We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Official Site
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
8
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under new management the reserve wonderful hosts game drives orange river battle david track scenery sky luxury lodge namibia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2020

What a magical experience!
We spent 3 nights at Sandfontein after hard traveling with 3 kids in Namibia and this was the best way we could end off our Holiday.

The kids loved it and we could also enjoy some free time and just soak up the endless beauty of the Namib Scenery in front of us.

Lisna and Dave really went above and beyond to show us a lot. We had a sunset game drive, lots of wildlife, fly fishing, swimming and normal fishing at the orange river. Dave also stopped and my kids could experience picking their own mango's off a tree and we ate them there on the spot.
We went hiking up to the battlefield and a beautiful scenic route to the rose quarts mine. The kids loved exploring and searching for new treasures to take with us. We have endless memories now.
The swimmingpool was a treat and we all indulged in it all the free time that we had with Gwen always serving us something cold with a smile.
We love exploring places that is off the beaten track and this is truly one that we would love to go back to. We carry our water bottle flasks with us everywhere and that reminds us of special Namibia trip...

Thank you Lisna and Dave for welcoming us like family.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JomaineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandfontein, Guest Relations Manager at Sandfontein Lodge & Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

WoowW.. Its really heart warming to read your re-view.

Thanks, to you and your family for being our first guest for 2020, it was such a pleasure hosting you at Sandfontein and we wish to do so again in the future.

From all of us here at Sandfontein we wish you only the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

We stayed for 5 nights with a couple of friends at this great place. A couple of hours off the common track you meet this mirage at an old natural spring, surrounded by dry semi-desert nature with km-long views. It has a new young couple, Lysna and David, running the lodge since this year, and they are getting a personal touch on the lodge, we even got our own labeled thermo-bottles for water! Wonderful cabins with fantastic morning views, a large lounge room to relax, nice pool to cool down in and lovely dinners sitting outside in the african night, especially the lamb braai or bbq was fantastic. Gwen in the bar made great drinks! We did game drives in open air trucks to see wild animals and went to see the old forts from the battle of Sandfontein in 1914. The best part of the stay was camping out for a night in a dry river bed under the fantastic south hemisphere star sky. Although some early teething problems, this lodge has great potential for a unique holiday.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 613ovet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisna d, Guest Relations Manager at Sandfontein Lodge & Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

Thank you so much for your well described re-view.
We do hope to see you again soon

Thank you again from the Sandfontein Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

Unique, spectacular, redefines exclusive luxury in nature. Awesome location, super attention to service and detail. If you are after sounds of silence in total exclusivity of space, look no further. Watch the wild, canoe, ride horses, or just sit back and smell the sands, listen to the earth breathe. Sandfontein is captivating.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gotraveltotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandfontein, Guest Relations Manager at Sandfontein Lodge & Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

WOoW! thank you.
Such an pleasure reading your re-view.
We hope that Sandfontein will still be part of your travels for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019 via mobile

We visited Sandfontaine Lodge in november 2019. It‘s a very nice place. Our room was beautiful and spacious with a great view. The lodge is situated in the middle of an absolutely spectacular landscape in the Karas mountains. The remoteness of the place guarantees quietness and a wonderful stary sky at night. Lesna and David are wonderful hosts. We had the most interesting scenic drive with David, we saw some nice game and a lot of spectacular landscape. The food was home made and very tasty. The lodge has got an exceptionally big pool. We enjoyed swimming a lot. We only stayed two nights so we missed the near-by Orange-river where Lesna and David offer canoo-tours. But we did a short hike on a near-by hill where one could still find remains of the Sandfontaine battle more than hundred years ago. It‘s also an interesting place in terms of history. You could easily spend three nights or even more at Sandfontaine lodge. It is definitely a place to come back to.
Ralph & Sabine, Hamburg, Germany

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank 68sabinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandfontein, Guest Relations Manager at Sandfontein Lodge & Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Thank you Ralph & Sabine for your re-view we appreciate it from the bottom of our hearts.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our Team.

We wish to see you again in the future to make some more memories!

From all of us here at Sandfontein we only wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Sandfontein, it is in a truly stunning part of Namibia and the lodge gives you amazing comfort and luxury in the middle of wilderness. Come here if you want to kick back and relax.
There is lots of active stuff to do as well and the beautiful Orange River is a real oasis the compliments the reserve very well.
David and Lisna are wonderful hosts and we highly recommend visiting this gem in southern Namibia!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edbarthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandfontein, Guest Relations Manager at Sandfontein Lodge & Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Thank you, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandfontein.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews