We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,136)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
414
424
166
76
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
424
166
76
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool colchester zoo railway line restaurant staff executive room leisure facilities reception staff lovely hotel changing rooms steam room no lift the ground floor plenty of parking one night stay family room following morning health club
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

As an ihg member i can compare this hotel to other holiday inn hotel as below average in terms of norm. We stayed last Saturday april 7 2018 for 1 night we had 2 rooms for us family and for a friend. The breakfast selection i.e fruits and cold cuts area is limited just oranges and couple slices of watermelon and tin fruit salad in a bowl.
My wife ask for a water because only sparkling water is available in the section she waited for 10 mins and the waiter just said they dont have bottled normal water just the sparkling bottle which is there, didn’t even offer a jug of water from the tap because you dont have water!!!!!so she just went to the room and drink the water from the kettle she just boiled the night before. We change for our swim gear and the kids to go for a dip in the pool only to find out that the pool is closed...... we ask the reception before our checkin what time the pool is open and the location and she didn’t tell us that the pool is closed!!!! Communication guys!!! Lastly the sound proofing is not that good you can hear kids running and people chatting outside as if the door is open...

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank charlie7565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear charlie7565,

I would like to thank you for your review and honest feedback about your experience with us. I would like to apologise for the issues that you encountered with us. I have passed your comments onto our management team to prevent these issues from happening again.

I honestly hope that if you are back in the area that you would stay with us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The hotel was lovely, very clean and friendly staff. Rooms could be a little better with more modern gadgets like coffee machine, fridge and would be nice to have water in the room.
Beds were super comfy and the shower was amazing.
The restaurant was really amazing with great food and friendly staff.

Room tip: It would be great if there was a fridge in the room and a nespreso machine for coffee. Also there was no water in the room. The bathroom didn’t have any complimentary body wash and shampo and conditioner.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank louisemforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Louisemforster,

Thank you for your online review of the hotel. I was happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our executive rooms do have mini bar fridges in them if that is of any help for your next booking with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Went to book in and my husband had booked wrong date and had booked as a surprise! Kennedy who was booking us in was wonderful, helpful and changed booking and was courteous throughout , we will come back and he was helpful and smiley and friendly.

Room tip: Could have little sofa rather table n chair
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annieee2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear annieee2018,

Thank you for making the time to complete a review of the hotel and staff. I was glad to see that we were able to rectify the booing error and that you had a great stay with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and had a really good stay, Everything you expect from a Holiday Inn, comfortable clean room, good parking and really lovely staff, would recommend and would certainly stay here again when in the area.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PUDSEYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear PUDSEYCAT,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Friendly welcome by staff on reception. Room was clean and modern, especially the bathroom which seemed very new! Enjoyed using the swimming pool.
Being near the main road you could hear this slightly from the room and also the nearby train line, but this didn’t stop us from sleeping!
We will definitely be returning to this hotel when we are back in Colchester. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lucyg749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Lucy g,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews