We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and child friendly”

Dark Horse Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dark Horse offers light lunches/brunch from 11am - 2.30Pm dailey (closed Monday) and evening meals 6pm - 9pm, all day Saturday & 12noon - 4pm on Sundays including roast dinners. The bar is open all day from 11am - 11pm (closed Monday)
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our first visit for a splendid and unhurried sunday lunch with every effort made to keep a two year old grandchild happy.

A quiet location, which is well signposted easy parking wih roast beef and gravy to die for,

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    58
    21
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must for all that something a bit different.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Firstly, try to ignore the negative reviews that are on this page. Although I appreciate peoples experiences can’t be changed there is always an element of bad timing and this is a relatively new venture getting off the ground. There will some creases to iron out I’m sure but this is a fab dining experience in a very cool location. We have been back for the third time today and had probably the best Sunday roast in Suffolk. Our past dining at the dark horse was fantastic, and on both occasions took friends here that were very much impressed.

Thanks again for a great lunch !

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Agree with last review!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I read the last review and felt that I also had to write my comments about this restaurant. We went on a Saturday night and the menu is small but sounded lovely . We also had the problem that there were starters , mains and puddings that were not available as they had sold out !! The food was ok but nothing amazing and we waited ages for our food to arrive. we were very disappointed as we thought being number 1 on trip advisor we were going to experience great food but unfortunately most of it was not available !! .

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank janebSufffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

If you fancy somewhere a bit different then check out The Dark Horse. It is set in a converted coaching yard and stables. Relaxing in the old horse stalls after your meal is lovely and relaxing,

Helpful?
1 Thank HughLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Oh Dear !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We booked this restaurant based on it's number one position in Suffolk. It's in a nice building, an old stable block, and the welcome was warm. But of the five starters, only one was available, carrot and coriander soup: not exactly a gourmet delight. I had asked for the other soup, broccoli, stilton and ham hock, but that was off. However, there was some parsnip and chilli soup, and the manager offered to put some ham hock in that if we wanted. Of the six mains, only two were available, and as we asked for each one and were told it was unavailable, it started to turn into a Monty Python Cheese shop sketch. I has the tortellini bolognaise, which was about at ASK standard. They knocked up a steak (not on the menu) for my friend, but didn't ask how he would like it done. It was okay. We passed on the deserts, as they had largely disappeared earlier. The Manager was very apologetic and reduced the bill. He said they had a last minute booking of 20 guests and he had under-ordered. That said, the food we did have was only so-so.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dark Horse Restaurant also viewed

Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St Edmunds
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Ixworth, Bury St Edmunds
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Dark Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing