We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La vida floja”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa XaAn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Main
Main
Main Bedroom Bath
Laundry Room
Pool Bath
Pool Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lewm4106
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“La vida floja”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This wonderful house set in a residential neighborhood made our thirty day family vacation truly a "life of ease"! We were warmly welcomed by our host and he was at hand during the entire stay to make sure that we were comfortable. Mr. Fernandez made a special trip for our daughter who urgently needed a doctor.
The house itself is a delight! It is lovingly cared for and the pool trended daily. The spaces are beautifully laid out and decorated.
Rick made sure we were aware of how to get around and the cell phone he provided-free!-was a great help. He gave advice when asked, but respected our family vacation time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2015
Many thanks, you comments are sincerely appreciated; it surely was a pleasure having you and your family at Villa Xa'An and look forward to the opportunity of having you back on a future visit to Puerto Morelos.
Warm regards to you, your wife and all the family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisandg...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best villa we have ever stayed in ...”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Th reviews i read before arriving at Rick's villa were all spot on . The villa is beautifully designed and very spacious. My two children (!) aged 20 and 25 had their own space and also loved Netflix. We went snorkelling which was wonderful and also visited Kantunchi to swim in the cenotes - I would highly recommend that.We visited restaurants recommended by Rick and all were excellent especially Mercadito on the beach where we had the best fish of the holiday.

Puerto Moreles is quiet and friendly with a superb beach - prefect place to relax. If you plan to go there just book Rick's villa and you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rick's assistance and welcome - great Wifi and Mac station.
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Chris;
Thank you, I truly appreciate your comments. The best to you and all the family.

Rick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarAlamo...
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have had the best vacation stay at Rick's place. I wanted a private place, and did not expect that there is a private place like Rick’s. Just book it and you won’t be disappointed.
About the awesome host Rick:
If you want more details about rich, let me start by telling how super helpful he was providing advice about transportation long before we arrived to Mexico for our short honeymoon. He inquired about my transportation arrangements, and as my car rental plans fell apart at the airport, Rick rescued us by contacting a shuttle service that took us from the airport to his place with half the price of airport taxi.
Rick provided a local cell phone, which I we used to communicate with tour guides, taxi drivers, and to make restaurant reservations. And when I was unable to communicate with anyone over the phone, or needed additional assistance, Rick was only a phone call away. The pool and the terrace of the villa was cleaned to perfection every morning by Rick himself, we never felt that our privacy was violated in any way or form, as he would call before he entered the property as we requested.
In a single phrase, he is a generous, respectful, and a helpful host.
About the villa:
The place was clean, and matched the pictures. It was a 2 USD taxi ride to downtown Puerto Morelos, 2 USD ride to Playa Del Carment using Playa Express. The neighborhood seemed a little scary at first, but as you go around and familiarize yourself with the surroundings and the people, you’ll feel more comfortable.
The pool is absolutely amazing, perfect water temperate for a dip after a hot day, and very clean and pleasant terrace to look at and enjoy. The kitchen had all the needed supplies and more. Purified water was provided at no additional cost. The villa was cleaned at our request. There were enough towels at all times.
Due to my experience, I have already recommended Rick’s villa to family and friends, and I will stay at no other place.

Thank you Rick for such an amazing experience 

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The privacy and the pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Omar, Shafaq;

Thank you for your kind comments, I'll always put my best effort forward to accommodate and make sure my guest ar comfortable and looked after, having you at Villa Xa'An was a share pleasure. You and your family will be welcome at Villa Xa'An or any of my other properties with open arms.

Warm regards,

Rick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable living area (with air conditioning !) and the swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzanne B
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Villa Xa'An was an exquisite introduction to Mexico and a lovely, private retreat.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Xa’An is a lovely house and Rick spoiled us from the moment we arrived until we left! This was my family’s first trip to Mexico and we can’t wait to go back.

The house is lovely, comfortable, clean, well-equipped and very well tended by Rick. The photos almost do it justice -- it is more comfortable than it looks. The kitchen is very well equipped; however, with so many good restaurants nearby we did not take full advantage of it. We did make full use of the filtered water and ice that flow through the refrigerator. We brought back fruit and avocados from the market and never had a guacamole-free day. The back yard pool is fantastic and very private! The middle of June is hot and we all jumped in multiple times during the day. My younger daughter loved swimming at night with the pool lights on. In the living room there is a very large television which is connected to Netflix. My older children and I are movie buffs and Mexican Netflix has more movies to stream than we have in the States which we enjoyed.

Puerto Morelos is a lovely little town. There are plenty of tourist resources but it is much quieter than the bigger resort towns which was a relief to us. It was actually necessary to use Spanish some of the time. We found the people of Puerto Morelos to be friendly and kind, and after a few days of walking around, we were greeted as if we had moved in. The beaches to the north of the town proper are wide and clean. There were pickup volleyball games and massages. We sampled two wonderful fish restaurants where you can plant your feet in sand as you nibble at the day’s catch. Puerto Morelos is close to the major resort towns and we could easily travel between towns on buses or by taxis. Taxis are plentiful and economical for short jumps to and from the center of town and also for excursions. Rick gave us the numbers of two drivers that we used frequently. We hired one of them for our day trip to Tulum, the ceynotes and Playa del Carmen. He was excellent and we had a lovely, busy and relaxed day.

And then there is Rick! Lots of vacation rentals could have all that I’ve described but wouldn’t have Rick as the host. Rick is kind and gracious and pays impeccable attention to lots of small details. He arranged our transportation from the airport and was there to greet us when we arrived. He has a wealth of information about what there is to do and where to eat and play. He helped us arrange for a dolphin swim when the website was not working and our phone connection was bad. He came to clean the pool every day and always engaged me in conversation about our plans and offered whatever help he could. It did not take long for us to trust his recommendations which were always spot on.

My family had a wonderful, restful and exciting vacation at Villa Xa’An and we are hoping to return next spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the small beach town away from the craziness of the big resorts.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 136
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing