We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different.”
Review of Old Dadswell Town

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dadswells Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Dadswell Town
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We booked out the "village" for a friends 60th celebrations and it was a brilliant decision. A great place for the families to kick up their heels without having to worry about the neighbours! The units are all modern, clean and have everything needed. The Town Hall with its BBQ's and open fire was a great central meeting point.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

5 stars, accomodation clean , great hosts our party of 20 booked out the venue for the weekend , cosy atmosphere in the camp kitchen lovely open fire lots to see and do ,just a short drive to the Grampians ,Horsham and Stawell.

Room Tip: All rooms have a unique theme to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

You have the choice of seven themed accommodation cabins. We stayed in the General Store which was very well equipped and comfortable. Hosts, Jenny and Max, are wonderful and very friendly. We enjoyed their company each evening for drinks in the "Hotel" and Max regailled us with many wonderful, funny stories. Not sure we believed them all, Max!! This place is a must-stay if you are looking for something different. We had a fabulous time. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All cabins well appointed. Just have to choose how many beds you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We have stopped at Old Dadswell Town a couple of times and it is fantastic for us. It is dog friendly which suits our needs and the accommodation is great for us. It is back from the busy and noisy western highway and the quirky signs & items are fantastic. There is spacious camp kitchen for groups and lots of bird life as well as the large number of kangaroos.
Would have rated it 5 star if it had a better TV and air conditioner.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We felt like we have travelled back in time upon arrival at Old Dadswell Town. It is a cluster of self contained cabin of different vintage themes like bakery, post office, general store, barber etc. All the cabins are nicely decorated, clean and well equipped. It will be perfect if there is an oven in the cabin too. As you walk around the 'town', you will greeted by many other surprising vintage sights. Surrounded by vast swathe of plains, you will be delighted to see wild kangaroos roaming around. We also saw wrens, shingleback. Old Dadswell Town is a 30 minutes drive from attractions lile Mackenzie Falls and Halls Gap.

Unfortunately, our stay also coincided with the hottest Christmas in Australia since 1941. As a result, the cabins were extremely hot before the sun sets as there is only one aircon in the living room. We were also petrified to see our cabin swamped by houseflies in the day and flies in the night.

Lessons learnt:
1. Portable aircon units to be on standby for hot summer days
2. Cabins need to be futther insect proofed. E.g. installing insect screens at the door and ensuring there are no gaps in the windows.
3. Instructions to be left in the cabin on how guests should off all the lights in the cabin to avoid attracting flies.
4. Equipped every cabin with vacuum cleaner to suck the flies.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank PhoonKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dadswells Bridge
27.0 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
30.1 km away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
26.5 km away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Dadswell Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Dadswell Town

Address: 6237 Western Highway, Dadswells Bridge, Victoria 3385, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dadswells Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Dadswells Bridge
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained themed cabins set in a bush setting with mountain views and kangaroos. Large communal room, suitable for group bookings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing