We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A blissful stay in the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A blissful stay in the rainforest”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We celebrated our 25th anniversary staying in the Cedar Lodge at Crystal Creek Rainforest retreat. Everything was perfect! Our private heated plunge pool was the best place to start and end our days - we loved it. The seclusion of this lodge made it feel like we were the only people on the property. It is tucked away off the main entry point of the retreat and surrounded by lush plantlife. The view from the deck is breathtaking with Springbrook mountain framed by palm trees. The birdlife was an added treat and we made good use of the binoculars that were provided. Our nightly log fire created a wonderful warm atmosphere. Meals were great - more than enough food. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave us lots of good tips about where to go on our travels through the hinterland. Every day since we got back we've thougth about our time there and wished for our own private plunge pool. We can't recommend it highly enough. It is truly worth the expense for such a unique and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
150
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

It's actually taking alot out of me not to be hysterical when I write this review. I am completely in love with this place. Something about staying here has forever changed the way I look at the world and what I view as real and important. When I was younger I thought life was about dating hardcore gangster party guys who thought going to a club was the greatest thing you could do in life. They had no clue about the world, life or real issues. Then I was BLESSED to meet someone who was completely removed from that ideal and who on his own booked a 2 night (which then turned into a 3 night stay) at Crystal Creek and it blew me away.

This place is amazing. AmaDOIDJFWg. I can't type... AMAZING. I spent a few nights on Hamilton Island earlier this year and although the Great Barrier Reef is nothing to scoff at this by far has smacked me in the head in terms of perfect.

We drove from Broadbeach and it is out of the way if you are coming from Brisbane (there's nothing wrong with that). Mark was kind enough to help us with finding our way when we called from a stop over in Mt Tamborine but eventually we got the map on the iphone to work so we had no problems finding the place.

We stayed in Satinish lodge, Mark met us in a golf buggy to take our bags up the gravel hill (He also kindly helped us take our bags to our car on the day when we checked out so to the reviewer below who made a point in saying there was no assistance all you have to do is ask). The lodge is perfect. Kitchen with plates, bowls, dishwasher, coffee plunger, coffee for the plunger, boutique jars of jams and honey, toaster, fridge (which had a jug of cold water in it plus butter, food for the night and breakfast for the morning) cutlery, salt, pepper. There were pots and pans. Mosquito coils if you planned on sitting on the deck at dusk/night. There was tupperware for the left overs, dishtowels, paper towels everything you could think of it was there. There's a fireplace and airconditioning plus ceiling fans in the bedroom and living room. There are 2 large LCD tv's in both the living room and the bedroom and you can borrow movies from the games room.

The bed and the view from the ceiling to floor glass windows made me want to punch something it was that damn perfect. The lodge itself compliments the surroundings. I didn't feel like anything was being obstructed or the lodge took over. It was part of the whole surroundings. The outdoor shower is so sexy and the bathroom is again AMAZING. Heated floors, heated towel rack, big spa, rain head shower.

There are walking tracks on the property which we did (plus we also did a day trip to Springbrook National Park and Purlingbrook Falls where there are more walking tracks), There is also glow worms at night. It's so so so so so unbelievable. I can't fault this place other than I wish I had so much money I could buy Satinish and just live there myself but because I can't do that I will just accept the fact that I have to return again. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for a romantic weekend away and it was just perfect. The owners are lovely and the place had all those finishing touches that made you feel at home. I got the feeling that for the owners, it was less about money making and more about ensuring you had a great time. They thought of everything down to insect repellant for your walking boots. My partner was also very happy with the extensive bluray dvd collection! For me, sitting in the spa with a bottle of wine, rainforest view and candles everywhere was just perfection. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: We booked the creekside cabin which is the 'smaller' of the cabins - it was still huge. Any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent three nights here and all we brought was some wine to drink. The lodges were as they are described - a retreat in the rainforest. 'Satinash' is named after a giant of the forrest and like its namesake looks out on the rainforest canopy where the birds and the butterflies abound. Whether from the spa, the bed or the lazyboy on the verandah you are in the rainforest. The facilities were fully equiped with everything you needed to be comfortable and relaxed. The food that came each day topped it off - an excellent range of choices that were partly prepared and had easy to follow instructions for finishing them off and serving
the more than generous helpings. After a walk to see the glow worms and fire flies what better way to finish the day than to sit in the candlelight, eat good food, drink good wine, and listen as the noisy rainforest goes to sleep at the end of the day! In short this was a great place to stay and relax for a while.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WombatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Whilst the surroundings and cabins are great there were certain things about Crystal Creek that were disappointing considering the price that you pay to stay for one night. The shower in the bungalow that we had made more water on the floor then in the shower which led to us having to use our towels to mop up the unnecessary mess. Even though the exhaust fans and windows were open when running a spa the windows would fog up that bad that you couldn't see out into the night so what was the point??
We stayed for 6 nights and really found that it was too long at this certain accommodation.
It isn't worth staying here for the price you pay per night and having to still do things for yourself. While they offer cooked meals delivered to your cabin (Very expensive) it isn't a wide variety, so we purchased our meals prior to arrival and then found that there was no where to dump your rubbish so you had to wait for the middle of your break when someone would take it away for you which isn't great especially when your already battling with the ants. What was rather disappointing is the fact that they are happy to drop you off to your accommodation when you arrive via the buggy but when it comes to check out they don't offer at all to come and collect you and take your things to your car so your making unnecessary trips back and forth. It shouldn't be up to the travellers to ask considering it should be part of the service again considering how much you pay per night.
While this place is great for any person who is wanting to go rainforest walking the tracks are very unstable and we certainly wouldn't come back. For the price it costs here one night you can pay half the price to stay somewhere nicer, get proper 24 hour service and with more things to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovingcouple326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalcreekrr, Manager at Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Loving Couple 326,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You might like to know that we have fixed the shower floor and replaced the shower head so the water gets away properly and guests are loving the shower. With regards to the windows steaming up we are in a rainforest and do have very high humidity but there is a large reverse cycle A/C in the bathroom and this will clear even the worst steam in 10 to 15 minutes. The exhaust fan unfortunately cannot deal with the steam when it is humid. We did not have any guests stay in a cabin for 6 nights in September so I cannot Identify your booking, to be sure of which cabin you stayed in. Our dinners are $44 per person for a good quality 2 and a half course dinner personally delivered to you, which is compatible with restaurants in the area. All cabins have a rubbish bin, a compost bin and a recycling box, we are thinking you stayed in Tamarind and possibly did not find these?

We are sorry that we did not assist you on check out normally guests come up to the reception to let us know they are leaving and then always offer to come over to their cabin with the buggy. Did you come up to reception and let us know you were leaving? Our 8 kms of rainforest walking tracks are wilderness tracks that are very similar to what you might find in any of the 7 World Heritage National parks around here. Our property is an extension of the national parks. We specialize in leaving guests alone and do not offer 24 hour room service, that is not what we do here and this is clear on our website and in all of our correspondence. We have over 2000 guests a year and the vast majority, 99.99% are extremely happy with their stay.
If you were wanting 24 service and there is nothing wrong with that  then unfortunately I suspect that you were looking for a different experience than the one we offer here; which is peace, privacy and luxury in a fantastic rainforest location. Where we try to leave our guests alone, as much as possible.

Once again, we are sorry that your stay at the retreat did not meet with your expectations.

Mark van Renen
General Manager
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Crystal Creek
27.2 km away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
16.2 km away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
4.9 km away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
12.4 km away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
12.7 km away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat

Property: Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Address: 201 Booka Rd, Upper Crystal Creek, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Upper Crystal Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Upper Crystal Creek
Price range (per night): $450 - $755
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury romantic getaway on the far north coast of NSW Australia, between Byron Bay and the Gold Coast hinterland. Private luxury cabin, bungalow & lodge accommodation with large sunken double spas, fireplaces and heated plunge pools. All individually set on 250 acres of genuine old growth rainforest with World Heritage National Park on three sides, assuring true peace and privacy. 8 Kms of rainforest walks, 400 year old trees, stunning creek & rock pools. Full gourmet dining menu, packages with breakfast and all meals available. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat Hotel Upper Crystal Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing