We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 58
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Booking.com
USD 58
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/21
Agoda.com
USD 42
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
PricelineUSD 53
Hotels.comUSD 58
TravelocityUSD 58
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,269)
Filter reviews
2,271 results
Traveller rating
1,239
682
220
79
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,239
682
220
79
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baht bonanza pool villa koh samui private beach sea view spa treatments thai food steps pools hill mam pu au rocks gm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,485 - 1,490 of 2,271 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was by far the best part of our honeymoon trip. Amazing hotel: huge, bright rooms with enormous bed. Great, shining shower. Efficient and pampering service. We booked the most expensive and luxurious villa (with pool and ocean view) and were delighted. I believe that other villas were great too. Private pool was awesome, but the hotel has three big pools and a private beach, so there is no need to take the most expensive room. There are free kayaks and bicycles, but you will pay for everything else, even the Wi-Fi. The breakfast was great too. You could eat at the hotel’s restaurants of take a walk to the nearest Barracuda or even better “simple meal restaurant” 5 minutes away. The hotel is located at a remote beach and if you miss the crowds (we didn’t) you can catch a ride on a hotel shuttle (50B) to the two of the nearest beaches. We had also take advantage of the SPA (very expensive comparing to Thailand’s massages) and it was fantastic. All in all it was a once in a lifetime for us (as we usually pay 10 times less) but it was worth every minute and we still miss it.

Room tip: Pool villa with an ocean view is definitely the best
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannysZ3189LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The resort is located south of the island, in a quite remote area. But therefore it is very quiet and very different from Chaweng and other tourist places.
We enjoyed the jacuzzi in our balcony, we loved the view. The room itself was OK. Nothing special at all, but functional and clean.

Housekeeping and restaurant staff are very friendly, unfortunately the reception staff not so much.
The food at the restaurant is very good (but a bit pricey), and the cocktails very nice too.

The beach is kinda small but along with the 3 pools, there is more than enough space for sunbathing.
Unfortunately the waters were not great when we stayed there so we did not really enjoy any sea activity.

There is not too much at the resort to do besides drinking and sunbathing. The resorts offers shuttles to the main centres of activity (Chaweng and Lamai) for a very reasonable price. The only problem is that the schedule is not very convenient (last shuttle on saturday evening from Chaweng to the resort leaves at 22:45... not ideal if you plan to party party).

If you consider going around, it's paramount to rent a bicycle (but it's very steep!), a motorbike (but its dangerous) or a car. However if you plan to drink too, you have no other choice but to take a (over pricey) cab.

Overall we really enjoyed our vacation and our stay at Centara villas, though pricey and not always worth the money. When you plan your trip, keep in mind that you need to pay a lot of stuff, excluding the price of the room itself, and that it's not always cheap (transportation airport-hotel, renting a vehicle, cocktails, activities, etc.)

Room tip: If you are too near to the main hall, you'll have the noise of cars, bikes and trucks driving up the road to the hotel (very steep = low gear = noisy). The rooms with spa or pool are the best located
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas_Riffard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Just got back from a 8 night stay at this place a very tied hotel clean but dated we had the delux villa with own pool sea view the hotel is to far for anything so they put on a bus to ferry you in to town but charge a small amount but could not get on as they only do it 5 time a day an it was always full 16 seats an we were a party of 4 they need to put more buses on a short walk down the hill about 10-15min walk there's two restaurant a little bit further an theres an old couple that run a restaurant( called the simple life ) don't look great on the out look but the best food we had in Thailand had to wait for it cos its all cooked fresh don't eat at the hotel they smile as they rip you off happy hour is Not Happy you buy 1get 1free well in that heat your second has gone warm unless u both want the same drink sit at the bar an they still charge service rip off hotel we got there at 2.30 in the afternoon an they were putting the evening buffet out not a good rip off Internet rip off mini bar if you want to be out of everything then this is the hotel for you but be warned cos it's out in the sticks they charge what they want an smile as they do so

Room tip: Rip off but just ask for see view room don't do what we did upgrade to pool with see view cos there not that close to the sea they only got about 4 that got see views an there just villas no fancy thing but your right on the pool an near the bar an beach
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchomaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMissJongman, General Manager at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the useful feedback. It is only with comments like yours that we can work towards improvement. I believe that since you were last staying in the hotel, a lot has changed for the better.

Best regards,

Karin Jongman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

On our arrival we were greated with a cool drink.The Staff are very friendly and helpfull. A quick check in and we were taken to our villa.We were very pleased with the accommodation but we did not get much of a view and our terrace was facing a walk way and other villas and terraces.We do always like to use the balcony or terrace in the evenings but we had no privacy with our villa.That doesnt mean to say that it is the same for all the villas.The hotel is beautiful,lots of stunning flowers and plants throughout.It has a peacefull and relaxed atmosphere.
The food and drinks at the hotel is excellent and beautifully presented. There is a resident band on in the evenings and they have theme nights,ie Thai night and a Thai dancer.
There is 3 really nice pools, each on a different level.The 2 top pools are more peaceful than the bottom pool which is the nearest to the beach, resturants and bar. This pool looks out over the beach which is a gorgeous view.
The beach is very nice and peaceful and you can walk both ways to have a look around.
There is a hotel bus service that will take you into Chewang or Lamai but you do need to book in advance as it gets full.
You can use the sister hotel in Chewang, The Grand centara. The hotel bus drops you there. We got the bus at 11am and used the hotel for the day. The beach there is really nice but much more busy than at the villas.We used the pools and had a great day.We took our clothes etc with us to go out in the evening.You can use the showers in the fitness centre. They give you clean towels and provide shampoo, shower gel, deoderant etc. There is also a sauna in this area.You can then leave your bag at reception and go out for the evening.We thought that the services at the sister hotel was really good and hassell free.
There is a little fishermans villiage down the road. There are a couple of resturants, a bar, taxi service and tour operator.The barracuda restaurant we found did the best food.It is quieter and more relaxed than the fishermans restaurant as they seem to have the monopoly on customers as the fishermans is the 1st resturant at the bottom of the hill but if you go a little further, you will find the Barracuda.
Joe who runs the fishermans bar is a nice friendly bloke and does good cocktails and other drinks.He will stay open late and put on the football for you if there is a game on.It is a nice place to meet people and chat.
We had a great holiday.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SteveandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM C, The Staff & Management at Centara Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear SteveandAnna,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post some comments regarding your stay at Centara Villas Samui and other things to do and see here in Koh Samui. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of your time both inside and outside of the resort.

We do look forward to being of service again in future.

Sincerely
The Staff & Management of Centara Villas Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We arrived at midday to a lovely welcome ,nice cool drink wet towels etc. the girl was really nice and helpful , she explained the baht bonanza and we took up the offer it is well worth it if you intend to eat and drink in the resort . You can eat out in near village ,we found the fishermans outlet the best resturant ,the staff are fantastic really cheerful and friendly the food and drinks really good value. We also hired a scooter and jeep from here again good value.back at the resort the girl showed us our pool villa room 212 it was very disappointing ,it was aged ,looked out the window onto rubbish ,sun beds were well past there best,after staying at the evasion six senses in hau hin on the mainland last year there was no comparison . We went to reception to ask about moving to another villa ,the same girl dealt with us and showed us room 204 it was so much better so we took it and had two lovely weeks .all the staff are lovely even the gardners say hello . Overall centara villas is a nice quit resort away from the busy north of the island to chill out , if you want to see the rest of the island just hire a jeep you can drive the island in a day

Room tip: Don,t take room 212
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEILDUDGEON50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews