We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Long weekend with friends”

Review of Great Hay Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Clyro, Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pearl M
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long weekend with friends”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are 6 couples who all meet up once a year for the May Bank Holiday weekend. This year we chose to stay at The Great Hay barn which is in an excellent location about a mile outside Hay on Wye. The barn is large and spacious and meticulously clean. The kitchen, which also functioned as a breakfast room, was large and reasonably well equipped. If I had any complaint it concerned the bathrooms - there are four - two are to all intents and purposes en suite and one is directly opposite the twin room. The other in effect serves the other three double bedrooms but is really only convenient for one of them. Our friends in the other rooms had a windy little trek up and down a few stairs to access it. But that is a minor complaint really, overall it is a great place for a large group of friends to stay

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation for groups of friends / family”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked our stay approximately 11 months in advance. This allowed us lots of time to plan fun things to do with our group. The person I made the booking with was extremely helpful in the planning process and answered all of my questions (there were lots!). The housekeeper was also very professional and made the experience very enjoyable. This is a really beautiful property in a wonderful location. I would say that it works perfectly for groups of friends/work colleagues/families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large entertainment area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from outside the barn
Liked least: The customer service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jun 2013
This was this particular gentleman's second stay. By his own admission his group had very much enjoyed themselves both times. We are very keen that the barns are kept in pristine order ready for the next visitors and so we have a very clear damage deposit policy. When guests take over our barns we like to leave them to enjoy themselves as if they were in their own property. The trade off is that they become the caretakers for the property and if any damage occurs during their tenure then we have to consider if it should be their responsibility. A damage bond does give even the most careful visitors more incentive to care for our amazing barns and it gives us the peace of mind to continue letting people come to stay. We love to see people enjoying them to the full and everyone does.

In this particular instance, we all agree that a window was cracked next to the front door over the weekend. Any damage is a rare occurrence and usually we return complete deposits after the property has been inspected by our housekeepers. We do not immediately return deposits if there may be a subtraction to be made which has first to be agreed with the guests. We estimated that the replacement double-glazed glass would cost about £125. I visited to inspect personally, our housekeepers took photographs and I spoke to our maintenance man who saw the glass unbroken on Friday and our housekeeper who saw it broken on Monday.

The guest first requested his deposit be returned on 19th May. In his e-mail of 6th June he was still denying responsibility. However, he did very kindly offer to pay £40 towards the repair and we agreed to accept this, noting that if perchance the bill did come to less then we would reimburse him the difference. As we were in agreement, we were then able to return his deposit, less £40 on 6th June.

We very much regret that this small dispute arose at all, but we feel we did everything we could to resolve it correctly. Therefore it is very unfair of this particular guest to attempt to tarnish our excellent track record over such a small matter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aquajones
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Whay a perfect place for a group.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

WOW! This barn looks amazing in the photos but is even better in real life. Fantastic space for a large group (12) of people. A real party house. The kitchen is extremely well equiped and is a great entertaining space - so much so that we didn't use the dining room! We were greeted by a lovely welcome hamper with local produce - lovely surprise.
All the bedrooms are beautiful and there are 4 bathrooms between the 6 rooms. Only one bedroom is actually en-suite. There is also an additional toilet which has a washing machine.
There are two chill-out areas and a piano! The outside space is also fantastic and we spent many an hour in the gardens just chilling.
Hay is a fantastic town for shopping. Us girls spent all day there whilst the boys were clay shooting.
we would go back to the Barn tomorrow if we could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and standard of the accomodation
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing