We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,921)
Filter reviews
3,921 results
Traveller rating
2,124
1,179
338
171
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,124
1,179
338
171
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hapuna prince hapuna beach the coast grille hapuna cafe the big island parking garage sister hotel the mauna kea ocean front breakfast buffet pool bar cafe pesto chairs and umbrellas partial ocean view boogie boarding golf course double sinks
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 3,921 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are staying here now, 9/14-22, and while they say the construction is done, it is not. The pool bar/restaurant is under construction and the facility is closed. It now operates out of a canopy as if it is a farmer's market with no beers on tap. Odd, too, is whenever I have mentioned the construction on the restaurant or condos, whichever employee gives a Pavlovian response that construction is done.

Also, the gift shop might as well be called the Mauna Kea logo shop because there is nothing of actual value here. Forgot a travel essential like tooth paste or face wash? Hop in the car and get driving.

I think this place will be great again when actually done and they figure out what they are doing. They just missed on a couple things here that seem quite basic.

Room Tip: Request the South tower until construction ends
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank OtterPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted to add that the hotel renovations are complete and open for guest enjoyment. We are sorry to see that an area of the poolside restaurant, Naupaka Beach Grill, was closed during your time with us and relocated for a few days. We are excited for the new additions that will better enhance your future stays with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention an area for improvement which includes expanding the offers at the Plumeria Shop and would like to apologize for any inconveniences. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best beach ever… Great sand, quiet hotel, all rooms facing the ocean… good food… I’ll return again once the lava stops flowing… lovely sea life if you are a diver,,, not golfer but according to friends excellent place for that too.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Surtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear about your wonderful experience enjoying Hapuna Beach and the many available ocean activities! Mahalo for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yes there was construction going on during the day, but we were aware from reading other reviews. We knew it was only temporary. We decided to come here after our plans to visit Volcano National Park fell through. So glad we did. We loved it! The beach was absolutely beautiful, service was exceptional everywhere we went. Enjoyed Jerry at the bar. Room was not ocean view but was impeccably appointed! Wish we could have stayed longer but we will certainly return!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank clavallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience during your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you had a great time enjoying the well appointed guestrooms and great dining outlets. We can't wait for you to return, visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just checked in fir weekends getaway. I’ve always wanted to come here, after turned into Westin I booked right away. It’s an old Resirt but amazing architecture remodeled tastefully to modern/natural theme and I love it here.

Amazing sunset vies, remodeled rooms, amazing breads at restaurant, large lanai with sofa, everything is done right.

One noted was amazing gym. Beautiful brand new gym with Peleton spinner. I travel a lot and stayed at many hotels but I’ve never saw any other hotels has this feature. I was very impressed.

It’s truly amazing quiet resort and amazing beach. I would pack all the snacks at Waikoloa Village before arrive and won’t leave the resorts as it’s absolutely beautiful here, would not want to leave. (There’s no grocery store nearby other than Waikoloa)

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Miracosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your weekend getaway along the Kohala Coast. We appreciate you recognizing the amazing changes throughout the resort from the recent renovations. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the newly remodeled guestrooms, refreshed dining outlets and the added Westin Workout center. Mahalo for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at Hapuna Beach Resort was outstanding. Yes, the construction noise was annoying but put on a headset and it all goes away. Our room was always sparkling clean and everyone, right down to the housekeeping staff had a great attitude. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous and all the food was very fresh. We only had one complaint: we are smokers, and we were certainly willing to abide by the rules of where smoking was allowed. There was a designated smoking area in the front of the hotel which we mostly used, however, at night the area was completely dark. Any sort of light in that area would be most helpful.

Room Tip: If anyone in your party has trouble walking or using stairs you might want to stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank margie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear about your great experience during your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that our associates provided friendly and helpful service. Thank you for bringing to our attention an area for improvement which includes improving the designated smoking area during the evenings. The safety of our guests is our top priority which is why I have since shared your comments with the hotel management team. Mahalo again for your time and choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews