We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a house party from a different era”
Review of Governor's Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Governor's Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dickoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent three nights here, in absolute peace and tranquillity. Having chickened out of clinbing Adams Peak we spent time walking the tea trails in the glorious clear air before returning to laze in the lovely gardens. The staff could not do enough for us from laying a romantic brekfast on the terrace to playing snooker with Jon. It is an experience worlds away from the normal international hotel, more like a house party. The road is as bad as others comment, but the situation and stunning views make it worthwhile. It was refreshing to have any request for a drink or a snack furnished without any hesitation or paperwork.

Room Tip: we slept in the Governors Suite with panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

A brilliant corner of the world to escape to. We only wished we could stay longer. It is quiet serene and great to just sit back and listen to the sounds of life pass by. Tea pickers, farmers etc.

Upon arrival we were offered tea and some wonderfully delicious cake. And then it began. The service was great. Whatever you want, whenever you want. It was hard to adjust to at first but by the fourth day, when it was time to go, we wondered how we could live without it. It's like being the lord and lady of the manor.

It's a wonderful location with picturesque surroundings for walks and general relaxation and a great way to soak up the regional side of Sri Lanka. The owner is British - Sri Lankan and is dedicated to really representing the best sri lanka has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Undenk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We spent 3 nights at Governor's Mansion and on hindsight, we could stay for longer! We could see that the owner put a lot of effort to make this place pleasurable and lovely. Little touches like the phone call from the owner really made us feel special and welcomed in the Governor's Mansion which quickly felt like a home away from home for us. We enjoyed the walks along the tea plantation and the hospitality of the friendly villagers. The staff were very patient and attentive. We used the tennis court which was well kept and the Pool table which was magnificent. We were pleasantly surprised to find good conditioned bicycles and even helmets in the Mansion. There were enough board games and reading materials to occupy our time but we had so much to do we did not find time to enjoy everything that was provided for us in this lovely place.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with 4 poster beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CyhTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We arrived in the dark and the rain, up a long rutted single track road. Met by two young men in uniform, to be told we would be the only guests. What had we done? At first we were dubious. The place seemed so cut off from the rest of the world, but this four night stay ended up one of the best of our many holiday memories.

The owner rang us from London to say please treat the place as your home. And that is exactly what was on offer. Everything we could wish for was provided, from G&T and cashew nuts to a tennis court rolled every day to having the snooker table laid out for us. We had tea on the lawn, lunch on the veranda, dinner in the dining room, as we chose. The food was very good and my husband was overjoyed at being offered a good wine and a glass of port after the meal - in Sri Lanka this is little short of amazing!

We took some lovely walks through the tea plantations, meeting the local tea pickers and being able to observe their daily round of work. The area is still totally unspoilt by tourism - we appeared to be the only tourists around.

So for us it was a magical experience. The only downsides are the access road (which we understand is to be improved shortly) and the distance to get anywhere (the roads around are poor and it takes several hours to reach Nuwara Eliya where we played golf). But if you want to truly get away from it all, live the country house experience with service to match then this is definitely the place to go.

Oh, and I forgot, we slept in the same room and the same bed that the Queen used on her visits.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My friends and I had a great time at GM when we were there early Dec. This is one place that delivers what they promised on their website.... and more. The hotel is located in one of the most scenice spots in Sri Lanka overlooking Adam's Peak. The grounds of the hotel were beautifully kept and the service rendered by the staff was impeccable, they made our stay most memorable and we would definitely stay there again if we were to visit the area again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMG46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickoya
24.9 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,712 reviews
17 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,179 reviews
16.9 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Mountriver Hotel
Mountriver Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kitulgala
6 reviews
17.5 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,656 reviews
16.9 km away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Mansion

Address: Ottery Estate, Dickoya 22050, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dickoya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dickoya
Price Range: $444 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Governor's Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Restored English Style Mansion Set Above 4700 Feet Above Sea Leavel In The Tea Valley Of Dickoya. Offers The Guests A Trip Back In Time Where British Planters Made It An Exclusive Home. Frequented By Royalty In The Past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Governor's Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Mansion Hotel Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing