We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Tuscan Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
San Ginese, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
BethL915
Livonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan Retreat”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a wonderful farmhouse! The villa is just as lovely as pictured and the setting is quite beautiful. Location is convenient for day trips throughout Tuscany and host, Juri, took great care of our group.
The villa was spotless - very well restored and extremely clean. It is also well-stocked with adequate dishware, glasses and cutlery. Rooms are comfortable and spacious even with a full house.
Juri was available and gracious in providing recommendations and directions. His mother, Carla, offers a cooking class that I would highly recommend. She is charming and a fantastic cook. The evening we cooked with Carla (with Juri translating) was perfect! We were delighted to have them join us for dinner, which made the evening quite special.
We stayed for a week in late June/early July and experienced very hot weather, so having a pool was a fantastic feature that we enjoyed greatly! A/C worked well and group was quite comfortable throughout the stay. Also appreciated the washing machine which worked well - the provided drying rack was quite effective in the hot weather.
This spot was truly everything we could have wanted and I would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculately clean
Liked least: Beds were a bit too firm
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sapringle...
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming Tuscany Villa - well appointed and inviting”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family and close friends shared this villa for a week to celebrate milestone birthdays. The villa was everything we had hoped for during our Italian adventure vacation. First of all, Juri was a an exceptional coordinator from our arrival to the last night cooking class with his mother, Carla. The location is secluded but a short drive to Lucca and other smaller villages. The bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas are all as described, only better. The excursions offered through the booking process were exceptional - the wine tour and lunch as well as the sailing trip were ideal for our group of young adults and parents. The cooking class with Carla should not be missed. We only wish we had more time to enjoy the pool and would love to come back so we could! This villa offered us a week of making memories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen areas and cooking capabilities.
Liked least: A couple people thought the beds were too hard but really the only complaint.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Lucchese Home”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This summer our extended family of 9 (ranging in age from 80 to 11) spent a week at this beautiful property. We have previously rented two other homes in the countryside around Lucca (my parents were born nearby) and neither compare to this one. The home is newly constructed in a traditional Tuscan farmhouse style. You have all the rustic charm with every modern convenience. The house is beautifully appointed with every item you might ever need. It even has screens and air conditioning which are hard to come by in Italian homes. The house is spotless, the furniture comfortatble, the linens beautiful and the kitchen well stocked.

The owners Juri and Carla are charming and ask what they can do to make your stay better. Frankly, there is nothing for them to do, everything is perfect. The setting in the quiet countryside is gorgeous, the views charming, the pool very well maintained and the gardens lovely. The house is only 15 minutes from Lucca proper and has quick access to the freeway which makes day trips easy.

We had Carla cook dinner for us one evening and it was delicious. As Italian-American SF Bay Area foodies, we are hard to please food wise and we loved it! We cannot recommend this property enough. Everything about it is perfect, I can't wait to rent it again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iandastew...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful villa in the heart of the countryside.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family stayed in this superb villa to celebrate our mothers 80th birthday. Altogether there was 9 of us. The villa is spacious and very well equipped with 4 double and 2 twin bedrooms along with 5 bathrooms. A very well appointed kitchen in the house and another kitchen in an annexe. All the double bedrooms and the lounge and kitchen had air conditioning, also the wi-fi was very good throughout the house.
The pool is a good size and very well maintained with parasols and sun loungers and a very handy shower right next to the pool.
The host Juri is very helpful and attentive in every aspect. We asked for a meal on our first night and Juri's mother Carla cooked us a fabulous Tuscan dinner complete with birthday cake. It was so good that we asked if she could cook another 2 times, and both meals were equally good.
Ideally situated for Lucca, Pisa and Florence, yet very peaceful.
This Villa and the host's are second to none and we as a family had the greatest of holidays and will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the dinners we had.
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie M
Salinas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home and views”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this new villa for 8 days and could not have been happier. The villa itself was exquisite and the grounds were peaceful, beautiful and so relaxing. The owners could not have made us feel more welcome and even cooked a welcome dinner for our large family. It was close enough to Lucca, Pisa and Cinque Terra that we were able to enjoy great day trips and always make it back for a relaxing evening to enjoy the pool and the view. The little town was welcoming and very beautiful! Highly recommend this villa and the owners.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing