We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience in Everyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is Paradise. The natural beauty and manmade beauty compliment each other.
The hotel has a simple archetecture that blends so well with the environment.
Rooms are spacious and use the colors of the beach. The rooms with the ocean view are worth the splurge. You can hear the waves at night and the songbirds in the morning.
There is magnificent Native Hawaiian Art throughout the hotel and a tour of the art on Saturday. It is the best beach I have been too. The water is a perfect temperature and the waves gentle.
The people that work here are friendly and proud of their island. There are activities each day. The food is also quite good with a nice selection.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely decorated. Some of the rooms face the gardens but my preference are the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We appreciate you recognizing the natural beauty of the property and the wonderful Art Collection throughout. It was truly our pleasure providing you with friendly service and the spirit of Aloha. We are glad you enjoyed the spectacular views from the room and thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Mahalo for sharing your positive review and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Our visit was worth every penny! Although expensive the beachfront rooms have the best view and our 3rd story lanai was very private. Loved the room decor-pictures don't show the relaxed and calm feeling you get walking in. Hotel staff were all friendly and attentive without being stuffy. Food at restaurants was very good. When we ordered the chocolate souffle for dessert they wrote Happy Anniversary which made the evening at the Manta Ray special, although not sure you can beat a table right above the beach. Beach was wonderful. Great yoga class and excellent snorkeling! Paradise on Earth!

Room Tip: Beachfront wing has closest view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations and thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! We hope to celebrate many more with you in the years to come. Until then, aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We stayed at this resort for a family reunion with my wife's parents in August of 2016. It is an exceptional establishment with an cultural and arts bent unlike we have seen anywhere. Open and airy, the halls and rooms help you keep as one with the nature and the beautiful Hawaiian weather.

The location is phenomenal and we got to understand and appreciate the sunsets that the side of the Big Island is known for. The views, at every turn, are breathtaking and the service is true to Hawaii - form the moment you're received on arrival with a welcome drink and grands/flowers. Seeing the rays at every night was magical as much as looking at Mar and Mercury in the clear night sky. While we were there for a different type of trip, it is also an exceptional choice for golfers as much as star gazers. Magical, truly. You can make a day trip to Waipo Valley from here too as much as Kona for a coffee plantation tour, both of which are worthy trips.

The place is expensive no doubt but every bit worth it for those special stays that are then carved into memory. We wanted a beach stay at the tail end of trip to Hawaii and 3 days on the volcano side of the Big Island. The Trip Advisory reviews helped us identify the resort for which we're grateful.

Very strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are great but the balconies on the other side are pretty relaxing too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sabmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are delighted to read your review as it is our goal to provide our guests with memories that will last a lifetime. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as here on the Big Island. We hope to welcome you back soon. Until then, aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This property is unbelievable!!! One of the nicest beaches I've been too and probably the best on the big island. If you're thinking about staying at the other Marriott properties, don't do it and stay here! It's worth a little extra money.
The resort is so spacious that it never feels crowded. Lots of beach chairs and amenities. It's incredibly clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.
We booked the golf view room but we're upgraded to oceanfront because of my Marriott platinum status. Room was very nice with a large balcony.
They have 6 restaurants open at different times so there's lots of food and drink options. Your room comes with a mini fridge which helps too.
The pool is a bit small but there's full food and beverage service which is nice.
Wednesday nights the hotel manager has a free cocktail party so you can mingle with management. It's a great way to ask questions about the hotel and surrounding property.
I can't wait to go back! And now that it's part of the Autograph collection, we will be going back for sure!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DMLadyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Mahalo for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you got to experience so much that Mauna Kea has to offer. We can't wait to welcome you back once again! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel for our 32nd anniversary and my 60th birthday. What a dream. The beach is gorgeous and the hotel is a classic. The bed and linens are luxurious.The Manta Restaurant is superb. We watched the snorkelers in the evening swimming with the Mantas.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kconway007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is our honor that we are able to help celebrate your 60th birthday and 32nd anniversary, congratulations! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
1.1 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
9.9 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
44.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
8 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
26.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#1 Spa Hotel in Puako
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range: $610 - $1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection is located on Hawaii Island's Kohala Coast at at Kauna’oa Bay. Legendary, timeless hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Kea Beach Kamuela
Hotel Mauna Kea Beach
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing