close to supermarket pub butcher and other dining
Nice clean rooms , not huge but ample with small fridge and new bathroom
Beds are good air con works well but noisy
Nice clean pool with dining area next to and tropical gardens
Staff polite and efficient
Caught some fish and chef cooked it up with a $25 charge
Big car park
Would I stay here again

For sure!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Yianni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect as Nhulunbuy is along way from most places. Clean and tidy, though a little dated and the bedspreads might need a rethink or replacement. But it's welcoming, near a supermarket and a beach (watch for crocs though).
The attached restaurant served a more than adequate breakfast included and the evening meals were well priced and generous.

Room tip: avoid the western facing rooms as the afternoon sun is very hot
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LizzieSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WalkaboutLodge, Manager at Walkabout Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you LizzieSmiles for your review & we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night recently on a business trip . The rooms are very dated , tv poor reception but at least the aircon eventually worked after fiddling with the room slot key for power .

Given minimal choice in Nhulunbuy you don’t expect the ritz, but I last stayed here 6-7 years ago and it hasn’t improved .

The biscuits were stale when I made a coffee , and the whole room as said looked tired .

Given it’s really the only choice for accom in town , an upgrade of the rooms imo would be worth the investment .

Check in and out was prompt however.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank 260deand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We had a one week annual reunion with six couples in Gove recently. We chose the Walkabout Lodge as it was close to the shopping/business and recreation areas in Nhulunbuy.

The Staff were just brilliant. Our initial communication was with Shelley and she gave us all the information and prices etc that we needed to arrange everything. Thanks Shelley..you are wonderful! Rooms were clean and comfy, Bathrooms great..spotlessly clean. Friendly Housekeeping. Guest Laundry. Great Pool etc.

Restaurant food was tasty and fresh...we even were able to have our fish that we caught cooked for us by the chef. Thanks guys!!

Would recommend the Walkabout. Room prices are not all that cheap, but you are in a remote area and the service offered is worth it.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WalkaboutLodge, Manager at Walkabout Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you Erich E for your review and we are so glad that you had a great time at the Walkabout Lodge with your friends for your annual reunion. I will pass your comments on to Shelley & to the Management team to pass on to their staff. We are so very happy you had a great experience here and I hope you come back to East Arnhem Land and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews