We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value of money”
Review of Hotel Univers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Univers
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Encamp
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very nice hotel, perfect friendly service. Half board is recommended, because there's no other place near by to have a dinner, and at the hotel the dinner is really good. Breakfast is very average (from cooked food only bacon and cold boiled eggs). The connection room is very comfortable for family stay. The good thing is also the bath. It's warm in the rooms, but the outside wall was really cold (there was even condensat in the wardrobe). The furniture is rather tired, but beds are comfortable. Poor Internet and cable TV. In three-five minutes walk there's a free ski-bus stop (to Funicamp) and also the bus stop to La Vella (about 10 min. ride).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arine511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Propietario at Hotel Univers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Sr. Mazowiecki,

Muchas gracias por habernos escogido en su viaje a Andorra y por su positiva crítica sobre nuestro servicio. Intentaremos mejorar en los temas que no hemos estado a la altura.

Saludos y hasta pronto!
Anna y Jaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a lovely hotel! We’ve just spent a fantastic family weekend here. The hotel is very well located, overlooking the river and with views to the mountains, but only a couple of minutes’ walk to shops etc. The rooms are very good value so we actually had one room for us and an adjoining room for the children. So there was lots of space for us and we all slept very well! Both nights we had dinner at the hotel and really enjoyed the local cuisine. The owners/managers – Anna and Jaume – are so friendly and really made us feel at home. Jaume is very knowledgeable about Andorra and gave us lots of recommendations on what to do with the children. The mountain scenery is breathtaking. There are so many things to see and do, we really can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is a very good hotel, family run. Awesome cuisine, I suggest taking half board. Breakfast is average, but dinner is amazing, every time. Location is good, but you will need to take a little train to Funicamp.

The only thing missing in this hotel is sauna.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

A family run hotel in the quiet (in summertime) town of Encamp. The town suited us better than the more touristy town of Andorra la Vella whose main street is much like that of Gibraltar, full of 'duty free' shops. There is a regular bus service from Encamp to other towns.

We opted for bed and breakfast because we did not wish to be tied down in the evening and we prefer to eat at midday. The room was clean and comfortable with a balcony looking out to the mountains. There is a lift to all floors which is small and amusing. The hotel has a communal lounge and there is free wifi access throughout. Outside car parking is free and indoor parking is available for a fee. The dining room is large and there were ample choices for a continental style breakfast. We did eat 2 lunches and once in the evening and the food was good and well served.

The staff are very attentive and it does help if you can speak Catalan, Castillano, French or Italian as English is not spoken. However I'm sure that this would not be a problem. During our stay, our car broke down and required 2 to 3 weeks to fit. Everyone was most helpful and arranged a bus to the airport at Barcelona so we could continue our journey to UK. We stayed at Hotel Univers on our return.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davierj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Situated in Encamp this friendly hotel is ideal for those travelling with children as it offers communicating rooms. The rooms are warm, very clean and comfortable. There is a spacious lounge where you can watch tv or play pool. The half board option was excellent value for money with a good breakfast and evening meal (plenty of choice from a set menu). The owners were very helpful and can organise ski passes and tickets to the Caldea spa. The hotel also offers ski packages.
The hotel is ideally situated for the Funicamp cable car which takes you up to the ski slopes (not advised for complete beginners as the easiest run down is blue and very steep in places). There is an excellent car park at the Funicamp so you can just unload your skis, put on your boots, and take the lift up to the cable car.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encamp
0.3 km away
Hotel Evenia Coray
Hotel Evenia Coray
#1 of 15 in Encamp
213 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Mila
Hotel Mila
#2 of 15 in Encamp
173 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#7 of 15 in Encamp
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel L'Ermita
Hotel L'Ermita
#1 of 1 in Meritxell
237 reviews
0.5 km away
Aparthotel Shusski
Aparthotel Shusski
#6 of 15 in Encamp
110 reviews
0.9 km away
Montecarlo Hotel
Montecarlo Hotel
#4 of 15 in Encamp
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Encamp

Been to Hotel Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Univers

Address: 13 Rene Baulard Street, Encamp AD200, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Encamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Encamp
Price Range: $82 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing