We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Phi Phi island and Surin island tours

We took 2 different day trips through Seastar, Phi phi island and Surin island. On arrival for both... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
KSibb
,
Sydney, Australia
Similian Islands day trip

We booked a day trip to Similan Islands through Sea Star Andaman. The experience was great- the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
562vegardw
,
Oslo, Norway
via mobile
Read all 510 reviews
  
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
170
70
28
27
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
70
28
27
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea star day trip phi phi island tour guide maya bay the reefs james bond island fruit snorkeling equipment captain jack sparrow toast sea sick pills buffet style viking cave beautiful fish drinks and snacks life vests
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We booked a day trip to Similan Islands through Sea Star Andaman. The experience was great- the whole operation is very good. They are aware of both security, customer comfort and most importantly the environment. On board our boat was both English, German and Italian-speaking guides, and the boat was not over-loaded as some people have experienced here earlier. There was plenty of food and snacks, and free water also. Great experience!

Thank 562vegardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Very professional staff. Good speed boats. Welcome snacks, during the trip and at the end. A really good James Bond tour!

Thank ivanleite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went to Phi Phi Islans, Khai Nai Monkey Bay and Maya Bay. I loved all of the islands and bays. But Khai Nai is the best one. The tour staff is very friendly. Photo guy was very helpful, he took wonderful shoots we recommend SeaStar.

Thank Melike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to Raya and Raya Noi island as well as what they called Banana island .
As soon as we got to the dock the charter was extremely efficiant and well organised .
The whole day was incredible from the snorkelling, the islands ,the staff ,the food,equipment and snacks.The biat was imaculate.The amout of time at each spot was great. The picture perfect beach the lunch we got served and the view were all impeciable.
The staff even had a big rubbish bag for collection on rubbish caught up in the high tide mark so a few of us all gave them a hand.
I couldn't have asked for a better planned and well organised day and it was topped off with 15 min watching a pod of dolphins on our way in ..
Would do this again in a heartbeat.

Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We travelled from Khao Lak to the Similan islands today with Seastar. I can’t deny that the service they provided in terms of food, drinks, communication etc was good ............ but ...... we had 57 people on a boat which needed only to have 30 on. It was uncomfortable, noisy and not at all relaxing. We were shepherded about like cattle. The whole day seemed rushed and busy. My advise would be to book a trip where you know how many are on your boat and if possible book a private tour. The islands we visited were also really busy with loads of other boats there, like a conveyor belt with loads of Chinese guides shouting down megaphones - not al all relaxing. The islands weee beautiful we visited but just over populated which distracted from its beauty.

Thank beverley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On our recent family holiday in Thailand we used SeaStar tours to go to James Bond Island. We are aged 62,48,43,25,21 and 17 and everyone had the most amazing time! We were well looked after, well fed and had so many laughs!
Our tour guide was Coco and he was so funny! I would highly recommend doing tours through this company!

Thank zelson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a day trip to Phi Phi Islands together (and Khai Island). We paid much lower than the sticker price at 2000 THB per pax. We booked it at an agent in Jungceylon mall.

Overall, a professionally run gig, and their boats are very new (which is nice). Even at 2000 THB per pax, they cost a premium over other operators (i heard other operators charge from 1000 to 1500 per pax)

That said, they spent the first 1 hour in briefings and up-selling. They scar you into buying booties by showing you pictures of sea urchins. The booties don't come cheap something like US$7 a pair, and this adds up for a family of 4. If urchins were really an issue these should already come as part of the package, and they easily be loaners. As it turned out i didn't see a single urchin, so these were a complete waste of money and a scam based on fears fed by the operator. This isn't a matter of money, but of principle and I personally find this offensive.

1  Thank GSAWsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took 2 different day trips through Seastar, Phi phi island and Surin island. On arrival for both tours we were offered a light breakfast, before receiving all the relevant information for the tours, we were also offered sea sickness tablets for free. The Phi Phi island tour was great, we were kept busy all day, we enjoyed the snorkeling at both snorkeling locations and the swimming in the lagoon. The lunch was a little average but still Ok. The tour was relaxed and we did not feel rushed at any point. Joker our guide was great and kept us informed through out the tour the only part we did not enjoy was the free time at the final island we were constantly hassled by people trying to sell us food and drinks and you had to pay 20thb to use the disgusting toilets. Surin island was also great we loved the snorkeling our final stop was the best of the 3 stops, however I was disappointed i did not see any sea turtles as they were on the leaflet I was shown. The lunch was Ok but there was a lot of people and when we were at the buffet there was no fruit left and not much meat only vegies. The beach was beautiful however again there was a lot of people there at the same time, I think it would make it more enjoyable if lunch times were staggered. On returning to the marina after the Surin island tour we were again offered more food and drinks which was beauitful!! 10x better then lunch, Our guides for this tour did speak a lot in Thai, however they did repeat it in English.

Thank KSibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Went on a Phi Phi Island tour. Sea star is extremely well organised from start to finish. You always know what is going on. There was more than enough drinks, food and snacks during the tour. Will recommend to everyone!!!

1  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Tooooo many people! They over-book this trip for sure so if you can deal with being on a boat with 50 other people it was nice to snorkel and see the islands.

Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews