We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th year in a row”
Review of Active Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Active Hotel
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We have stayed at this hotel almost every year when we have been attending the Slottsfjell festival and we're really happy about the place. First of all, it's not a hotel in you general sense, more like a motel-thing, but it suits our need perfectly. Rates are much lower than the hotels in Tønsberg city centre (although they're starting to get a bit too close, considering the difference in product, so here they should watch out) and parking is also free.

The normal rooms are very small, more like cabins, but they suit us well and now they were even upgraded. The family rooms are closer to what you might regard a normal double room, but still on the small side as well as the bathrooms. As long as you are aware of this though you should be fine.

Breakfast can be bought at a cheap price, but is suitable to it's price level and does the job. Included in the rate you also have access to the pool and water slides in the neighbour building. The walk to town is about 10-15 minutes.

Would come again if we're attending next year as well! :)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils S W, Daglig leder at Active Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016
Google Translation

Hei.
Vi setter pris på din tilbakemelding. Flott at dere kommer igjen og igjen.
Håper dere får muligheten til neste år også.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This is probably one of the cheapest room in this area with a low price.

Initially, I reserved the room for 7 nights but I check out on the second day instead. The room is way too small for a traveller with two mid size luggages. I can barely go to the toilet from my bed due to my own luggages. I checked in together with one of my business partner, however his room is even worst with full of dusts on the floor. And so, we both decided to check out the second day and move to a better stay instead.

The hotel location is rather far from the TORP Sandefjord Airport. It takes about 30 minutes by taxi. However, it is possible to walk from the hotel to the harbour side with full or restaurants and town area with grocery stores by taking about 20 minutes. (Warns: There is no restaurants or shops around near the hotel, you must go to the town and get something you want.)

Internet speed is fast and stable. It is also free of charge where you can use freely roaming in within the hotel compound.

My room is clean and acceptable. However, there is no fridge, no kettle and no iron in the room due to room space.

Staff can speaks English and is helpful.

Breakfast is full of choices where you can get the typical milk, orange juice, apple juice, breads, meat slices, eggs, omelette, etc. And it is recommended to purchase the breakfast as it is quite affordable in my opinion, also you do not have other restaurant/cafe for breakfast in that area unless you get some breads or snacks from the store in the town area.

The only perk provided by this hotel is the free access to their waterpark and gym centre. However, I do not have the chance to visit the centre but I think it is well worth to mention here.

[+] Price worthy: 4/5
[+] Location: 2/5
[+] Internet: 4/5
[+] Hygiene: 3/5
[+] Staff friendliness: 3/5
[+] Breakfast: 4/5

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

We had made reservations for a small group, where they managed to lose two of our rooms and weren't really apologetic about it either. The service was the slowest I've ever experienced anywhere, finding out anything in the apparently extremely complex computer system of theirs took 20 minutes. Everyone who actually got a room found them horrible.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Tricours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils S W, Daglig leder at Active Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear guest.

I am very sorry to see that your experience with our hotel is disastrous. Your identity and date of stay is hidden from me in Tripadvisor, so it’s difficult for me to see what went wrong in your case. Please contact me on nils@activehotel.no or on my cellular phone +47 418 50 418, so I can find out the circumstances around your reservation and slow service as you describe it. This is not acceptable by our standards!
Last week fourteen of our hotel rooms got a “make-over”. So the rooms you are referring too, may not exist anymore.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards
Nils S Wilhelmsen
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I stayed here for 1 night only. I would have given the rating " good" . This is a no frills hotel, with the usual Scandinavian friendliness. Breakfast buffet style, serving all tasts. Additional perk is the sportscentre next door, with a covered pool, however did not have time to visit same.
Looks to me as a nice family hotel.
Room simple, but comfortable. Value for money, indeed, nicely priced.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank polarlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Active Hotel is located on a peninsula next to industrial buildings so restaurants and the Viking Ship building is across a little bridge to Tonsberg. We were right above the outside smoking area so we had to keep the window closed all the time.
It was cheaper than Tonsberg but not as nice. You can tell that they specialize in families whop are staying for a few days of sports, water park & other activities. We were just there overnight and got there too late in the evening to use any of the amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesJOceanside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Notteroy Municipality
1 km away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
629 reviews
20.1 km away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
180 reviews
1.7 km away
Wilhelmsen House
Wilhelmsen House
#4 of 7 in Tonsberg
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Active Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Active Hotel

Address: Stalsbergveien 5, 3128, Norway (Formerly Active Cabin Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Notteroy Municipality
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Notteroy Municipality
Price Range: $129 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Active Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Active Hotel is a small and pleasant hotel on Notteroy, near Tonsberg city. We have fixed, low prices. The hotel was built in 2006 and have 65 rooms and 160 beds and two conference rooms. All guests staying over night have free guest membership at the fitness center and aqua park next door. Only 1 hour drive from Oslo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Active Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing