We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mabula Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
USD 1,148
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nedile Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 333
USD 319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 361/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge(Thabazimbi)(Great Value!)
USD 84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wild & Free(Mabula Private Game Reserve)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp(Mabula Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
308
272
94
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
272
94
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgethe reserveself cateringearly morningtime sharelunch and dinnerfood was greatsunset hillsafari guidemorning drivesouth africatennis courtswild animalsbuffet stylewide varietywonderful experiencehis knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

High quality lodge with good food. The highlight is the horseback safari. This is a must allows you to get up close to animals. Our guide Moses had an encyclopedic knowledge of plants. You have to book your game viewing ahead of your arrival as they do not allow you to use your own cars for game viewing. Skip the night game drive very few night animals to see.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gustaaf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Gustaaf W -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Mabula Game Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially the horseback safari. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

The hospitality at this lodge is not up to standard.
The receptionist at the lodge as well as at timeshare reception were both extremely unfriendly and when my son asked for help they just brushed him off because he was a kid! This is unacceptable!
Our one room smelt like cat wee and it was disgusting!
Definitely won’t be going back ever again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Lindy B -
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're naturally disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that you have no plans to visit again. We value your constructive comments and we will be urgently reviewing every aspect of your stay, especially where you feel we fell short of our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

My partner and myself visited Mabula Lodge in April 2018, and sad to say the service and hospitality for a four star rated facility is very poor. Lodge staff members are not friendly and have a sort of 'you are disturbing me attitude' The cleanliness of the cutlery and crockery is questionable, the waiters do not actually wait on you unless you call them.
On the upside the Game ranger more than made up for the lack of hospitability of the other staff. Jenelda was always pleasant and well informed about the Game and animals in and around the reserve. We had and awesome time with her on the safari. Value for money is bordering on average to can get better for less.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynettenair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear lynettenair -
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We'd like to take this opportunity to apologise to you as the service you describe is certainly not how we would want to treat our guests, and we will be urgently following up with the staff members involved. We hope you will return to Mabula in the future to experience true Mabula hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the lodge and were able to go on 4 game drives. Accommodations- our thatched roof was duplex was decent sized and nicely decorated. Fresh leaves on the linen ,turndown service and bottles of water each day were a nice extra touch. The glass doors opened out to an open area where, if you are lucky, you might catch an animal passing by.
Restaurant- buffet was included with our room. Breakfast was great with fresh eggs cooked by request. Lunch and dinner were just soso. All beef dishes were tough and most other dishes were lukewarm. Decent salad and dessert stations.
Game Drives- having nothing to compare , but I would give them 5 stars. Our driver, Solly, was determined to find every animal on the reserve. A great guy.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank 526Grammy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear 526Grammy48 -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and especially the game drives. We also appreciate your constructive comments on the food - we will review these with our Food & Beverage team to address this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed at Mabula for the Easter weekend and our kids loved it. It's a beautiful reserve and the game viewing was great. Our ranger, JP, was incredible. So good with the kids and very knowledgeable and friendly. It's a huge lodge and the rooms are pretty basic. We found it quite difficult to relax as adults because you can't keep track of where your kids are. Lots of water features and few wild animals roaming around (baboons, porcupine, jackals). Once the kids are asleep you tend to be stuck in your room as the verandas don't have tables and chairs on them to enjoy a drink outside. The lady running the kids club is unfortunately just awful. The activities on the program never happened and she didn't do much more than hand out crayons and put movies on. The food was very good for a mass production buffet. The coffee in the morning was incredible. Wifi basically doesn't work and the mobile phone reception is patchy at best. Staff are friendly and service is generally very good. The drinks are pretty expensive. It's a big lodge with loads of people with kids so it's not terribly luxurious or romantic. It was great for our kids though and the lodge does very well for the number of people going through there.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear T-Africa2000 -
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your family stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We appreciate all your feedback - on the aspects you enjoyed and also those that you felt were disappointing. We'd like to take this opportunity to apologise for your experience of the Kids' Club - that is not at all what we aim to offer, and we will urgently look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews