We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Worth every penny

What an amazing place to visit, Would recommend this, shame it’s not funded. Great day out, pleased... read more

Reviewed 17 March 2024
GrantSuzanneK
,
Hamilton, New Zealand
Become enamoured with Aotearoas birds of prey

It was an incredible experience to be able to see the talented Karearea up close diving for bait. I... read more

Reviewed 23 January 2024
E1Y5E
Read all 554 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Ngongotaha
from AU$47.08
More Info
from AU$51.65
More Info
from AU$243.22
More Info
from AU$1,488.41
More Info
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
451
80
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
451
80
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey nz falcon beautiful birds new zealand barn owl well worth a visit falconry handlers conservation rotorua population cages rehabilitated aerial skills audience kiwi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2019

Arrived at the centre for flying display as per leaflet from our motel only to find that despite the advertised times per the leaflets the “daily” flying displays at 2pm do not happen. We were advised by a member of staff that there are only three demos a week. We checked the leaflets in three other places than our motel and they were all out of date. Disappointed is an understatement, why can they not tour the leaflet outlets and withdraw them? Later checking revealed that the web site does give revised information. Be warned!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Jarvissheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

A must do for Residents and visitors alike, we lived in Rotorua for 3 and a half years and it was a favourite place to go! Better than the gondala, luge and fairy springs put together!! Prices are very good we had memberships for years

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank FalconLover4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2019

A must do in Rotorua! Make sure you see the show - and if you're lucky enough you get to feed the falcons! I will be coming back ;)

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Contacted Wingspan through Facebook and was able to set up a time to come view their facilities. Was able to see a falconry demonstration with the New Zealand falcon, which was amazing. We were also able to hold a New Zealand falcon, which was a once in a lifetime experience. While we were there, we were also able to see a morepork chick (31 days old) which was fantastic. This is a great one on one experience where you can learn about these amazing birds and their conservation efforts, from people who work with them and advocate for them every day. This small team of 3 people is working to raise money for the new Wingspan center to be constructed, so they can help more birds and educate more people about their plight. I would highly recommend making the time to visit them, if you have the chance. Our visit cost $25/person and was beyond worth it, especially knowing that the cost goes to protecting these birds and helping build a new center. The staff are very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about their work. If you have time while you're in Rotorua, I would definitely suggest making an appointment to come visit the center.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

A basic notice at the gate advises to "check the net" but there's little information on the website apart from that it is relocating and will reopen late 2018

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank LARRYR889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews