We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful, Private Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Private Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I travelled with my husband to CCRR to celebrate our 21st Wedding Anniversary. What a wonderful place it was. After travelling along roads lined with lush paddocks and fat cattle or horses we arrived. Check in was fast and organised. We were given all the information we needed and encouraged to contact the office if we required anything at all or even for a query. We stayed in Numinbah lodge which is the highest of all the accommodation. The lodge was beautifully fitted out with luxurious touches including heated towel rails, fluffy bathrobes and slippers and eye masks. To our surprise champagne and chocolates greeted us on the table which is a generous thought. The views are spectacular from the balcony and the private plunge pool is solar heated to ensure comfort. There is a two sided wood heater which we didn't require but it would be very romantic to sit and watch the flames from either the bed or the lounge with a glass of wine, surround sound system to die for and even an I pod dock. We ordered dinner both nights and breakfast both mornings and these too were amazing. There was more food than we could eat and found that we had enough left overs to eat for lunch. The staff specialised in ensuring they didn't disturb us even when our meals were delivered the second day. This place is a wonderful retreat to go for couples wanting to spend time together with out distractions. Our stay was something we will never forget.
There is a games room with a huge selection of DVDs and some walks to do but as it was stormy weather we didn't bother leaving our lodge.

Room Tip: No need to order lunch as you will have left overs from brekkie and dinner. Views from Numinbah Lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
142
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to relax, unwind and reconnect with your partner. We stayed at one of the creek side spa cabins for seven nights, and we were lucky enough to have almost perfect weather the whole time (and full moon smack bang in the middle of our visit). That meant we went to sleep to the sound of the crek and looking at the moonlight through the trees, and woken up to the songs of the whip birds and currawongs.

Breakfasts were delivered every second afternoon, ensuring we were left alone most of the time.

We chose to purchase dinners for two nights - although delicious we didn't think these were value for money. The breakfasts on the other hand were great (well, except the crumpets one).

The cabin was very well appointed - sound system, very comfy king bed, two-person spa, full kitchen, large hd tv and a great DVD collection available in the games room.

Every afternoon found us on the deck on the day beds overlooking the rainforest, with a champagne in our hands :-)

The staff were extremely friendly helpful and weren't imposing - we only saw them when we sought them out, when they delivered breakfasts and for the cleaning (full refresh on 2nd and 5th days).

There are numerous bush walks (and hammocks over the creek) - and on all our walks we didn't see another guest although over half the cabins seemed to be in use throughout put visit.

Overall a great relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a perfect location. We were given a warm welcome and were shown around our bungalow including a personal guide as to how to work the air conditioners, the log fire and the dvd/sound system (which was very 21st century). Not only robes to lounge around in but luxurious fluffy robes! Complimentary chocolates, a bottle of wine and some free milk (we'd forgotten ours) made us feel extra special. The rainforest view from the spa bath was lovely (especially by candle-light) as was the view from the bedroom/deck. Huge number of blue ray and dvds to play and beautiful walks on location led to a weekend of sleep, relaxation, walking, reading and dvd watching. What a lovely way to relax in each other's company.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I were very lucky to stay in Numinbah Lodge (Mountain Veiw Lodge) for three nights. It was definitely paradise in the rainforest!
The resort is in a true, virgin rainforest location and extremely private. If your looking for a resort out of the way, Crystal Creek is perfect. I've stayed in a few properties that state they are private but you can see other houses in the distance or they are located on small acreage - howerver Crystal Creek is truly remote!
The lodge was open plan and when I walked in, it took my breath away! One side of the lodge is floor to ceiling windows looking out to the valley and the rainforest, the furnishings are homely and inviting and I loved that there were tea lights everywhere. It was quite romantic.
In addition, there was a good size kitchen, large deck, BBQ and the plunge pool!!
The resort offers meals (a set menu, brought to your lodge) but we cooked our own dinners as it is a little bit too far to drive into town for dinner. Plus sitting on the deck looking out was just amazing - the view is just stunning.
The pool is solar heated and Large enough to have a good swim around in. There was nothing better than resting of the wet edge looking out to the rainforest and watching the birds and the very friendly goanna.
We walked down to Crystal Creek - if you have seen the photos of the hammocks over the stream - then its exactly the same in real life!
The creekside cabins are along the stream and looking from the outside seemed very quait and private.
We had a massage booked through the resort. The massue came to the lodge and gave a very relaxing massage. We also did a bush walk and checked out the Games room which had stacks of DVds and plenty of information.
We will be back one day and we woulD highly recommend!

Room Tip: Mountain Lodges both have pools. Numinbah looks through the valley and is at the highest point of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleZoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

As a retreat, this is perfect. We were left alone to the degree we wanted-we didn't want crowds, entertainment and noise you'd find at a resort. With a little pre-planning and self-catering was a breeze.
Luxurious lodge with all the mod-cons and the most amazing bath with an equally amazing view from it!
The staff we had contact with were helpful, friendly and polite.

Probably not the place for you if you're not content with your own company. The perfect place for you if you need a complete break from the world!
The walks, the trees, the stars and a very comfy mattress induced total rest and relaxation.
We'll be going back one day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevrah140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Crystal Creek
27.7 km away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
16.2 km away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
3.1 km away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Springbrook Lyrebird Retreat
Springbrook Lyrebird Retreat
#1 of 3 in Springbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
5.2 km away
Hillcrest Retreat
Hillcrest Retreat
#1 of 9 in Murwillumbah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
11.8 km away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Property: Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Address: 201 Booka Rd, Upper Crystal Creek, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Upper Crystal Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Upper Crystal Creek
Price range (per night): $460 - $585
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury romantic getaway on the far north coast of NSW Australia, between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast hinterland. Private luxury cabin, bungalow & lodge accommodation with large sunken double spas, fireplaces and heated plunge pools. All individually set on 250 acres of genuine old growth rainforest with World Heritage National Park on three sides, assuring true peace and privacy. 8 Kms of rainforest walks, 400 year old trees, stunning creek & rock pools. Full gourmet dining menu, packages with breakfast and all meals available. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat Hotel Upper Crystal Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing