We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottages, lovely owners, amazing holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alberbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DebsyR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottages, lovely owners, amazing holiday”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Bull Barn just last week with our two girls (2 and a half and 10 months) and a family with a 2 month old daughter. We were looking for a quiet place to relax and do lots of playing and spending time with our children. This cottage was absolutely perfect for that. We were obviously looking for a very family friendly holiday but I would say it is also private and quiet enough for a getaway without children.

As other reviewers have mentioned we were greeted on arrival by Betty Lou and Robert who could not have been more helpful and friendly, the cottage was set up perfectly for our needs with high chairs and travel cots where needed and even a small game of hide and seek with some fluffy toys for the 2 and a half year old. It's these small touches that make the stay so special.

The cottages are done up to a very high standard, a great mix of modern and original features with a lot of care and thought put into the conversion to make sure the cottages feel spacious and incredibly private. The real bonus to these cottages is Jimmy's Play Barn which again has been decorated to the same high standard. If you're thinking cold barn as we were you'd be wrong. It's a warm and spacious room, carpeted etc with a lovely play area and ball pool for little ones, and pool, air hockey and table football for the older ones and adults. Everything is so child friendly, lots of books and DVDs and jigsaws for the little ones.

There's lots to do in the surrounding area to keep yourselves entertained if you can pull yourself away from the lovely cottage, play barn and hot tub! We had an amazing week and will definitely be returning. While we were there Robert showed us around the newest development where they are converting a barn into a Badmington/tennis court and an indoor children's playground. They are also planning a shop selling local produce and some free range chickens so you can collect your own eggs in the morning. It seems they are always thinking of ways to improve the cottages and make them even more special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a relaxing short stay......”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a group of six we were looking for a place to stay starting on a Thursday evening and struggled as many places wouldn't budge on the usual crossover day of Friday. When the owners were contacted they were very accommodating of our requirements so we opted for the Bull Barn. It was definitely the correct decision. The facilities were fantastic and the owners had thought of everything from free wood for the fire to any cookery utensil you could think of. The hot tub was a fantastic addition to the barn and great for relaxing in on a cold evening. We had free access to the play barn which is great for children, but also with a snooker and air hockey table was good for adults too.

The local pub - The Old Hand and Diamond served good quality home cooked food and also had a minibus service that picked us up for a tip. Shrewsbury is also nearby and is a great day out.

When it came to our final day we asked the owners Robert and Betty Lou if we could check out slightly later and due to the fact nobody was arriving on Sunday they allowed us to leave later that afternoon, which was fantastic as it allowed us a few more hours to relax.

If you are looking for somewhere surrounded by shops or bars this obviously isn't the place, but part of its attraction is that its in the middle of nowhere and it has all the facilities you need for a great short stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth Northumberland
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheClan11...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better Than Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Bull Barn is one of a group of 6 property's which have been very lovingly and tastefully converted from former farm buildings. (Others are 'The Coach House', 'The Arches', 'The Granary', 'The Mill House' & 'The Sheep Shed')

We were very excited to see the property as the photographs and description sounded perfect, however its the first time we have been away and on arrival our expectations have been far exceeded.

We were greeted personally by the owners who could not have been more genuine people, and made sure they showed us round the accommodation and ensured we were happy with how everything worked. Every attention to detail has been thought through in these conversions and you would be hard pressed to not have something that you might need on a self catering stay.

As we travelled with children (10,10,3 & 1) they were keen to show them around the play barn. This is the most valuable addition to the barns as it gives the children somewhere to play and let off steam instead of the usual rainy day activities they may have to do on a self catering UK break! it had a fantastic pool table, air hockey & football table as well as ball pit and soft play for the younger children.

The DVD library was also utilised by our whole group. The children enjoyed having some down time in their room to watch a movie, and as adults (When we could drag ourselves out of the hot tub!!) it gave us a chance to sit and relax and have our own movie nights.

Location wise it was perfect as you are not in a city as a base you find that travelling not very far in any direction gives you an excellent day out and very memorable family adventures, that said we noticed many things that we would have done as adults and will be back to do when we are on child free holidays. The other bonus of the location is the silence in the evening, something very few can enjoy in the built up world we live in today.

Overall the welcome we received and standard of the property made us more relaxed than we have ever been before on holiday. This property and group of properties plus the additional play barn make it the perfect base for the most relaxing holiday for any age. The obvious love and passion put into these barn conversions really comes through in the warmth you feel for your whole stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing