We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,881)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
979
589
195
73
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
979
589
195
73
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baht bonanza cool bar spa villa fishermans outlet shuttle bus coral bar our honeymoon sister hotel koh samui individual villas free cocktail walking difficulties a la carte menu buy one get one free private beach service charge hill side
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We visited in October and had an amazing time. We unfortunately had 3 room changes however didn't put us off to book again this year. The rooms are spacious and the food is excellent. Looking forward to our pool villa this year .

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Lisa D,
Brilliant that you are still thinking of us.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, the feedback from our guests is vital in helping us to improve and your comments have been passed on to the team.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Visited in April this year. Nice resort. A bit isolated you need taxi or courtesy bus to get into town. We upgraded to pool villa and it saved the holiday for us as it meant we didn't have to walk up and down hundreds of steps daily to reach pool/beach/restaurant.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Experience691119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear TripAdviser user,
A point to note is the shuttle service into Lamai and Chaweng is chargeable.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, the feedback from our guests is vital in helping us to improve and your comments have been passed on to the team.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Needed a while to settle back into normal life before reflecting on our wonderful holiday in Koh Samui. Having missed our connecting flight in Bangkok - we didn't get off to the best start but I have to say everything just got better and better from then on. The reps at the airport were fantastic sorting out our lost luggage also. I was gobsmacked that the poor driver was still patiently waiting for us in an air conditioned minibus when we finally exited the airport. No grumbles or "where the hell have you been?" kind of looks. Enjoyed a wonderful drive through Chaweng and then Lamai to finally got to the Centara Villlas. The weather was glorious the entire time we were on the island. I think we felt rain drops for about 10 minutes one afternoon. Blue sky the whole time.
Quick check in - bought the baht bonanza which was worth it as the cocktails are 450 baht each at the pool bar. Red wine can be expensive and my husband likes a bottle or 3 of an evening.
Our villa had a nice verandah - overlooking the gardens - it was villa 208 just below the spa. We had a whirlpool bath/shower and wonderful aircon. The daily water was most welcome and room service was always prompt.
We brought our own teabags from home but the Lipton ones were passable.
Humidity took a while getting used to - I got my money's worth from our lovely shower......
The birds and flowers in and around the resort were just fabulous. My favourite thing was early morning on the patio listening to the noises. It wasn't your everyday twittering - it was a full on cacophony - brilliant.
Food at breakfast was really good. Try the dimsum.....loved the dragon fruit and yogurt. The omelettes were also worth ordering. The best bit was the view however and knowing you had the whole day ahead of you.
Beach is stunning - crystal clear waters and pretty black rocks to frame the horizon. I used to walk both directions twice a day. There is an old abandoned hotel to the right of Centara with a secluded beach section. If you keep walking round the headland you will find a huge 3 faced Buddha head statue on a rock above the beach. Shame luggage allowance is only 30kgs.
Food in the evening is really very good. A la carte is probably your best option as its fresh and hot. The buffet whilst an excellent value for money option did not retain temperature for very long.
Lunch menu is also very good. Huge choice and nice to revert to grilled chicken wraps after stuffing yourself with Pad Thai for 5 days.....
Hand and foot manicure in the spa was lovely. Also try the beach massage - she made my feet feel like a baby's after her special foot scrub - watch out though as she's as strong as most men.....
Carry on past the beach massage hut to the right and you will come to Cool Bar. Cheap and cheerful with a laid back atmosphere. Cocktails are fab. Beer only 70 baht. People are incredibly friendly.
Hire a car and tour the island. Had a great few days pottering around and stopping if when we felt exploring. Parking is relatively easy and it's great just mooching around the ports.
Make sure you take plenty of high factor cream. The UV here is lethal.....
Loads of first timers got sunburnt really quite severely on their first day. I upped to factor 50 from my usual 30 as it was fierce.
If you fancy a quiet spot further up the beach - just ask the pool team and they will move 2 loungers for you and knock a shade into the sand for you. Nothing is too much trouble. My husband preferred a spot right under the tree on the beach. It has complete shade from about 1pm onwards.
If you haven't figured out yet that this resort has lots of steps - I'm not about to give you the low down now.....it's really not an issue. You can't have a view without climbing up......simple. Besides - you need something to work off the load of food you will be eating.......
There are 3 decent restaurants in the little village worth visiting for a change of scenery. Take a left on the beach and follow the path "behind" the beach massage hut......it feels like you're intruding but it is a public path. Follow it through the trees to the back of the Cool Bar and then out on the sand path to the main road. That saves you hiking up the hill on the return journey. Take a torch with you though. The red wine at the Fishermans Outlet is surprisingly acceptable. Served slightly chilled and very reasonable. The owner and team became like family after 2 weeks. They are just so happy all the time. Food is wonderful - the squid starter is just ridiculously good.
You must try the sticky coconut rice and mango at least once....
Anyway - if you are unsure about booking this hotel at all - don't be - just do it - you won't regret it......

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank beachhappykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear beachhappykate,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, the feedback from our guests is vital in helping us to improve and your comments have been passed on to the team.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Centara Villas is a lovely peaceful location with easy access to the busier night life if that's what you want. We have been here 2 nights out of our 10 day trip and are struggling to find fault. Our pool villa room is well worth the extra and dipping our toes late at night is blissful. Our room (333) is not overlooked and very private. Room exceptionally clean - we mentioned the need for more clothes hangers and these arrived immediately. The beach is beautiful and well kept. Breakfast caters for all tastes - breakfast overlooking the beach is delightful. The room includes a torch which is useful when walking the 5 mins down the road to local restaurants. There's also an umbrella which we're hoping not to use. The only room improvement we can think of would be to provide more drawer space. As we booked a pool villa we receive a daily complimentary cocktail - it's a shame this is restricted until after 4pm. Looking forward to the rest of our stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RuthieBabe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear RuthieBabe2013,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, the feedback from our guests is vital in helping us to improve and your comments have been passed on to the team.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here last July, and I just realised I hadn't reviewed it!
What a perfect place to relax after our 7 week European holiday. We asked the travel agent for somewhere to chill out, and that's what we got!
The setting is stunning, and all the villas are built down the mountain. Ours was up the top. The benefit of that was that we were close to the road when we wanted to go out, nobody walked past us, making it SO quiet, and the view was sensational.
We did have a lot of stairs to climb after being at the beach, bar and restaurant, but after Europe we were pretty fit.
Definitely get a pool villa!
Food was wonderful, drinks weren't really alcoholic but that's probably a good thing when on holidays, and the staff were all so lovely.
The manager even joined us for drinks (free) one night, which was great!
We went into town on the bus twice, and realised that we like being closer to the action.
If you love tranquility and peace, this place is perfect!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharyn_watt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM C, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear sharyn_watt,
Fantastic that you are still thinking of us 10 months on. Perhaps you can come back to see us again.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, the feedback from our guests is vital in helping us to improve and your comments have been passed on to the team.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Tim Rawlinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews