We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for the whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just spent one week at El Cid resort- Feb 2012. We have been to Mexico 6 times- each trip was great and this resort was one of the best. The grounds, beach, and facilities were maintained so beautifully. The service was great in all areas. Comment for families: our kids ages 4 and 8 spent hours each day in the Kids club. They were open from 9am-9pm each day- with a posted list of daily activities so the kids could see what they wanted to join in on. They had a nice mix of indoor vs. outdoor activities, such a making bead bracelets, making animal balloons, or walking to the beach to play water balloons or make sand castles. The activities changed each day. They also had a few special shows- one with the actors dressed up in super hero costumes diving into the pool! Twice they did pinatas outdoors. Also special night events like watching a movie on a large screen with popcorn or minidisco with the lights and DJ. We loved the staff and felt comfortable leaving our kids for a few hours at a time in their care. My four year old liked going to dinner at the buffet with the KIDS club better than sitting in the more formal restaurants with us so that was also a great perk! The literature said kids could start attending at age 4 but they did not enforce that strictly- so if you have a outgoing younger kid they could likely join in. Also- you don't have to drop off to participate in activities so if you want to stay with your child you could drop in for pinata or games, etc. The pool and water slide and jumping rock were fabulous our kids swam for hours.

Other notes-room service is great and included for no extra charge- even the kids liked this after a long swim to watch cartoons and relax in the room.

The spa is amazing-had an incredible massage. They were offering 50 min for $100 US and this also included a one hour water therapy spa treatment- so two hour of spa for the price. If you like spa take a peek inside- we thought it was worth every penny. Massages can be indoors or out along the beach. Most masseuses are men- if you are a bit conservative you might request a woman or an indoor massage. The staff were excellent.

We loved the trip and would return again- the kids, my husband and I, and my parents. Food and drinks were great. Dinners require reservations at all but the buffet- make as many as possible because these were really outstanding.

Room Tip: The resort is laid out so that there is not far to walk from any location. The rooms near the spa e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tcdmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our kids club and all the other services and facilities.
In all our briefings we read all the reviews with our staff, thank you so much for commending them:)
We hope to serve you all again in another occasion and thank you again for selecting El Cid.
Esta es su casa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,600 - 4,604 of 6,684 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was our first time in Mexico, we were a group of 8 (2 couples and a family of 4).
The negative: At check-in, Paolo was less than helpfull, gave us rooms in 3 separate buildings unless we would pay an extra charge to be in rooms closer together, we were told the hotel was 100% booked, yet if we payed extra we could get rooms in the same building? One of us is in a wheelchair, we had specified in our booking that a wheelchair accessible room was needed. Paolo said that all rooms were accessible but obviously he doesn't know that you can't get into a shower with a glass doors when you can't walk...We finally were able to get a wheelchair accessible room on the 4th day. Upon our arrival we were also approched by time share people (who say they want to explain the ''all inclusive package''). Once you realize they are talking about the ''platinium club'' you just have to say that you're not interested if your not. The room walls and doors could be thicker, we had a connecting door and we could hear almost everything in the other room.
The positive: The rest of the service was excellent, the waiters and cleaning staff are very friendly and helpfull. The grounds and rooms are beautiful and very well maintained. The kids loved the cliff dive, the waterslide and the kid's club. The food was very good for an all-inclusive, enough choice for everyone and the reservations for supper could be made 2 days in advance and we never had any problems getting the time we wanted. It's a small and secure resort, there were enough chairs at the pool and the beach. The beach is well maintained, next to the Marina which is beautiful. The pool is huge with good entertainment during the day and nice nightly shows by the pool side.

Room Tip: The doors and walls are not very thick, specially if you have a connecting room, you can hear everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ISABELLE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your great review and for choosing El Cid.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our resort excepting for the issue during your check in.
We will make sure to discuss your feedback with our front desk staff in order to improve our service in that area.
Thank you for all your good comments and for complimenting our staff, we will gladly share your review with all of them.
It will be a pleasure to serve you all again in a near future and thank you again for your preference.
Best regards familia:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have been coming to Mexico for the past 10 years. We have a time share at the Royal Hacienda and Royal Sands. However to extend the trip we chose El Cid last year, we were so pleased we chose it again this year. It is equal to the time share, very nice hotel, food was very good. Service was excellent and the rooms more than comfortable. We plan on bringing some friends with this next year to share in the experience. Beachs are clean, yes rocky but that is that area, it is not cancun, where there are no rocks, but is much more peaceful than Cancun. Loved going into Puerto Morales which is close by. My brother and his wife came down from their time share and had dinner at the marina with us, we were able to pay cash for them to eat with us. He raved about the salmon. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Get a ocean view- amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smason2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your nice comments and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family were pleased with our resort and our services and that you are willing to come back with us and bring your family:)
If you need any assistance for your future reservation feel free to contact us anytime.
Thank you again for your nice review and for your stay.
Muchas gracias familia and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was my second All-Inclusive Mexican resort and it exceeded our expectations. The grounds are beautiful with loads of trees and mangroves. The room was clean and comfortable. I thought the food was very good for an all-inclusive, especially the deserts. The pastry chef is a master at his/her art. All the staff were helpful and very friendly. Never passed by without a smile and a "Buenos Dias" . Will definitely consider going there again.

Room Tip: We were in bldg 18 and could not get wireless internet in the room but got it at the pool and the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bldrstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our resort and our food, mainly the desserts, I already shared your nice comments with Hermelindo our pastry chef and you are right he is so good:)
We hope to serve all of you again in a near future in our resort.
Muchas gracias amigos!
El Cid Team:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

El Cid has great food to choose from even for the picky eaters. Rooms are large and very clean.Close to town for easy shopping. Night shows are amazing. I have no fears about the kids being safe and always something to do,they are kept very well intertained.Will return again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelowna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your kind review and for your past stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our resort and felt safe and content.
Puerto Morelos is small, beautiful and really peaceful:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you all again in another occasion in our resort.
Thank you again for your review and your preference:)
See you soon familia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.8 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
9,063 reviews
6.1 km away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
11,638 reviews
18.4 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 177 in Cancun
22,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,495 reviews
13.4 km away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
26.9 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $207 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing