We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$383
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$295
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Erich E
Sydney, Australia
Great rooms and fantastic food & service
Review of Walkabout Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Sept 2017
We had a one week annual reunion with six couples in Gove recently. We chose the Walkabout Lodge as it was close to the shopping/business and recreation areas in Nhulunbuy.

The Staff were just brilliant. Our initial communication was with Shelley and she gave us all the information and prices etc that we needed to arrange everything. Thanks Shelley..you are wonderful! Rooms were clean and comfy, Bathrooms great..spotlessly clean. Friendly Housekeeping. Guest Laundry. Great Pool etc.

Restaurant food was tasty and fresh...we even were able to have our fish that we caught cooked for us by the chef. Thanks guys!!

Would recommend the Walkabout. Room prices are not all that cheap, but you are in a remote area and the service offered is worth it.
Date of stay: September 2017
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$383
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$295
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Walkabout Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
pool area
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.5 km from Walkabout Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.8 km from Walkabout Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
View more hotels in Nhulunbuy
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
17
47
27
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
47
27
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews remote location attached restaurant outdoor area lovely pool the air conditioning remoteness agnes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I stay in hotels throughout the NT for work and this is very disappointing. I have stayed here many times before but I don't know why I have come back. The price is ridiculous although nowhere in Nhulunbuy is reasonable. I have just had dinner and left half my food on the plate, burning pork belly is not the way to get it crispy. I should have stayed at the Peninsula, I wont be back.

Room tip: Try the Peninsula Motel
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leejg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WalkaboutLodge, Manager at Walkabout Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you leejg28 for your review and we are disappointed that your stay here was not enjoyable. I am not sure if you had mentioned to the staff about your food as it would have been fixed and your dinner not ruined. If we don't know at the time we can not fix the problem straight away, but we have now had a complete dinner menu change and removed that dish from the menu.
Once again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here, but thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

You don't expect luxury in Arnhem Land in Australia's Northern Territory but this hotel offers comfort and reasonable service.
A very nice pool and restaurant overlooking it.
Rooms are spacious and the bedding comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ken n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WalkaboutLodge, Manager at Walkabout Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here in Arnhem Land at the Walkabout Lodge & we hope to welcome you back here again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The Walkabout's biggest draw card is the clean, breezy outdoor dining area which overlooks the sparkling swimming pool (available for diners and in particular for their kids, to use). The service is usually friendly, though it can sometimes be a bit slow and there may be a slight delay with some meals coming out to the one table (we weren't a large group, just a family). The battered barra was tender, with a good, crispy batter and the chips were excellent. A steak sandwich and a BLT were also pronounced to be very tasty. Reasonable prices for this part of the world, along with a mostly predictable experience, make it a staple when in Nhulunbuy.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WalkaboutLodge, Manager at Walkabout Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your meal at the Walkabout Lodge. We hope you come back to visit again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Spent one night here. Rooms are a bit old and dated (still have box aircons) but everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. Had dinner in the restaurant and it was good. Hotel breakfast was also ok and only $15 extra to upgrade to a hot breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hapitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WalkaboutLodge, Manager at Walkabout Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your comments & we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Walkabout Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

A group of us went out for dinner and the debacle started with cocktails that were that disgusting we all sent them back. Then on to the dinner service - orders taken then told 10 mins later some choices not available. Once we did receive our food the lamb and roo were well done - not the nice pink inside they are meant to be. All in all the food is horrible. Service from staff was crap until the manager come out and looked after us instead. Def. not worth the most expensive meal in town. also asked for a tax invoice the following day after realizing our credit card was charged some ridiculous amount but it was never emailed through to us after several attempts.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Traveling_aus-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews