We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More than a home from home.x”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa de Colina

looking out over the patio, with its in-built bbq and furniture over the Portuguese countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking out over the patio, with its in-built bbq and furniture over the Portuguese countryside
looking back at the cottage with its panoramic back door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
looking out over the patio, with its in-built bbq and furniture over the Portuguese countryside
looking back at the cottage with its panoramic back door
snapshot of the local area, look, not a car insight!
enjoy your meal or just a relaxing coffee in the open air
for the odd time you fancy eating in, there is a fully equipped modern kitchen
a view of the kitchen, from the garden, into the front room
a comfortable nights sleep in a beamed loft conversion, away from the hustle and bustle of life
after a hard days relaxing, the modern front room leads onto the balcony loft  bedroom
relax with a good book, a glass of wine or the added bonus of a large smart t.v. and freeview
surrounding the garden on the other side - still no cars
Pombal Castle - 15 minutes drive away - can walk around
Castanheira de Pera Water Park.  5 Euros each person
Castanheira de Pera Water Park.  5 Euros each person
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ansiao, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
OwenLMart...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“More than a home from home.x”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After having problems with our flight being delayed for two hours,we were thankful that our hosts picked us up from Lisbon Airport,despite it being in the early hours of the morning.The setting of the apartment was stunning. Peace and tranquility with the sound of nature all around, beautiful views from the terrace, star filled skies at night.
The apartment was immaculate inside and out. Nothing was too much trouble,our hosts helped us with car hire, directions when we got lost,and gave us invaluable advice when we needed it.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Casa de Colina to others.
Thank you both very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Owen
Thanks very much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you and Vanessa staying with us. We hope that Penela gives you good results and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Antony and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davefrost...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

had a great stay john and karen were a good help nothing was to much trouble would highly recomend to family and friends and would stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hospitality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
David
It was lovely to meet you both and we are glad that you both love this beautiful country and have decided to stay. Thank you very much for your incredible review, it will be great to see you again soon.
John and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethcox_1...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Portugese retreat”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booking really easy, John (Antony) the owner was quick to respond and reply to emails, very helpful from the start. On arrival he showed us round and gave us local information on traditional restaurants and sights which matched our interest. Karen had put together useful information guides on local attractions. We particularly liked the preserved mosaic floors in the Roman Settlement Excavation nearby.

The accommodation was practical, clean and had everything we needed. The sofa was much more comfortable than ours at home!

The location was really peaceful, it was great to see rural Portugal and enjoy the slow pace of life.

We had a problem with the hire car (I ripped a tire on the sharp kerbs) John helped us out with contacting the hire company and sending emails on our behalf.

Good selection of films and satellite TV, books and CDs. The WIFI dongle was fine for our needs of checking emails, maps & local info, (as its rural the signal isn't that strong for heavy usage).


Lovely sun trap patio, with views of the rural landscape. John and Karen were great in making sure we had a fab holiday, they even gave us some amazing fresh figs from their garden.

We definitely recommend booking with John and Karen for a peaceful rural retreat or to experience the traditional side of Portugal away from tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of the owner.
Liked least: Nothing. All good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely review, it has been much appreciated by both of us. We are glad you had a lovely stay with us.
John and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allscotts...
2 reviews
“Perfect hosts”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed a week at Casa Colina whilst looking for properties on the Silver Coast. The accommodation was excellent spotlessly clean and had everything and more you would need. The views were beautiful from the terrace. This is a wonderful countryside location. This is only bettered by the wonderful owners John & Karen nothing was too much trouble. They gave us advice, help including a guided tour of Coimbra. Many thanks to both again and we hope we can catch up when we move to Portugal.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Thank-you for your kind review, we hope your new life in Portugal will be as satisfying to you as it has been to us. Look forward to meeting you both for a drink when you have settled in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith P
1 review
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Property was clean and had all items you want and a few extra.We could not get a WiFi connection during our stay and the area where you park paddles in to the property especially when wet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not having WiFi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing