We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, shame about the breakfast”
Review of Porth Tocyn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwlchtocyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porth Tocyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel has the most amazing views, very much a country house hotel, but dated in part with a playroom still storing videos, to watch, and not dvd's! Dated also was the shower, in the bedrooms, which was basic., a disappointing feature which did not compliment the comfy and interior designed bedrooms, as quoted by the owner, Nick Fletcher Brewer,in the 'Good Hotel guide', as being the latest development to a hotel which is clearly in need of modernising, The tennis court was unsuitable to play on, and in need of some 'gardening'.
The continental breakfast was very poor, and could only be compared to that of a 1970's version, of this, with basic jams, standard toast, and cereals, unlike most hotels of today that deliver an extensive choice with cold meats,cheeses and a variety of breads.. A 'full English', was extra at £7.
A pleasant two night stay, but would not be recommending this hotel readily to forty something, friends, who need a break from the city. Will check out Mr and Mrs Smith next time!

Room Tip: Corner room with a side view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

We based our search for our evening meal on my recent dietry needs, We phoned and spoke to staff including the chef who broke all convention to accomodate this need. My no salt diet was met with a bespoke menu which was not a part of that particular evening's menu. No salt bread was baked on my behalf, followed by a wonderful risotto and venison dish after. We could not ask for more in both hospitality and the quality of the food.
After our dining experience we retired to a quaint lounge with welcoming open fire and good company. Highly recommended eatery for those with a desire for good standard of food

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We have eaten here on and off for many years but this was our first stay in 25 years. The hotel has the most glorious views from all the main rooms and our bedroom had a window seat which you could read a book in and enjoy those views. The standard of the room was high, everything you needed and all the extra small things to make your stay so enjoyable. The food was as usual excellant and varied. The staf were very cheerful and helpful. All in all a lovely hotel for a few days away and we will definately be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel last week during a 4 day break in North Wales. We were directed to the hotel as it was pet friendly and we were travelling with our Border Collie, though would have happily stayed here even if we did not have her with us. Both us and the dog were welcomed, but asked to respect the fact that not all guests may like dogs, and so to keep her out of the main public rooms.

I have heard this hotel described as being run by "Enthusiastic Armatures". I think this describes the Hotel Brilliantly, and is no way meant to be derogatory. The staff were all friendly and eager to help, and the atmosphere was very relaxed and understated.

The hotel is an old building, and the room and bathroom was a little dated but clean and comfortable. The shower was hot, the bed was comfortable and the service was excellent, and even included being brought tea or fresh coffee in the morning. What more can you ask!

The location is also excellent, if remote. On the night we stayed, we were planning to eat in Abersoch, but when we realised that that would mean a fairly expensive taxi ride, we decided to eat in the hotel & were VERY GLAD we did, as the food at dinner was excellent, well cooked and very creative, fully deserving of the rosettes that the hotel restaurant holds.

Yes this was the most expensive hotel during our trip, but it was worth it and was the only one we would consider returning to.

If you are looking for modern luxury, that this may not be for you, but if you want a friendly comfortable hotel in a superb location, with excellent food and a relaxed atmosphere, then you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan_Wr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Peculiar little Hotel in a wonderful location - somewhat dated & faded but curiously enjoyable - wonderful for families of pre-teen kids. Old fashioned in the nicest possible way. Personaly I would have liked a touch more luxury & modern amenities, but the relaxed & thoughtful touches trying to cater for most needs made up for the lack. Staff wonderfully competent & accommodating. Food - fresh & varied but expensive for what it is - dinner B&B at £300 for two per night not good value, but a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwlchtocyn
21.8 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
20.7 km away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
29 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
21.8 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
40.2 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Tocyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Tocyn Hotel

Address: Bwlchtocyn, Abersoch LL53 7BU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Bwlchtocyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Tocyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Porth Tocyn Hotel Bwlchtocyn
Porth Tocyn Abersoch
Porth Tocyn Hotel Abersoch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing