We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
928
292
85
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
292
85
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshau treemauna keagolf viewgolf coursemain towerthe big islandmid centuryclambakefour seasonsasian artmanta rayswalk in closetbanana breadunderstated eleganceclam cakesplay golfyear after year
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This property is unbelievable!!! One of the nicest beaches I've been too and probably the best on the big island. If you're thinking about staying at the other Marriott properties, don't do it and stay here! It's worth a little extra money.
The resort is so spacious that it never feels crowded. Lots of beach chairs and amenities. It's incredibly clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.
We booked the golf view room but we're upgraded to oceanfront because of my Marriott platinum status. Room was very nice with a large balcony.
They have 6 restaurants open at different times so there's lots of food and drink options. Your room comes with a mini fridge which helps too.
The pool is a bit small but there's full food and beverage service which is nice.
Wednesday nights the hotel manager has a free cocktail party so you can mingle with management. It's a great way to ask questions about the hotel and surrounding property.
I can't wait to go back! And now that it's part of the Autograph collection, we will be going back for sure!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DMLadyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Mahalo for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you got to experience so much that Mauna Kea has to offer. We can't wait to welcome you back once again! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel for our 32nd anniversary and my 60th birthday. What a dream. The beach is gorgeous and the hotel is a classic. The bed and linens are luxurious.The Manta Restaurant is superb. We watched the snorkelers in the evening swimming with the Mantas.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kconway007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is our honor that we are able to help celebrate your 60th birthday and 32nd anniversary, congratulations! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We ended our trip on the Big Island at this property in hopes of simply chilling out. Boy, did we ever!

We were able to cash in some Marriott points to knock down the cost of the room. I'm always a little nervous on room redemptions, fearing they will give me a sub-par room. When we checked in Naomi advised us we were getting a "quadruple upgrade" whatever that means. Well, it turned out to be a super fabulous room, oceanfront, on the top floor. We never left the property.

Room 808 was very luxurious and large. It was quiet because the room design included a foyer. The bathroom was huge and gorgeous with it's own very private lanai. The main lanai was big and had great views of the beach. We actually ate room service out there both nights because it was so pleasant. Frette sheets and towels were very fine. Room includes an empty fridge which we appreciated. There were many nice touches like fruit & banana bread in the room, robes & slippers, L'Occitaine toiletries, leis and lilikoi juice upon arrival, etc.

Opportunities to make a great property even better: The TV system and TV itself were dated. Food and service at their casual onsite restaurant Hua Tree were marginal.

The grounds and building are very pleasant. Snorkeling when we were there was pretty good but not mind blowing. It was fun to watch the kids swimming out to the large float moored in the bay. At night they have a light at the end of the point to attract the Manta Rays. You can walk out to the observation area and watch them. It's also possible to schedule a night snorkel from the beach over to the Manta viewing area with a local naturalist. Sadly, I became ill the last night. Otherwise we would have done this activity.

You can see why the Mauna Kea has many repeat guests. It's a classic, and it was a real treat to end our Big Island trip there. I hope to return some day!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on the 8th floor are huge and luxurious
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank studying4vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are thrilled that our hotel has lived up to your expectations. We are glad to hear that Naomi took such great care of you and was able to provide you with an experience Exactly Like Nothing Else. We are happy that you appreciated all that the room has to offer including the various amenities. Mahalo for taking the time to share your valued feedback and we welcome you back to return some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My husband and I been coming to this hotel for over 13 years now and we still won't stay anywhere else on the island. We had our honeymoon and many anniversaries here. These past few years we've began to share this wonderful experience with our kids. They love it and call it the Mauna Kea magic. The property is ahhhhhmazing and gorgeous. You will have access to one of the best beaches on the island. If you decide to explore you will find awesome little surprises around the property. The staff here is top notch and you will get the best service. Although it can be quite expensive it is well worth it. Plus, there is no where on the island where you can be surrounded by so much awesome mid century modern architecture and decor.

The golf view rooms are the cheapest and are still nice because all you see is lush green green grass & palm trees but you do still see the valet area and cars going by. Rooms are just as nice. Fun if you like to people watch on your balcony. But if you can, try to splurge on the ocean view rooms. My family likes to be near the beach so we opt for the beachfront. It's the quickest way to get to the water. I love the geckos and birds that visit the balcony but don't leave food out there because the birds will get to it in no time.

In season the pools and beach can get busy so you have to get up early and get some towels and get your chairs. I hate doing this because I find it so greedy but EVERYONE does it which sucks. So, if I don't do it I'm sitting all the way in the back, away from my kids at the shore. And if you are done with your chairs please be courteous and take your towels back to the desk so other people know that your chairs are available.

Food is expensive here. It is expensive all over the Big Island. We LOVE the breakfast buffet at Manta. If you can get it on a Sunday do it. It's SUPER breakfast buffet. We also like Copper Bar and Hau Tree when we are too lazy to travel out for food. Clam Bake is a must if you love eating lobster because it is all you can eat. If you decide to leave for food definitely go to Merrimans in Waimea. It really is the best on the island if you are foodie.

I could go on and on about Mauna Kea but I won't bore you. If you are on the fence just go. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are closer to the pool and beach of course.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Aloha and mahalo for continuing to choose to stay with us. We are truly honored to have the opportunity to continue to serve you over the many years. We appreciate your loyalty and we are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. Thank you for sharing all your fond memories with us and your thorough review. We look forward to you and your families next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel to celebrate our one-year anniversary of moving to the Big Island from Manhattan (NYC). Our room was spacious and clean. Very big shower/bathtub space. The beach was beautiful, especially in the morning (low tide). Perfect for snorkeling on the north side of the property.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Max-Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We are honored that you chose Mauna Kea Beach Hotel to celebrate your one-year anniversary of moving to the Big Island with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful time enjoying the spacious and clean room with the big bathroom. We are happy that you took part in snorkeling activities on our beautiful beach. We welcome you back for all future celebrations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews