We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property on the beach with a great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gsorkow
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Better attention to a few details would make for a more pleasant experie”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We Stayed at Casa Toucan in Mid-March 2017. We were a party of four adults and stayed in the two-bedroom unit, Toucan 1. The location is great, with (gated) access to the beach and walking distance to all the restaurants and attractions in the lovely village of Puerto Morales.
I cannot comment about the other units in the facility, but I found Toucan 1 in need of some improvement.

John, the property owner was very accommodating. He thoroughly answered all the questions we had about the property and the town prior to our arrival. (once the contract was signed he sends very helpful detailed information). He quickly responded to a few maintenance requests during our stay including cutting a vent in the (temporarily) boarded-up window opening in one of the bathrooms to get rid of the smell of sewage.

Yes, the biggest problem in Toucan 1 is the odor of sewer gas that emanates from both bathrooms. The odor varies throughout the day from tolerable to overpowering. Besides the vent that John cut, we tried capping the drains when we were not using the sink and shower. Both had minimal effect. I suggest before you rent this unit that you inquire about the status of this issue. Why wasn’t this mentioned anywhere in the paperwork that otherwise thoroughly described the details about the property and the owner/renter responsibilities?

In our opinion, the pots and pans, drinking cups and some of the furnishings were well used or worn out and in need of replacement - Not the quality we expected for the price paid. Besides weekly maid service, the Kitchen needs to be thoroughly cleaned.

Also worth noting, contrary to the amenities section on Trip Advisor, Toucan 1 does not have its own Patio, Deck or Terrace. The sliding door opens immediately to a table and benches that are part of the “common area” and the rules state it must be kept free of possessions when not in use. The hot tub described by John as “make-shift” needs to be running constantly in order to stay hot. At one point however, we were told not to keep it running. This rendered the hot tub pretty ineffective
I must agree with another TA poster about having the owners on-site. It can be a mixed bag. We felt as if we were being observed for any possible infraction of the numerous rules.
I would suggest that before you choose to make a reservation that requires a non-refundable deposit you ask to review the rental contract and the rules and regulations. The owners, John and Alicia are proud of their property, but the primary theme is, “This is our home.” Rather than “You are our valued guests/customers.”

It is a challenge to write a mediocre review, The location is awesome, and the facility has great potential. A few improvements will indeed make it paradise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Gail & Mitch -

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at Casa Toucan. Yes, the issue with odor in the bathrooms has been completely corrected. Please understand that you were visiting another country, and you cannot always assume that the rest of the world will be exactly like the U.S.A. It is common in this area for bathrooms to have this odor as p-traps are not typically installed, used toilet paper goes in the wastebasket (not in the toilet), and bathroom doors are kept closed. We are the only property that I know of that tries to make our guests more comfortable by following practices more customary to American and Canadian guests by flushing our toilet paper. The odor was exacerbated by the fact that we were awaiting the installation of new windows and as a result one of the windows was boarded, but I do not recall anyone being "overpowered". I apologize for this inconvenience. Regardless, this summer we installed p-traps on the shower drains and since then I have asked each guest, and each one of them has said that there have been no odors in the suite. Success!

I am not sure what you mean about things being "well used or worn out". How does a drinking glass get "worn out"? I also do not understand what you mean by "Not the quality we expected for the price paid"...you spent less than $65 USD per person, per night to stay in a multi-million dollar beachfront property on the Caribbean Sea. Does the "quality" of the dishes, or the presence of a small tear in a bedsheet, or any of the other very minor things that you complained about somehow outweigh all of the other qualities of the property?

A few notes of clarification:

1) There is no mention in our listings of a private patio, deck, or terrace. It is clearly stated in each listing that Casa Toucan is a multi-suite property and that the pool deck and other outdoor spaces are for shared use by all guests. I am sorry that you did not understand this, but the description is unequivocal.

2) Accordingly, we ask that guests not monopolize the common areas as a courtesy to fellow guests. At one point, your towels, books, and other items were strewn across five of the seven lounge chairs around the pool, and you had left the property! We had to gather your possessions and put them outside your suite so that the chairs were available for our other guests.

3) The Rental Agreement is available here on TripAdvisor for your review prior to booking. I am sorry that you chose not to read our very simple terms, and then subsequently wanted to cancel because you failed to do your research.

4) Upon your arrival I clearly explained to you how we use the hot tub. We absolutely will NOT waste electricity and gas to keep the hot tub running at all times because you refuse to follow a very simple procedure. Energy is very expensive here - more than triple what you pay in the U.S. - and we do our best to conserve it.

5) Another very basic rule: We keep the gates of the property locked, primarily to keep people from wandering in from the beach, but also to improve security. We asked you repeatedly to lock the gate when you left, and your reply was "But we want it open". At times you left the gate not only unlocked, but standing wide open! "But we want it open" does NOT change the rules here!

Ultimately, your problem with your stay was that we asked you to follow some very basic, common-sense house rules, but you think that the rules do not apply to you. As was the case in the two other reviews that you cited, you did not like the owners being on-site because you didn't want to have to follow the rules. You are absolutely right, this IS our home, and we ask that you respect some very basic requests. The fact that you have paid to stay here does NOT mean that we will allow you to be disrespectful and discourteous of us nor of your fellow guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely property on the beach with a great location!”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great location within walking distance to town and numerous wonderful restaurants. The unit was lovely, clean and right on the beach.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Nancy -

Hola from Casa Toucan! Thank you for your kind words regarding our property. We enjoyed having you and the girls' gang here and we look forward to seeing you guys again in the future. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia, Jon Conner, Sully & Lobo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Access303...
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just what I was looking for only much much better. The location was perfect. We had a car but did not need to use it. The private courtyard was lovely. We went with the recommendation of the owner. And had a massage person come to us!!! Outside on the courtyard. I will definitely be back and recommend to all my friends!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Julee -

Greetings from Casa Toucan! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us before your week in Tulum. And we are glad that you enjoyed Blanca's massage talents as well! We repeatedly hear how our masseuses give the BEST massages that our guests have experienced, and the services are VERY inexpensive relative to costs in the U.S. and Canada. There is nothing quite like enjoying an amazing massage while listening to the gentle waves and feeling the Caribbean waves on your skin.

We look forward to having you (and the gang!) back for a future visit with us here at Casa Toucan. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia, Jon Conner, Sully & Lobo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roadwarri...
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Caribbean”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We are repeat customers of Casa Toucan and stay in January and March. This property is located on the beautiful pristine beach of Puerto Morelos just one half block from city center. There are Restaurants just a few steps from the front door.
Property is well maintained with great English speaking owners. Property boasts a nice pool and a hot tub in back of pool for use on cool nights. There are comfortable chaise chairs for your enjoyment of the wonderful sunshine. Property is just steps away from the sea and you can watch the cruise ships sashaying their way to Cozemel or back to Miami.
The site has great safes which are the largest we have enjoyed in Mexico.
Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen with a gas stove and an oven. Safe sanitary water is provided at no extra charge. Maid service is provided weekly!
Owners are very responsive to your needs and have a wealth of information on the area.
We can't wait for our next stay at CasaToucan and to enjoy the friendliness and safety of Puerto Morelos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful location and view of sea!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Wayne & Lynn -

We have enjoyed becoming friends with you over the last five years and we look forward to seeing you back here in 2017! Thank you for your kind remarks about your stays here at Casa Toucan. You guys know Puerto Morelos very well and we are honored and flattered that you choose to stay with us year after year. You always leave the property better than you found it and Wayne does all of my repair work for me! Have a good summer and we'll see you next January!

Best,

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreamtrav...
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Life is good!”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Casa Toucan 1 for three weeks in March, and could not have been more pleased. Jon and Alicia, the hosts, live on site and are a gracious and willing presence. It feels as if you have been welcomed into their special paradise. One day, Jon even insisted on driving my husband to the doctor when he had a minor medical need. The apartment is spacious, well equipped and clean. What a treat to wake up each day to a view of the ocean, and to be overlooking the lovely pool and landscaped patio area. All the guests of the three apartments, we were 6 at the time, share this area, and it was especially nice to meet other folks, but never find it crowded or congested. The bed is very comfortable, there's space to read or hang out, the wifi works, and there's on demand shows - which we never even used. The kitchen is equipped with basic cooking utensils, and Jon was quick to supply a certain pan we needed but didn't have. It's a quiet place, meant for relaxation, yet you are just out the door and either across the street or around the corner to a great variety of restaurants and town activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Nancy & Edmund -

Hola buen día! It was a pleasure sharing our home with you. We enjoyed our conversations and I particularly enjoyed Edmund's perspective on American politics. Thank you for your kind words about your time with us, and we are looking forward to seeing you next year!

Best,

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner

p.s. Yoe recently returned from Cuba and she said to tell you hello and to thank you for the propina!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing