We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveller rating
884
121
14
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
884
121
14
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka plunge pool main building horse riding ulagalla resort paddy fields cultural triangle golf buggy our honeymoon living room main pool organic garden attention to detail on stilts stayed longer nature walk the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the worst experience in my life as we waited 3 and half hours in reception while the hotel staff and my online travel agent sorted out a booking error. The hotel reservation team wasn't sure about various online travel agencies that sell their rooms and I had to explain them and show them that Cancelon is a valid site and they have been selling the Ulagalla rooms. Cencelon handled the situation very well and they assured me that they will do everything to correct the situation and paid extra as the hotel took advantage of the situation and charged Cancelon more than what the local rate that hotel has offered me. I have wrote to the hotel management regarding their unethical practice two days back but didn't get any response as of yet.

Despite this, the hotel rooms we stayed in were very nice, clean and luxurious and the room boys and staff has been very friendly. September wasn't the best month to stay here as the nearby lakes were dry and the weather is so hot. The main pool is clean and the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chandana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Uga is known for its exceptional service but Ulagalla gives its sister resorts stiff competition! Honestly now I can’t decide which resort I like more.

The reason we chose Ulagalla for our stay was coz we had such a great time at jungle beach Trincomalee in April 2016. We had high expectations in terms of food, service and the total experience.

We were traveling with family and my 7 month old baby. From the time we checked in the hospitality of the staff was amazing a special mention goes to Githanjali the general manager, Dilrukshi and Mr. Sumathirathna for being so friendly and hospitable.

Check in- very smooth and prompt

Rooms- we booked 3 pool villas, and requested for a baby cot in our villa. The villas were beautiful and spacious. The pool was clean that you could spend an entire day in it.

They had put so much thought into the baby cot! It was not just a travel cot (as many 5 stars offer) it was proper standard cot with cot bumpers and proper bedding. It was so good I wanted to take it home with me. My baby too had a good nights sleep in it. Thank you so much for this.

In room dining- one word ‘amazing’ we ordered 6 different types of dishes plus dessert for dinner and the food was brought to our room within 20-30 minutes. Meals were served warm and presentation on point, tastes delicious too.

The hotel does not have accommodation for drivers, however Githanjali was kind enough to arrange a rest house close by for our driver at a small cost.

We had a issue with our washroom which attended to promptly.

The property- beautiful setting, in the backdrop of a beautiful paddy field. This hotel has so much to offer from gym, spa,hours riding,archery,kayaking, bbqs and so much more.

One night wasn’t enough to experience what this hotel had to offer. Will definitely come back for a longer stay!

Thank you team Ulagalla for making us feel home away from home.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Inakshi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You know a place is great when you say you won’t go back - because it was so good you fear it couldn’t possibly be the same next time. So it was for us here, but we shall certainly be urging family and friends not to miss out. The whole experience was memorable from the moment we were met as we drive up by a delegation headed by general manager Gitanjali to the waving of the farewell delegation led by the lovely reception lady Dilroushki (D or Dil if you don’t want the tongue-twister pronunciation) as we drove off. She has been at the resort since it opened eight years ago and you do get the feel that for many of the staff they are enjoying a way of life rather than doing a job.
The place is quite beautiful, from the central reception, lounge, bar and restaurant (housed in a converted former village headman’s house), to the spa set on a little island surrounded water, to the huge pool, to the luxury 850 sq ft suites scattered around the edge of the 58-acre estate. Ours (no. 12), as with others set on concrete piles and with its own spotlessly clean jacuzzi plunge pool, overlooked paddy fields and a watering hole – a magnet for wildlife during our stay. There was plenty of it – peacocks, egrets, eagles, monkeys and monitor lizards. For those nervous of wildlife and not wanting to face the 10-minute walk to the main building golf carts are permanently on call.
Hanging out here is a blissful, stress-dissolving experience but for those who are into sightseeing it is a well-located base. Whether it is sacred sights, the historic old capitals or a safari drive to see the Elephant Gathering (we were up close to literally hundreds of them, including a one-month-old baby, plus a huge herd of water buffalo) they are all an easy drive.
A highlight though for us was the restaurant – a large vaulted space open to the fresh air and cooled by fans. The food was lovely and the service slick and personal. We shall not forget our first dinner – the candle on our table was augmented by an amazing thunderstorm with flashing lightning and torrential rain pouring off the roof into the lily pond below.

Room Tip: 12 over looks a watering hole
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just want to say the hotel is amazing. We have no words to express the quality of the service given to us. From the check in to the hotel til checkout, we felt we were in our home. The hospitality, clean and tidy rooms, tasty foods, fresh air, nice view and the most important thing is their service. Hope to visit again this heavenly resort. Highly recommend for honeymoon couples.

Room Tip: All the chalets seemed to be quite similar.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Piyum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning! We stayed for a few nights at the start of our honeymoon and it was perfect from start to finish. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially the manager (who I have forgotten the name of), making sure we were enjoying our stay. We were even spoilt to a 'under the stars' dinner one evening. The food was delicious and the room(more of a house) is stunning. Could not recommend it any more, simply amazing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews