We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Peaceful seclusion awaits you at The Byre- a hidden gem close to Hay On Wye
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peaceful seclusion awaits you at The Byre- a hidden gem close to Hay On Wye
Early morning light. A great time to watch the bird life... You can hear the stream below you.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
127 reviews
Peaceful seclusion awaits you at The Byre- a hidden gem close to Hay On Wye
Early morning light. A great time to watch the bird life...
You can hear the stream below you.
The Byre is magical...as soon as you come up the lane, you can RELAX
The garden room at The Byre- stunning views, glorious night skies, no light pollution
The garden room is a lovely place for that gin and tonic!
The Welsh Oak kitchen is craftsman-made- cookery books supplied as well as a wonderful welcome pack
There are flagged floors throughout and original oak beams- the property is over 300 years old but h
The Welsh Walnut bed is hand made- wonderfully comfortable! Gorgeous bed linen, Welsh blankets.
The sitting room links to the garden room- the log burning stove provides a cosy backdrop. All logs
We have Wifi and satellite TV or just enjoy a selection of games and books
We can't guarantee the sunshine but there will always be homemade cake and bread on arrival!
A great deal of attention to detail has gone into The Byre.
The garden is designed to encourage birds and wildlife. We supply binoculars and bird feed
Spring is a wonderful time of year to visit
Our family of animals look forward to meeting you! We will always welcome you to our farm.
The opportunities for walking are endless with the stunning Brecon Beacons and the Black Mountains a
The scenery is superb- the Begwns close by has wonderful views of the Black Mountains and Brecon Bea
Included in your welcome pack- our own free range eggs, home made cake and home made preserves
You have a private terrace with superb views, a barbecue and garden furniture
Nestling on the hillside, the views from the garden room are very special- such as the bluebell wood
There's lots of wildlife- swallows nest every year, you might spot a badger or fox and there ar
Hay on Wye has great, independent shops- and a wonderful market too
The cheese stall is fantastic- you're assured of a friendly welcome
Lanthony Abbey is a favourite with guests.
You can fish on the Wye, walk part of Offa's Dyke, learn to kayak or ride a horse
Or you can just have a lie down!
Whatever you decide to do, you can be sure of a very warm welcome at Fforest Cwm
Our guests enjoy watching the local wildlife from the conservatory.
We see some amazing sunsets. We are in a 'dark sky area.' There is very little light pollution.
You will be sad to leave- but we will always be happy to see you again.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Clyro, Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mangala_n...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I stayed at The Byre for a long weekend and had an absolutely wonderful time. Michele and Steve were very warm hosts. They have clearly put a lot of love and care into the property, which is beautifully maintained. They had also stocked the kitchen full of delicious treats, from home made cake and bread, to eggs from their own farm.They gave us some great recommendations for walks, which we really enjoyed. The surrounding areas are perfect for walks and Hay on Wye is a very charming town. Altogether a wonderful stay, we hope to visit again sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
It was really lovely to meet you both. We hope you had a relaxing time- we're glad that you enjoyed our welcome pack and that the weather was kind. Thank you for this review- we appreciate it. Good luck with the bread and cake making! We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowfishh...
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I can't praise this holiday hideaway enough, the owners should be rightly proud of the way they look after their guests. From the delicious cake and warm homemade bread on arrival to the absolutely delightful cottage there was everything you could want . The lovely box of goodies plus milk and butter in the fridge was so welcome after a long drive. And of course a comfortable bed with generous enough supply of towels and bath robes was the icing on the cake. Thank you for a lovely weekend x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you both very much for taking the trouble to write a review. We do appreciate it and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope very much to see you both again. Warmest wishes to you both. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsey F
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, wonderful hosts. ”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Greeted by Michelle waving as we approached. Michelle and Steve showed us around, explained all and presented us with a hamper of home made bread, cake, Marmalade, milk, Bacon and fresh eggs. The Byre is very private even having its own parking space (at the end of the main drive) and we could come and go as we pleased. We drove into Hay on Wye, walked to the warren which was idyllic (a river walk with a field at the end) and looked around the shops. Very cheap to park.

The Byre is absolutely beautiful, with a well equipped kitchen and bathroom from salt and pepper to shower gel and shampoo. Robes and slippers were even provided and THE nicest smelling towels!! The view from the conservatory is amazing, we spent a good few hours looking through the binoculars at the birds, horses and sheep... We even saw a rabbit bounding around in the field below!!! We were lucky enough to have good weather, but I bet it's just as perfect in the rain- I don't know if it's a good thing or a shame that we didn't get to use the fire.

Would I go again? Of course, In a heart beat!!! Wonderful place, wonderful hosts and wonderful stay:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you both for this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had such perfect weather. We really do appreciate guests who take the time to write about us. We try really hard to make The Byre a special place that people will want to return to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisTwin
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Self catering with extras”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Spent three days at "The Byre" but wished it was longer. What a lovely place, everything needed for a relaxing, peaceful self-catering holiday with many extra touches included - home made lemon cake, home made bread, eggs, bacon, dressing gowns/slippers and more. We will definitely return!
(Would have been nice to have had a dishwasher but that,s just us being lazy!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extras
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being such lovely guests. We really enjoyed having you at The Byre. Best wishes to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJP06
2 reviews
“The Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

From the first point of contact Michele was great. The accommodation is perfect, couldn't recommend it enough. A great getaway for our first anniversary. Thank you Steve and Michele!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Gosh- we'd have provided champagne if we'd known it was your anniversary. Hopefully you'll return and then we can have a bottle on ice! X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 101
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing