We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, with great view!”
Review of Lucia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucia Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rustic, with great view!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here for a night at the beginning of September and found it to be a lovely place to stop on the Big Sur. We stayed in cabin 2 which has only a partial view, but there are a number of seats outside to allow you to sit and have a great view if there is no fog. The cabin was roomy, very comfortable and rustic. There is no TV, but you aren't in the Big Sur to watch the TV so that was fine. The restaurant and office are a very short walk from the cabins and the food there was lovely. Breakfast was included and had a good selection. We also had lunch the day we arrived and it was great also, but the portions are very big! The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The shop beside the restaurant is quite expensive so you may want to bring your own bottled water and wine if you want to drink that in your room.
The Lodge may be on the more expensive side, but the views are amazing (when there is no fog), the rooms very comfortable and the staff and restaurant excellent. Would definitely stag again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ohsmartymarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    144
    48
    26
    22
See reviews for
40
280
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Township, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We splurged on Cabin 10, hoping to get the best view. But as luck would have it, the fog was horrible, and you really couldn't see anything. The website for the Lodge makes everything look new and fresh, but there were cracked fence boards and the chairs outside looked pretty old compared to the pictures. However, the room was very "rustic", clean and comfortable. You could still hear the surf, since it was so quiet. The lodge was a little bit away from the office, store and restaurant, so we elected to take the car to get there for dinner to stay safe. The restaurant food was very good -- had the chicken fettucine alfredo, which set us back about $26 per person, the bread was excellent and the service was as well. Continental breakfast had a pretty good selection.

If you plan on staying here, just keep in mind that it is an older place, and not what you would typically get spending this type of money for a hotel room in a city. Keep your fingers crossed for no fog :)



The Lodge is actually in "Lucia" along the Big Sur Coastline.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in cabin 6, which unfortunately didn't have an ocean view but it is still only a few steps to walk to the magnificent view of the pacific! We didn't arrive until about 9:30/10 in the evening, so we checked in and just grabbed some snacks from the shop, we was too tired to go for dinner in the restaurant but the menu looked yummy!
The bedroom and bathroom was very clean and had good facilities, it was a nice break to have no television! The breakfast was simple and was all set out so you could help yourself. We sat out on the patio, which was a fantastic way to start the day. Don't think I could fault this hotel in any way. If I am ever in the Big Sur area this will definitely be my first choice.

Room Tip: I would recommend to book up in advance in able to get a room that directly overlooks the ocean, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in Cabin #9 and it was large with a very comfortable bed and sitting area. Bathroom was quite small. There is a gas fireplace and unfortunately we did not check to see if it worked when we first arrived because we discovered later that the pilot lite was out after the office had closed. Fortunately we did not need the heat that night...but it could have been a problem if it had gotten colder during the night. One thing that was lacking was a coffee maker in the room. The office is a bit of a hike from the cabins and who wants to get dressed and walk down there early in the morning. Dinner in the restaurant was very good...breakfast was continental and nothing to write home about. The view is quite spectacular...if it's not foggy. I would suggest bringing your own wine because if you buy it in the office store you will get sticker shock. I think the place is way overpriced, but since there are not a lot of places to stay along the Pacific Coast Highway you are at their mercy. On the plus side...there was WiFI access.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
481 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at this lodge along our way up the coastline and I wanted the real ocean view experience. Well, you will certainly get that view if you stay at the Lucia Lodge. There are some draw backs that I will speak to after expressing my great delight with the wonderful cabin that we had for two nights. Although the Inn is rustic, the bed was delightful with nice linens, spread and comfortable pillows. The room was clean, quite large with fireplace and sitting area including couch and chairs. Our front porch had two chairs lined up just for outdoor coastal viewing that changes by the minute. This is an amazing place to soak up the marvels of the California coastline. I did not even mind the very tiny bathroom and shower, since it was all about the view. There is a walking path behind the cabins for a short hike on a higher cliff for even more great views. You can watch the seals laying on the rocks below. You can see the stars at night (unless there is fog). There is no TV or phones, just quiet relaxation with great ocean fresh air. The store is well stocked with supplies, everything from bug spray to jewelry to cartons of eggs. Now for the other stuff. The lodge is off to the west on the cliff side but you must walk about 5 minutes up a steep driveway and along the busy Highway 1 to get to the restaurant and store. This is not real convenient if you need something quick - like a bucket of ice. The store has limited hours of operation so if you need something later in the evening you could be out of luck. Since there area is remote there in NO CELLULAR SERVICE. There is a pay phone in the event of an emergency. The restaurant has an equally impressive ocean view but the food is average at best. The menu prices are a bit steep for the quality. Mostly you are paying for the view and the transportation of supplies to get to the Lucia. This place although listed as being in Big Sur - IT IS NOT in Big Sur. It is along the Big Sur coastline, but actually 26 miles south of Big Sur on a slow moving and winding road. It is over one hour north of Cambria in the other direction. I mention this as it is important to note that there are no goods, services or other places to dine for at least 1/2 hour going north or over one hour away going south. If you stay at this lodge you eat at this lodge. There is no coffee maker in cabins, or small refrig., or any other conveniences to aid with meal planning. There is a continental breakfast included each morning, but once again nothing grand or impressive. Just your average store bagels, toast, yogurt and fruit. Lunch is expensive as well (about $16 for burger or sandwich). All this to say, stop for a one night treat after you have had your dinner elsewhere, then soak in the views, smell and hear the ocean at night through your window next to the bed, then head to Big Sur the next day. Lucia Lodge is quaint, charming and well removed from the chaos of the rest of the world, which can be good or bad depending on what you are looking for... Note: Cabins 7,8,9.10 have the great views. The other lower numbered units are smaller, closer to highway and less view. A few units have no view at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sur hotels
30.7 km away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,126 reviews
29.9 km away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,170 reviews
35.1 km away
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Glen Oaks Big Sur
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#3 of 8 in Big Sur
471 reviews
36.3 km away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
391 reviews
34.6 km away
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Property: Lucia Lodge
Address: 62400 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920-9533
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price range (per night): $198 - $298
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing