We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, food average, service poor.”
Review of Green Man

Green Man
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Offley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for my Mother-in-law's partner's birthday as a family group of eight as we'd not been here for many years and fancied giving it a try again.

Nice setting with large airy conservatory and views looking over towards Hitchin, seating is comfortable and whole pub looks recently refurbished.

Food was average, mother-in-law's lasagne looked a bit sorry for itself and my wife's pan fried duck also looked like it had seen better days. Other dishes were ok but not helped by the waitress dropping part of the starter and then forgetting to bring the replacement.

Unfortunately the service from the older lady waitress was generally poor - although she was well meaning she kept getting herself in a confused state from taking the orders, remembering to bring what we'd asked for to the final confusion with the bill which was wrong and then it took about another ten minutes to get it right. It felt like we wasted an age while she flapped around trying to get things right. Had we been served by a different waitress we may have had a better evening.

Overall a nicely located restaurant, food ok but not amazing. Fine for an everyday meal as long as service is ok.

Thank fork_handles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonrH4145TA, Manager at Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Good morning I am really sorry to hear about your recent visit to the Greenman and will be looking into what went wrong And will be speaking to the staff I hope you will come back and give us another try

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

very friendly place family and dog friendly you sometimes have to wait a bit to be served but the staff are friendly and very helpful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank karendallimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonrH4145TA, Manager at Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward in seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

What a great time my daughter had.they had party games ,and drinks.the egg hunt was good fun,so many full size eggs.most came away with 3 big eggs and lots of sweets.
Then a picnic lunch which we packed ourself.and no rush to get you out the door when the pub opened.
Fantastic staff ,very friendly.

Thank Vicnlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonrH4145TA, Manager at Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for coming we had so much fun and was nice to see the kids having so much fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Great place to grab some lunch. Good range if choices and the food was excellent. Friendly and quick service from Sam. Would definitely come back.

Thank Ketan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonrH4145TA, Manager at Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review I’m glad you enjoyed your time with us today and we look forward in seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had a great experience - the service was excellent, with friendly accomodating staff. There was a good atmosphere, a variable menu and good value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesflynn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonrH4145TA, Manager at Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review and we look forward in seeing you again soon look out for our new menu coming out in April

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Man also viewed

Chalton, Bedfordshire
Offley, Hitchin
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Little Wymondley, Hitchin
Barton-le-Clay, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing