We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
10
16
15
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
16
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on the small side free access next door no frills swimming pool water slides thing price beer children car table space sauna pier
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

So this is a hotel at the budget end of the market, it is of the typical smaller Norwegian type, clean no frills bedroom with just what you need, the shower room is a bit on the small side but the bedroom is bigger than others of its type.
Breakfast is good quality and has hot and cold buffet to choose from.
You get free access to the pool complex next door but the hotel itself does not have any leisure facilities.
The pool complex is clean and tidy but quite busy and noisy with lots of children when it is open which is not all day just short hours so if this is important then best check.
I had a good nights sleep with no disturbance which to me is the most important aspect of any hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank barrysD2467RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Nice place and stay overnight,
Cheap and good hotel with good breakfast
not far and go if you want a trip and have a beer, wine or just enjoy the nightlife on the pier in Tønsberg.
Possible and getting bathed.
A nice place for a family large nice room with good beds.
Nice people who work there and free car parking for those arriving by car.

Room tip: 2 or 3 floor
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenneth k K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We visited this place twice, and though you don`t get free access to the swimming pool next door any longer ( you get 50% which is 6 EUR) this is still a place to be re
commended, to make it short:

- price
- standard
- friendliness
- "cleanliness"
- location (walking distance to Tønsberg brygge (waterfront) and Tønsberg is the capital of Vestfold Fylke (county) which is an interisting area for tourists.

That was the short version. To make some kind of criticism, the front/facade rooms are a little hot if the temp goes beyond 25 degrees centigrade, which is not a big problem in this part of the world. We will have that in mind next time we make a booking :)

Room tip: Ask for a room at the back if it is a hot summer.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Busig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We went there for a family weekend, it was a gift as our kids love to swim and the entrance at the pool/swimming hall next door is included.

We will review the activity park and the hotel under one, as we booked it as a package. The swimming facilities are a little bit aged and two of the three water slides were closed. We were not informed of that in advance, even if we booked a “weekend at the badeland”. That was quite disappointing- as the “badeland” basically was one pool and a hot tub without the slides.
There is also a sauna and a Turkish bath, that is available for people >16 years.
We spent about 2 hours in the swimming hall before it became boring. The next day we went first to the gym (nicely equipped) while the kids played in the family park. It is a very nice indoor-playground, that has an area with video games as well; a table where the kids can paint and so on. The family park is really nice and our kids were entertained for quite some time.

There is lots to do in Tønsberg so it was not too much of a spoiler for us that the badeland was a little bit less entertaining than anticipated. We went to the movies, there is a bowling hall and so on- but you would need a car to get there from the hotel.

The hotel is very well kept and very clean, even if it is a little bit aged. The breakfast was sufficient, nothing out of the ordinary and nothing to complain about. They have a separate play-room next to the dining area, really perfect for families.
We shared the room with the kids, who slept on the couch. It was an ordinary double room, so it was not very spacious, but we absolutely did not need more space for the stay. The beds and pillows were comfy and we had a good night of sleep.
The staff was friendly and provided a lot of information in advance (unfortunately not that the slides were closed, it seems that they don’t feel really responsible for the pool-part even if we booked it as a package. Manager should be better in coordinating and making staff aware!)

The area where the hotel is located is not so nice, but you can easily walk over to Tønsberg or take the car over.

Conclusion: it is a great choice for families- and if you don’t expect too much of a luxury.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders N, Daglig leder at Active Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi Tina.

Time is flying and it is some time since you where here. Thanks for this nice feedback. This is so important for us and for guests that is coming to us in future.

We always want to impove our selves and ranking, so again, thanks for feedback.

If you are coming back to us you here have 20% discount on the next stay at Active by showing this message.

Best regards,
Team Active

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

I checked in at 12 pm and checked out at 5 am, due to my working hours. It was not a problem for this hotel. Friendly staff, and a good To Go breakfast. The room was small, but so was the price, right?

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Cali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anders N, Daglig leder at Active Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi Cali. Thank you for feedback! Feedback is so important for us.

As a small gift we want to offer you 10% discount next time you will come to Tønsberg/norway. Just send an email to anders@activehotel.no and I will take care of a booking to you.

Welcome back!

Best Regards,
Anders Hjortenberg Nilsen // Active Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews