We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
35 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
FindHotel
USD 250
View deal
PricelineUSD 294
Trip.comUSD 302
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,000)
Filter reviews
14,002 results
Traveller rating
9,371
2,922
1,043
361
305
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9,371
2,922
1,043
361
305
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium section mojito bar waves bar chique restaurant spoons restaurant la chique the caribbean restaurant tapas adult section family section boot camp pool butlers swim up room great holiday kids club bali beds water polo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 14,002 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

We stayed May 1-5, 2021. 4 nights

My 24 year old daughter tested positive on her antigen test. We felt confident it was false positive. Nevertheless, she had to leave the beach at 11:30am on our second day there and stay in the room for 2 days (because it takes that long for the PCS test to come back when you take it at noon). We begged, argued, pleaded, demanded to take another antigen test, which according to the web site, we are entitled to...if we pay for it. It’s supposed to be $25, but they told us it would be $100...we were willing to pay it. They just beat around the bush to make sure it didn’t happen. So, at 8:30pm, the night before we leave, the doctor calls her and tells her the PCS is negative. She’s free to leave the room.

We were treated so poorly. Even when we checked it, we didn’t get champagne like everyone else. The resort is beautiful, but the people....terrible. They called my husbands cell the first afternoon after she tested positive telling him we would be removed from the property because they saw our daughter at the bar. There are 15 other dark hair dark eye girls here. And I went to the bar with glasses and a hat on. It wasn’t her. She was in the room. Never left.

We lost 2 days of our 4 days vacation. All of us...because we spent 2 days arguing with them and our daughter locked in a room.

I understand they want to protect themselves from covid positive cases. But if I want to test 10 times a day, and I’m willing to pay for it, they should allow.

Then they cancelled our pre-paid transport to the airport because they wouldn’t bring us (because as of last night they thought she was positive), and we have to pay a taxi out of our pocket. They don’t even try to make good on it by paying it themselves. Supposedly we will get a credit “on our account”. How long will that take? Just pay for the taxi is all we asked. Nope.

I know we took a risk coming and there are people who can’t afford to vacation at all. But we paid tens of thousands of dollars to have a membership with Karisma and thousands to come here.

If you are going to travel during Covid regulations, just be aware that Karismas web site states you can travel with “peace of mind” however, the staff here doesn’t follow what is outlined on their web site.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Lindatravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisma Hotels, Director General at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lindatravelsalot,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are passed on to everyone. On the other hand, I will personally supervise that they are fulfilled.

Please rest assured we have addressed your experiences with the corresponding department heads for their internal review and we would like to continue our communication with you, please do not hesitate to contact us at customerservices@karismahotels.com

In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to host you for a stay that truly exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
Your Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

One of the best trips I’ve taken in a long time. Can’t wait to come back with the family cause I know that it’ll be just another great experience. Highly recommend, and my hats off to Jose Luis!! Such great service my friend!!! Until next time. CAZADORES!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Guide37103342168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Our room was a presidential suite and was always clean; beautiful; great views and the amenities you'd need. Room service was on time, and attentive.

We really enjoyed dancing and paddleboarding with Daniel. He had great energy! He also played beach volleyball with us.

The bartenders Jose Luis and Uriel were always there with a smile and great service.

The servers at the pool and beach: Dorian and Miguel were super attentive. We asked for things every 15 minutes, it felt, and they never let us down and always remembered to check in on us and follow up. They were amazing.

Our butlers Karen and Janet were AMAZING. Just super responsive, communicative, helpful and kind.

The whole team were great - the servers, the pool staff, the housekeeping. I don't know them all by name, but you could see their work and their support throughout our stay.

During covid tims it was important that our family felt safe and we did truly feel safe at the resort.

It was a great experience - restful, relaxing, fun and healing. highly recommend this resort.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tilomaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Service:
The staff were extremely friendly! Some knew us by name and many new us by face.

Mariano at the adult bar was always so welcoming and friendly I felt I was in the show "Cheers" - Where everyone knows your name.

Alfonso new us by name and would always ask how we were doing or if we needed anything.

Roberto helped us with a speedy breakfast when we were running short on time.

Room:
Room was clean and well maintained. One exception was at first the minibar was not regularly restocked after many requests. Ultimately after discussing with our concierge this was resolved.

Other Considerations:
When booking we paid for a swim up suite. On arrival they offered us an upgrade to a swim up suite in the adults only section at a reasonably steep price. We were able to negotiate somewhat, and decided to get the upgrade. After we checked in we started to notice that the resort was at a very low occupancy (due to Covid) with most of the rooms in our section not being utilized. As a result of the low occupancy, various parts of the resort appear to be running under limited use or closed for the time being. (Examples only one dinner restaurant per night; Starbucks not open, and the snack location was not running regular hours). All of this makes sense, however it did make it challenging to grab a quick bite to eat if you did not catch a location open at the right time. Ultimately I wished they had offered us a free upgrade or maybe an upgrade at a lower price considering all these factors. It would have earned good will.

Considering the occupancy, the price was rather steep for the amenities.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelThePlanet_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisma Hotels, Director General at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear TravelThePlanet_123,

Thank you for your honest opinion. We have sent your comments to the affected personnel. I apologize for this bad experience. It is very disappointing to hear what happened, but we hope you will give us another chance to show you that we have improved. Please let me know if you wish to discuss the matter personally.

We like to invite you to contact us at customerservices@karismahotels.com - we have a dedicated waiting to hear from you!

Sincerely,
Your Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021

We spent 11 days at Azul Beach Resort recently and had an absolutely great time. We went there to get some sun and relaxtion and we certainly did. Our Concierge, Tony, was a great help with our needs. The Pool Butlers, Dorian and Miguel, kept us in drinks and water, and always had our chairs and Bali Bed ready for us. All of the Staff of the resort were very helpful and friendly and always had a smile for you behind their masks. The food was pretty good overall, however, we didn't have a lot of choice on restaurants because the occupancy rate was low so only 1 or maybe 2 of the restuarants would be open for dinner. We did like certain restaraunts better than others. The breakfasts were always to die for with the fresh fruit, mimosas, omelets, and the bacon in particular. We attended the nightly performances sometimes and they were really good. Some evenings we just wanted to sit on our balcony and listen to the ocean while having cocktails in our room. We got 3 relaxing messages while we were there and the 80 minute Hot Rocks one was unbelievable. We did use the Fitness Center some and it had everything we needed. They are very careful there and sanitizing constantly. We felt very safe there and will definitely go there again.

Date of stay: April 2021
2  Thank Freedom66686739547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews