We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime”
Review of Governor's Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Governor's Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dickoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We arrived in the dark and the rain, up a long rutted single track road. Met by two young men in uniform, to be told we would be the only guests. What had we done? At first we were dubious. The place seemed so cut off from the rest of the world, but this four night stay ended up one of the best of our many holiday memories.

The owner rang us from London to say please treat the place as your home. And that is exactly what was on offer. Everything we could wish for was provided, from G&T and cashew nuts to a tennis court rolled every day to having the snooker table laid out for us. We had tea on the lawn, lunch on the veranda, dinner in the dining room, as we chose. The food was very good and my husband was overjoyed at being offered a good wine and a glass of port after the meal - in Sri Lanka this is little short of amazing!

We took some lovely walks through the tea plantations, meeting the local tea pickers and being able to observe their daily round of work. The area is still totally unspoilt by tourism - we appeared to be the only tourists around.

So for us it was a magical experience. The only downsides are the access road (which we understand is to be improved shortly) and the distance to get anywhere (the roads around are poor and it takes several hours to reach Nuwara Eliya where we played golf). But if you want to truly get away from it all, live the country house experience with service to match then this is definitely the place to go.

Oh, and I forgot, we slept in the same room and the same bed that the Queen used on her visits.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

My friends and I had a great time at GM when we were there early Dec. This is one place that delivers what they promised on their website.... and more. The hotel is located in one of the most scenice spots in Sri Lanka overlooking Adam's Peak. The grounds of the hotel were beautifully kept and the service rendered by the staff was impeccable, they made our stay most memorable and we would definitely stay there again if we were to visit the area again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMG46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This surely is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We enjoy many mini holidays around the world. We must thank Trip Advisor for flagging this super boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. The Mansion had been freequented by Royalty. We are not surprised. We were treated like Royalty. Nothing was too much for the staff. They were discrete, attentive, anticipated all what we wanted. The qulity of food was beyond our expectations. We just did not want to leave the Mansion. We will return very soon. We did not expect to find a beautiful Mansion amongst the tea plantations. The decor, ethos and precision is to be commended

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wsmith743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The Governor's Mansion is a haven of peace and serenity atop the tea plantations of Hatton. The views towards Adam's Peak are stunning and the colours of the hills and sky ever changing and magical. However, the true gems of this secret hideaway are the house and its wonderful staff.

The house is a classic tea plantation two storied house, spaceous and elegant, but more homely than grand. The current owner spent many years restoring the house to its former glory, including restoring much of the original furniture (which dates from when it was still occupied by the plantation governors over 60 years ago), giving the house a timeless and genuine feel. He has also restored the beautiful gardens, which were in full bloom during our stay.

We stayed in the Queen's Suite, a large room with beautiful old furniture and great views. The bathroom was modern and had all you need. My one complaint would be that the mattresses in our room (two very very large single beds pushed together) were not that comfortable and i would recommend that the owner changes them. However, we still managed to sleep well and feel refreshed each morning! We stayed with our six month old daughter for whom a new cot was provided.

The Food was delicious and well presented. The staff were very attentive but also discreet, always making sure we were happy. Nothing was too much effort for them and they were brilliant with our daughter.

There were many walks and excursions to go on, but it was hard to drag ourselves away from the house and gardens! There is even a pond stocked with fish that you catch your dinner in. The staff clearly know the area well and were always on hand to answer questions and offer guided walks. One of the gardeners gave us a tour of his village and welcomed us into his home, where we met his family ... and the family animals! A wonderful experience.

The Governor's Mansion is a very special place and although expensive, worth every rupee!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingFamilyGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Amidst hectic Schedules if you want a picture postcard luxurious holiday with excellent service and ambience then its Governors Mansion. If its to be pampered and spoilt and treated like family or Royalty then look no further. It caters to all age groups and individual choices for spending time, activities etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank intl_coordination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickoya
24.9 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,688 reviews
17 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,125 reviews
16.9 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,633 reviews
29.6 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
184 reviews
7.5 km away
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ceylon Tea Trails
#1 of 1 in Hatton
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Mansion

Address: Ottery Estate, Dickoya 22050, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dickoya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dickoya
Price Range: $438 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Governor's Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Restored English Style Mansion Set Above 4700 Feet Above Sea Leavel In The Tea Valley Of Dickoya. Offers The Guests A Trip Back In Time Where British Planters Made It An Exclusive Home. Frequented By Royalty In The Past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Governor's Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Mansion Hotel Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing